Post a little about who you are...

Backlash

Post by Backlash »

The real name is Gavin...........I'm in the Airforce (Motor Mechanic) been in Darwin since January.Love my fishing although somewhat undergunned when I arrived here.Was into bream fishing with soft plastic and small hard body lures............. wow how that has changed :shock: :shock: . My little tinny/punt that I bought up from down south (served me well) has been traded for a little larger boat, been slowly piecing this barra fishing together and have managed to score a few to 60 cm.......still learning the ropes, but I must say any barra on a lure so does s@#t over any bream :lolpoint:
Lookin forward to the wet and a few trips away.Anyway guys will see you all at the Ski Club tommorrow night.

Lash

Dave

Post by Dave »

Named David called Dave. Born Tasmania lived here since I was 5.

Spent most of my youth fishing and camping with the folks around Kakadu east alligator area (used to swim at the crossing) and daly river.

Had a 11Ft tinnie for a while till a relative used the motor as an artificial reef in the daly, only problem no markers :banghead: :banghead:

Always had a passing interest in fishing and went when I could. Got lucky and got offered a 4.6 dory new at a price too good to pass up and been fishing like crazy since. :clap: :clap:

Am 41 and married with 2 Kids a boy 8 and girl 4 have another daughter turning 21 around xmas.

Hope everyone has a good xmas and all boating trips turn into fishing trips
Out Blue

Post by Out Blue »

G'day all!!!

Name is Aaron and have been up here for around 8 years.

Originally from Tassie, please no jokes, unless we havent heard them yet and enjoy fishing, mainly Bluewater, Family, AFL and generally the NT life.

Have a 6.4m Pacific Sportfish centrecab and am keen to learn more about Billfishing if anyone cares to pass on some expertise!!!

Nothing better then heading to Dundee i reckon and heading down to the Perons for some fishing, but even better sitting back at the lodge with a few beers/rums.

Currently with Coastwatch, too frustrating though watching every one else fish, but a good job none the less.

Great website and look fwd to learning more and contributing some if i can!!

Cheers and have a good Chrissy break to all.

Even you Redcan!!

New Member Intro.

Hi I'm Pete (Faulksy)

Love my fishing particuarly Billfish N Barra. I fish in NZ once a year to chase stripey's and am off in Feb for another crack.
I recently purchased a 455 top ender and look forward to the run off. I lived at point Stuart for a year and a half and caught some good fish but was limited by not owning a boat.
I really appreciate the advice which is freely given on this sight its great to see fisherman helping each other out. Well done to those who drive it. I hope to be able to contribute in the future.

Pete
gilsmaster

Post by gilsmaster »

G'day my name is Rod, AKA rocket [can't get awayfrom that one].
Grew up in Vic chasing snapper & whiting,then moved on to LBG
mostly Green Cape,NSW. put in 10 years chasing tuna of the rocks,
best was 52lb on 12lb, biggest was 114lb on 30.

then off to the west,steep pt/quobba area, mind blowing coming from
vico.

started my commercial career in Pt samson WA wet lining & trolling for
macs,
now 17 years later still fishing for macs commercially.
done a few things in between including a season working the deck
in Cairns, chasing the big blacks.

had 2 mths in NZ fishing the rocks for kings and stripes from the boat.

while over there I went up to Nuie looking for the elusive wahoo off the
rocks,unfortunatly no joy .

Had the sailfish obsession for a while[living in Broome didn't help]
landing 29 myself and helping others catch around 120.

Had the last 11years in Darwin married with 1 apprentice deckie
[not if his mum has any say in it]
and spend 4-5 mths away working the kimberley[mth on mth off]

love chasing the barra,mostly at shady.just harder to find the time
lately.thats where FFF helps when i can't scratch the itch.

cheers Rod
gilsmaster

Post by gilsmaster »

G'day my name is Rod, AKA rocket [can't get awayfrom that one].
Grew up in Vic chasing snapper & whiting,then moved on to LBG
mostly Green Cape,NSW. put in 10 years chasing tuna of the rocks,
best was 52lb on 12lb, biggest was 114lb on 30.

then off to the west,steep pt/quobba area, mind blowing coming from
vico.

started my commercial career in Pt samson WA wet lining & trolling for
macs,
now 17 years later still fishing for macs commercially.
done a few things in between including a season working the deck
in Cairns, chasing the big blacks.

had 2 mths in NZ fishing the rocks for kings and stripes from the boat.

while over there I went up to Nuie looking for the elusive wahoo off the
rocks,unfortunatly no joy .

Had the sailfish obsession for a while[living in Broome didn't help]
landing 29 myself and helping others catch around 120.

Had the last 11years in Darwin married with 1 apprentice deckie
[not if his mum has any say in it]
and spend 4-5 mths away working the kimberley[mth on mth off]

love chasing the barra,mostly at shady.just harder to find the time
lately.thats where FFF helps when i can't scratch the itch.

cheers Rod
seafarer

Post by seafarer »

I'll give it a bit of a go. My name is Todd Eveleigh, originally born Central NSW near Gunnedah and grew up fishing for Murray Cod between the ages of 3 to 12, then moved to Brisbane where I started my salt water fishing originally chasing Bream on small lures, lure casting the mangrove lined creeks well before these big bream tournaments started, then joining sport fishing Club and getting into tag and release.

My number 1 target moved to flathead around the Gold Coast Broadwater, JumpingPin and Moreton Bay, the call of larger fish became more prominent, so started fishing the shallow grounds off Stradbroke Island for Long Tail, Mac Tuna, and palaegics scoring a job as a deckhand on a charter boat in the early 90's and worked on quite a few off the Gold Coast and Horizon Shores.

Went on my first Barra trip to the Territory with a guide in 97 with Mick Manicks Anglers Choice and was hooked on Barra Fishing and every year on the run off, now I'm right into my offshore fishing, off Stradbroke Island, chasing everything from Marlin to Snapper and dedicating alot of time writing articles for Go Fishing Magazine about trips that I have done. :grin:
"hold on "
Pilgram Pete

New Member intro

Post by Pilgram Pete »

Hi all,
My turn to introduce myself,

My name is Peter and my friends call me Thommo.

I'm a southerner who gets to come north to the top end on a fisho trip maybe every 18 months or so. I am based out of Wollongong and mainly do beach & rock fishing or sometimes go out in a mates boat.
I've got 2 kids 11 and 9 yrs so a lot of time is spent ferrying them around and not as much time as I might like is spent fishing. Things do change over time though.

I do look forward to a pilgrimage north every now & then and I enjoy browsing the forum to see what is happening. Hence the name username Pilgram Pete.

I've fished lots of places on the NSW coast and tried lots of fishing techniques. My main targets include Beachworms for anything, luderick fishing, tailor & sambos off the beach and washes, and more recently using soft plastics and poppers for flathead, bream and whiting. In the late 70's and early 80's I tried the LBG stuff around JB until we were locked out of it and the inshore Yellowfin fishery was decimated by unchecked commercial effort. The fishery is nothing like it once was or could be again with the right management. I mainly keep only a feed and practice release for the rest!

My Top end visits include
-Croker Island March 2001,
-Melville Island Jessie & Johnston R in Oct 2004,
-Darwin to Broome by Boat accross the Kimberley in June/July 2005,
-Aborted Barra Base in April 2006 because of cyclone Monica,
-Cobourg to Barra Base during spring tides Oct 2006
-Planning a Kimberley revisit in Oct 2007 (Hunter, Mitchell to King George)

Enough for now.

Pilgram
:shock: :mrgreen:
Fish for the Future!
Pilgram Pete

New Member intro

Post by Pilgram Pete »

Hi all,
My turn to introduce myself,

My name is Peter and my friends call me Thommo.

I'm a southerner who gets to come north to the top end on a fisho trip maybe every 18 months or so. I am based out of Wollongong and mainly do beach & rock fishing or sometimes go out in a mates boat.
I've got 2 kids 11 and 9 yrs so a lot of time is spent ferrying them around and not as much time as I might like is spent fishing. Things do change over time though.

I do look forward to a pilgrimage north every now & then and I enjoy browsing the forum to see what is happening. Hence the name username Pilgram Pete.

I've fished lots of places on the NSW coast and tried lots of fishing techniques. My main targets include Beachworms for anything, luderick fishing, tailor & sambos off the beach and washes, and more recently using soft plastics and poppers for flathead, bream and whiting. In the late 70's and early 80's I tried the LBG stuff around JB until we were locked out of it and the inshore Yellowfin fishery was decimated by unchecked commercial effort. The fishery is nothing like it once was or could be again with the right management. I mainly keep only a feed and practice release for the rest!

My Top end visits include
-Croker Island March 2001,
-Melville Island Jessie & Johnston R in Oct 2004,
-Darwin to Broome by Boat accross the Kimberley in June/July 2005,
-Aborted Barra Base in April 2006 because of cyclone Monica,
-Cobourg to Barra Base during spring tides Oct 2006
-Planning a Kimberley revisit in Oct 2007 (Hunter, Mitchell to King George)

Enough for now.

Pilgram
:shock: :mrgreen:
Fish for the Future!
Dave2E

Post by Dave2E »

Hello everyone, my name is Dave Toohey. (I tried to do this intro yesterday but it didnt seem to go through) I have been living in Darwin since 2000, originally from Melbourne. I am an Electrician working Offshore on a 4 week on 4 week off roster. I love chasing Barra and one day I will have one of the sessions I keep reading about where you catch a fish a cast, I am lucky to catch a fish a trip. There is alot of water around at the moment so this runoff could be my Eldorado. I go back to work soon so I hope the runoff is still firing when I get back.

Dave.

I am an Electrician working Offshore on a 4 week on 4 week off
What rig you on Dave?

dan willard

Post by dan willard »

gday all my names dan and am currently living in exile in england.spent 9 fantastic years in darwin as a plumber and did housing commision contracts for town and country plumbing in berrimah. used to fish off larrakeyah rock wall in the early 90s cos i had a pass for the base until they stopped it. jeez the fishing was almost a waste of time as you couldnt stop anything that lived under the wharf and aqualift xxxxx outsize barra and a rock cod that was several hundred pounds. my ex wife had the brilliant idea of coming here to see the rellys for a year trip and it sounded good at the time ,but after a year she said she woudnt go back!!!!!!
so now shes the ex. im back tho on the 14th of june and hope to get a job and mortgage asap , and fish every day. home sickness can make you as sick as any disease and now the kids live with me { their both diehard fishos too} we cant wait to get back and get a bit of colour and start enjoying life agin.
its true that you dont know what youve got till its gone and not living in darwin left a big hole. im 45 now and wont ever be moving any where else . see you all soon i hope , regards dan
:catch: :catch: :cheers:
Fruity

HI

Post by Fruity »

Hi :cheers: I have been in the NT for 16 years since I came here with the navy,I've been back in darwin for 2 years after 5 great years fishing and working over in Gove. I have a 2 year old son who loves his fishing rod, I work at the gas plant and get to see heaps of barra swin past the Jetty on nightshift. We love chasing barra, jacks, jewies and coral trout. we live at marlow lagoon. I'm into flyfishing and tying my own flies. This forum is good to checkout what fish are being caught and the humor is tops, I love a beer and hope to meet a few people from the forum as time rolls on. :cheers:
Cheers :cheers:
Fruity

Fishing is a condition of mind wherein you cannot possibly have a bad time.
Zane Grey.
Dave2E

Post by Dave2E »

G,day Blinky,
I'm on Modec Venture 1. I think I met you a couple of years ago out there. I remember you telling me about a croc getting into your pool one wet season. I hear you spend more time in the office these days?

Dave.

Hi Dave,
Name doesn’t ring a bell (the face might), wouldn’t be surprised if I met you before, I’ve been to the MV1 a lot of times. Yeah I’m stuck in the office 99% these days, I get out to do a bit of NDT every now and then but mostly paperwork. I think my days of going offshore are over, except when it’s a cushy job :grin: :grin: :grin:

That croc in the pool would’ve been when I was living out at Humpty Doo, bugger snuck out of the wet season billabong.