Bring DOUG back into the forum

mippa

Re: Bring DOUG back into the forum

Post by mippa »

hahahaha this is gold. he had a big enough head as it was. blokes not gonna fit through double sliding doors now haha.

mippa

Post by mippa »

hahahaha this is gold. he had a big enough head as it was. blokes not gonna fit through double sliding doors now haha.
barrabustin

Post by barrabustin »

I vote to bring DOUG back

2rods wrote: Looks like someone else has worked it out.... Hence my lack of posts these days... My fishing my stories are mine... You can't even go back and delete your own posts....
yup, I've told Matt via PM what I think about that. This is the only forum I am on (which is alot) that stops people editing their posts.. It is such a strange thing to do and it does put people off posting - so you end up preserving old poop information at the risk of having people not post any new stuff??
I used to post up every fishing trip I went on up here, now it'd be lucky to be 1/100 trips and only a couple of sh!t photos I don't like lol.

G-LOOMIS I think you'll find the problem is that many people remember what it used to be like? and it was very different to this!

anyway, like people have said, Matt's forum, he can do what he wants. :jester:
NothinSuss

Post by NothinSuss »

Dont think Doug will be back I reckon he will give this FFF the flick ( fishing pun ) and probly a big F YOU to the mod. Cant beleive he got scratched for the croc posts. There are some sensative people around these days.

There could be a FFF boycott in the wind if the Mod is living inter state.

Doug is a proud NT born and bred fella and has a passion for this place like not many others, ( as I do ) maybe it was the posts about the southerners that put the mods nose out of joint.

NathanL wrote:
2rods wrote: Looks like someone else has worked it out.... Hence my lack of posts these days... My fishing my stories are mine... You can't even go back and delete your own posts....
yup, I've told Matt via PM what I think about that. This is the only forum I am on (which is alot) that stops people editing their posts.. It is such a strange thing to do and it does put people off posting - so you end up preserving old poop information at the risk of having people not post any new stuff??
I used to post up every fishing trip I went on up here, now it'd be lucky to be 1/100 trips and only a couple of sh!t photos I don't like lol.

G-LOOMIS I think you'll find the problem is that many people remember what it used to be like? and it was very different to this!

anyway, like people have said, Matt's forum, he can do what he wants. :jester:
I quite enjoyed reading Dougs colourful posts and his opinions.............his account should be reinstated ........it is wrong to wipe someone on the grounds of an opinion........or if litigation is the problem well at least tell the account holder the reasons behind the scrapping.
While there is silence I guess the reasons behind the kerfuffle will never be known...........

I was beginning to think I was the only one that thought it a little strange that someone living 4,500 kays away is writing about NT fishing each week................

Gregsy

Post by Gregsy »

Looks like this billabong is drying up...

Jesus. 3 pages overnight.
who is this DOUG bloke anyway? :twisted:

It would be nice to know the facts about this issue.
Maybe Doug has had enough and has bailed. Maybe he is out fishing the run off somewhere? Maybe he has moved to tassie to help Matt run the mag?

There are problems re operating a forum. Ive seen a couple just pull the pin completely because things got heavy.

Nothing like that happened here.
Bring the young bloke back. he always had a good say whether or not we agreed with what he said.
Always good for a laugh
Escape

Post by Escape »

I think its fair matt writing about NT fishing from Tassie, hes knows his sh$t about it.....

Is it fair our opinions about where WE live & where WE fish be controlled & scrutinised by someone living in Tassie??
Thats another story.....?

I don't know Doug personally but always enjoyed his posts and argueing with him about crocs lol, but he's entitled to his opinion same as anyone else.
People like barra silver need to be culled for comments like we are all try hard fishos, guess he knows everyone on forum and catches all the fish. What a wanker
Plenty of people on here I look up too and appreciate them sharing stories and techniques like Doug. Without interesting people this forum will go to shiit

All saying what a few of us have been for years. There is a reason a lot of the original guys don't post anymore.
Funny, last time I suggested it Matt said the forum stats were better than ever.

Nice to see you again Dodgy : )

Moderator has the right,

BUT

maybe they should have a chat and see what can be sorted..

Come home Doug all may be forgiven stuff?

And while we are at it,

Free Bill Posters, he is innocent!
coastaljoy

Post by coastaljoy »

I enjoyed reading the posts where Doug was involved good for a laugh or an opinion from the other side and fishing info, cant see anything he has done different from other posts I have read. I am on here every day although I dont post any stories of my fishing exploits from down south WA { bl..dy southeners ] I am never offended when this is said. I go to darwin every year for the runoff and did live up there years ago and still love the place, this forum is what keeps me connected to the fishing area and people like Doug is what keeps it even more interesting. Doug should be brought back to the forum, if he wants to

The world is getting to soft
he fishes he fishes he fishes its the only thing in life all he ever gets is hell from his fed up wife

Your points addressed, from this thread and earlier comments on chat ...

* Doug knows why his account has been deactivated. If Doug wants to be back on the forum he can contact me, which he hasn't done.
* Since the forum started in 2006/7 very few users have been deleted, other than spammers. Probably about one person a year. Most of these have since had their accounts reactivated. I get more complaints for not moderating enough.
* FFF users can edit posts until a set time limit, after that posts are set in stone. Many other forums have this policy, because threads don't make sense if someone deletes or edits content late in the piece. It's like tearing pages out of a book. As I have said before, if someone has a genuine reason for needing something deleted after the time limit, I will do it, send me a PM.
* It's a free forum and FFF members probably have more ability to "milk the system" than I have. There's quite a few here who never post a fishing report but are happy to use the forum for their own ends, eg free ads etc.
* I pay NTMAG writers higher rates than most of the national fishing mags, and I've always encouraged new writers rather chasing the over-exposed hacks that appear elsewhere. Keep in mind that once content is posted online it is not worth much in a mag because it is old news. I will pay for exclusive content that has not been posted online.
* Re 2rods (Paul's) comment - things between Paul and I went downhill in the early days of the forum after I refused to delete a FFF member he'd had problems with outside of the forum. I note that Paul has no problem posting free classified ads etc here.
* Re Living in Tassie, I spent 22 years in the NT, in that time I toured the northern half of Australia twice. I've always put together my weekly fishing reports by calling the tackle shops, lodges etc, where I do this from is moot as long as I keep up to date with what's going on in the NT.

Constructive criticism about the forum or my mags is welcome, but people who bag my business just for the fun of it will be removed from the forum. There's a big internet out there where they can go and say what they like.