Post a little about who you are...

Dave2E

Post by Dave2E »

Hi Blinky,
I guess i wont be seeing out at the MV1, cause it aint at all cushy there.
Maybe I will see you out on the water. The Bosun - Peter Lamek often mentions you. I go back out next week and I will tell him I have been talking to you.

Dave.

Dave, I met a lot of nice blokes out there :mrgreen: , as you do on most rigs I guess, with the exception of the Jack Ryan! :x

Say G’day to the guys out there for me, you never know, something “cushyâ€ÂÂ

donk

Post by donk »

Old thread but doesn't matter.
Name's Reid, born in Sydney. Greenkeeper by trade, then went overseas at 23 for two years and was based in London. Had a few jobs over there, box factory, construction, golf course, seat fitter at Wembley Stadium, labourer, grouse beater, ghillie and guide then finally cricket pitch work. Best job was ghillie and guide in the highlands of Scotland shooting and taking other blokes out shooting stags, plus all the other hunting related stuff. Have written a few stories for hunting mags with another to come out soon(Scotland)
Came home to no house, moved to Newcastle, cleaned buses by hand(after I broke the machine) for a few months, got my bus drivers licence out of it, currently not working, driving up to Darwin in 10 days I reckon.
Hunted all my life, fished alot too, but keen to get more involved in my fishing.
Cheers.

G'day Donk, sounds like a great time in Scotland, hope the move North works out for you mate. I did it 10 years ago and it was the best decision I ever made! Never even been tempted to go back! :cheers:

SMITHY

Post by SMITHY »

Gday, my names Darren and Im 36. Married for 5 years and have 2 daughters aged 6 and 2. Lived in Darwin since 1976 moving from Sydney.
Follow the rugby league and the Cowboys are my team. The wifes pretty lenient and the only time she makes me stay home on weekends is when the supercars are in town(my turn to watch the kids), so I fish a lot(mostly go boating) :wink: I am the assistant manager for ARB 4wd accessories in Darwin so if any of you guys need some gear come down and see me and introduce yourselves. :mrgreen:
They say time is money, I dont have much money cause my times spent fishing
temp

Post by temp »

Smithy,
Living in Darwin since 1976 would almost make you a local by now wouldn't it :grin: :grin: :grin: :grin: :grin: :grin:
I might pop in and say g'day next time I'm in Darwin, I need some driving lights for my rig.
Craig
tatie

Post by tatie »

May as well dig up an old thread... :smile:

Gday all. names Alex, started the local career in '97 when the olds moved us to Ngukurr from country Vic. spent 2 years doing our best not to catch stupid amounts of Barra. then moved to Darwin, been here since... spend most weekends 4x4ing, riding MTB or fishing.

see you on the water or in the dirt!

hey alex whats goen on? remember me?

thought i should right something here as i never have. prob a few of us on here know each other but dont cause of stupid user name names. like mine for instance. hahaha

ok well im 21. born in Nhulunbuy spent a few years in Yirrkala before moving to darwin. currently studying environmental science at cdu, end of 2nd year now. so i support catch and release! haha. nothing s...ts me more than ppl litering our pristene waterways.

love my fishing as people prob guessed. go out in the boat everyweekend i can. and with my uni schedule get the chance to go mid week abit.
most of my money goes on fuel in my old thirsty 5litre vk, more should be goen towards fishing i think. been trying to find a scooter to get around haha.

fav spot to fish.. def daly. tight lines cya on water.
have to take a pic of the boat and fff sticker. its a 4.5 bluefin with a fifty suzy.
Daisy

Post by Daisy »

Mick Day 35, born and bred Karratha WA did a little travelling around then came back. Wife and 2 kids (11 & 13). Family, fishing and beer brewing take up my time when I'm not working as a fixed plant operator at an Iron ore port.
Fave type of fishing is Barra/Salmon (all C and R except the odd middling salmon) casting trolling but also enjoy inshore bluewater stuff. Do not have any aversion to using handlines (Bluebone,Trout) or livebaits it's all good fun.
Toys, 2003 Prado deisel, 469 Stacer Nomad Elite with E-Tec 50 and Fridge with kegging system.
Cheers Daisy
Happiness is having fishy fingers with a stiff rod in your hand!!!
The view expressed in this post is that of a self opinionated bullshitter and does not reflect that of the website owner, it's operators or anyone else for that matter.
tatie

Post by tatie »

coroboreebandit wrote:hey alex whats goen on? remember me?
yeah mate... and i trust Rossco is your old man? :roll:
noundz

Post by noundz »

Name is Torrent Hobbs (Hobbsy) 31. Born & bred in Katherine.:grin:

Have worked in some mining & civil projects in the N.T. I am a plant mechanic by trade, no I don't fix Roses and Tulips :rofl: :rofl: (I work on heavy earth moving equipment)Currently working on Groote Eylandt (GEMCO) for BHP and enjoying the lifestyle and fishing the place has to offer.

I have mainly been a Barra fisherman fishing rives such as the Vic, Roper, Katherine and a few others.

I have a "wife to be"(together for 8 years) and two daughters age 2 & 3 who all love fishing and camping 8-) (to be with me they don't have much choice :twisted: )

Our toys are 2003 SR5 Hilux V6 & 6.8M Seaprowler boat with 225hp Yamaha.

Once we are finished over here we hope to move to Darwin and I will catch up with some of the forum members :mrgreen:

Hi guys name is John Dobbie been in darwin since passing through in 89
and still here. Work as a boilermaker and spent the last 12 years working the oil rigs and mines. Spent the last 2 1/2 yrs working at Jabiru loved the culvet fishing in the wet. I,m currently at the Granites mine in the Tanami so no fishing there. Love any type of fishing Lures, Bait (live)
and land based. Toys are hilux 3ltr sr5, Alycraft 475 with 50 suzuki. I,m on a 2on 1 off roster at the moment so dont get that much fishing time at the moment, but stil managed a trip to west arm on wed, a trip to corrobore yesterday and going to gun point this arvo to chase some barra of the beach on todays masive tides. Hopfully I will try to join in some of the forum events when I am in town as im currently on a 2on 1off roster til xmas. Catch you soon John d...