Tiwi Island and beyond 2009, Who's keen for an adventure?

If anyone is interested we are planning a trip up the Apsley fishing the straight and camping at Dudwell Creek camp area as a base for fishing Seagull Island, Marie shoal and if weather permits Goodrich Banks. Fuel is available at Garden Point. There are 3 boat confirmed but the more that come the safer it is. :captain:

My plan

Launch at Nightcliff boat ramp at 0530 on Saturday the 26th of September. Head to the Apsley hitting the mouth around 0800 about 1 hour before high tide allowing heaps of water to navigate the hazards around Nguiu. Find a fishing spot and fish the turn of the tide somewhere up the straight then head to garden point to refuel.
From there the plan will be weather dependent. If its cr.p I will stay in the straight if its ok and the storms are not evident I will head wide to marie or sea gull using dudwell as a base. If the weather is awesome I will be head wide and staying wide. Will have the radio on VHFch72. I will be planning to stay 3 night. its neep tides :catch: :drinking2:

What you will need

Heaps of safety gear
Heaps of water
A range of atleast 200kms
Good ice
Sense of adventure
If you need fuel you will need to phone the store and organise it
If you want to camp at dudwell you will need a permit from AFANT

So if you are keen add to this thread, if you have a boat or just want to decky for some one else put up your info.

Things we have caught in previous trip
Goldies to 90cms
Jewies to a 140cms
Mangrove Jacks to 80cms
Spanish Macks to 140cms
Red Bass
Red Emps
Coral trout
Chinamen Fish
Barramundie cod
All sorts of cod
Maorie Sea perch
Long nose emps
Job fish
Trevallys
Crabs

:drinking1: Harmsey

Jez

Post by Jez »

I'd be so keen if anyone has a spare spot! My boat still hasnt arrived from sydney yet :cry: So if anyone wants someone to come along PM me and you'll be my new :bow:
unseen1

Post by unseen1 »

harms, add my boat to the list mate.

i will also be chasing a 3rd to join my boat for the trip.

Guys,
Below is the link to AFANT detailing permit rules and costs :smile:

http://www.afant.com.au/tiwis/index.shtml

"We are willing enough to praise freedom when she is safely tucked away in the past and cannot be a nuisance. In the present, amidst dangers whose outcome we cannot foresee, we get nervous about her, and admit censorship".

"Political Correctness is a doctrine, fostered by a delusional, illogical minority, and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end."
Brent Matthews

Post by Brent Matthews »

Hi all,

I would love to come but I don't think my 4.4m tinnie would be big enough. Can anyone spare a spot? I am an experienced deckhand and will pay my way, plus I will bring some medical gear for hook removal / hangover resuscitation etc.

Let me know.

Brent
BD

'May your fishing spots be silted and your hooks on backwards'
justin

Post by justin »

yes going but leaving early hours sunday morning coming back on thursday.
if there are any other boats leaving then please let me know so we can team up on the trip over and back
Fishhard reel service a cast past the rest
shauno

Post by shauno »

Thats my week off I would be keen depending on winds but being last saturday in September geez the Sainters might win it and might have to wait another 43 years to see another one.........

me and 2rods were talking about this...

I think the big bloke has a wedding on the Saturday, so maybe we would be coming over on the sunday morning also Justin? We are only in for 2 nights...so coming back Tues morn maybe...

2rods, whaddya reckon?

Opes

Post by Opes »

My deckie and I are up for it.

Carrying Extra Fuel

For those of you that will need to carry extra fuel in containers go and see the NT Recycling at corner of Witte and Albatross Street, Winnellie. The sell either brand new or reconditioned 200, 60 and 20 litre steel drums. The also have plastic ones.
The prices are as follows:
New 60 litre Steel Drum (DG rated) - $55+ GST
New 20 litre Steel Drum - 16.50 + GST.

NT Recycling Phone No is 0400 277 908
[email protected]

I bought two 60 litre and two 20 litre drums - PLUS the 80 litre tank in the boat should hopefully see me through - total of 240 litres or three full tanks.
Have attached a photo for size comparison to 20 litre Jerrycan.

"We are willing enough to praise freedom when she is safely tucked away in the past and cannot be a nuisance. In the present, amidst dangers whose outcome we cannot foresee, we get nervous about her, and admit censorship".

"Political Correctness is a doctrine, fostered by a delusional, illogical minority, and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end."
Sea Reaper

Post by Sea Reaper »

I'll be in like Flynn!! 8-) Don't see myself spending anytime in the straight tho! Could be a spot for a non sea sicka! Now to organise permits! :banghead:
Reaper

Can't wait to read the stories and see the images of this trip.
Let us know how it goes.

Big Dan

Post by Big Dan »

Hey Harmsey,

I'll be there, with another 6 boats, during the same weekend. We aren't staying at Dudwell, but will be heading out towards Seagull, and Marie Shoal during the weekend. I've done it a few times and Marie is a great spot, weather depending we are going to try and overnight there and hang on to a few of them 25lb Mangrove jacks.

I'll be in the 660 Hydracraft "Off Duty", say g'day if we get a chance.

sounds like its gonna be standing room only at marie if the weathers good!
unseen1

Post by unseen1 »

does anybody have a contact number that gets an answer.

been trying to get the fuel organised but not sure what i need to do to get it over there, ie get a 44 filled and shipped or if its there already.

nobody seems to answer phones .. hopefully i havnt left it too late....