The Timor comp aftermath

Welcome to international visitors. And local members, tell us about your fishing holiday ...
natural sparks

Post by natural sparks »

double haul wrote:You idiot ya forgot the f&*ken RICE! :lol:
Thats going to haunt me for the rest of my days.
The best part of the trip was meeting everyone. :mrgreen:

Our computer has been down since we returned from ET and im glad it has let me reflect on what will go down in my books as possibly the funniest trip ive ever been on
I met some of the funniest, most serious and most dissapointed people ive ever met before and now we all have a wicked memory that we will share with others for ever and im sure that the stories will be over and under emphasised as time rolls on.......

I think i have found a photo of a bloke who was possibly the most dissapointed person ive ever met when our last meal (and rights) were served up

Double haul you can come out on my boat any day just dont even let me catch you with so much as a chicken crimpy on board
That stuff is now worse than a fcukin banana on my boats :lolpoint:

I think i have some good shots i will put up soon as well but camera is off at xmas show with boss lady

When I grow up I can't wait to be a grown up...........

G'day all who survived the :chef2: :drinking1: :drinking2: :drinking3: :sailing:

I was going to do a detailed report on all the highs/lows of this trip, but I think its all already been said. So I'll just say a little and post some photos, which not many have bothered to do.

Yes, it was a total clusterf#$k! But what a weekend! It was always going to get messy with that many Darwinites and that much dutyfree! :o :naughty: :drinking2: :drinking2:

I was lucky enough to score a seat on a tinny with canopy, stereo, and esky full of ice, so maybe thats got something to do with my not being quite so bitter about it all (that and the lazy grand for catching one fish! :fu: :rofl: ) No problem with peoples gripes about it all, they're all justified, I guess when you know Asia you just expect this sh!t :bonk:

Anyway, a couple of anecdotes(sp?) to share-

We arrived in Timor Thursday morning and proceeded to go on a pub crawl (as you do!). Came across a bar called One More Bar and met the owner, an old Darwin boy called Gill, from down Adelaide River way. Had a few :drinking1: with him and found out he was skippering in the comp. Met up with him again at the prezzs house and he suggested we tell Sean we wanted to fish with him. Sean said "nah, its a balloted system you cant pick you're boat." "Fair enough" I said "no worries".

Anyway the next day we were the last blokes looking for a boat, walked down the beach, Sean told us to walk down to the ferry area, as there was 3 or 4 boats waiting for fishermen, we walked all the way down there but all the boats either didn't have motors, skippers or both. F@#k this we thought and walked all the way backn to where Sean was.....

....just as Gill came back in from taking a few punters out to a bigger boat. "Ok you guys better go in this boat" :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :rofl: :rofl: It must have been fate! :lolpoint:

-Another funny story, that evening my mate, who was in another boat (outrigger) told me he had scored (READ: payed for) a dozen garfish from his Timorese skipper. He gave us six and kept six for himself. The next morning when he went to get them out of the esky they weren't there. "wheres the fish i buy off you?" He asked the skipper, "Solly boss, me velly hungly last night!" :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: No, he didn't get his money back!! :rofl: :rofl:

It was great to put some names to the people on here, although I've forgotten most of them already! :bonk: . What a great bunch of blokes (and girls)! In typical Aussie form, when in doubt, hit the p..s, have a laugh or ten thousand and ride it out! :drinking1:

Thanks again to everyone for the laughs and good times and see you next year .............MAYBE!!!!!!!!!!!! Scotty. :drinking1:

Dont tell me 2 rods is eating a chicken sanger :rofl:
natural sparks

Post by natural sparks »

Doubt it..... more like a cucumber and cavier sarnie for those on the Arotura Royal fleet :rofl:
When I grow up I can't wait to be a grown up...........