What's the worst excuse you've had in darwin?

Put your poll about non-fishing topics here.

Re: What's the worst excuse you've had in darwin?

The Big Green Crack House takes the cake.............ask a question of the so-called "experts".........No problem Sir, I'll go and find out......that's last you see of them, straight to the shitehouse or Smoko Room they go............

About 15 years ago I went to a car salesman and said "I am interested in that car there".

He went and got a form and said: "You see that bloke out there, that's my boss, I want you to sign this form here, and I will take it out and he will see that you are serious because you have signed, and then we can haggle over the details."

I said: "You are kidding right? I want to discuss the price and trade-in first."

He said: "Serious mate, my boss is a busy man, sign this first, and I reckon when he sees that you are serious he'll do you a good deal very quickly."

I told the young fella what I thought of his sales methods, and he had a smirk on his face.

Still makes me a laugh!
rossco

Post by rossco »

Similar to Matt's experience, except I took a very good car in to sell and the guy said 'tell me you will sell it to me and then i'll tell you what i will give you ! Right !!! I sold it privately after that but didn't subject the buyer to that sort of rubbish.
Gregsy

Post by Gregsy »

When i went to buy my Landcruiser the dealer asked if i wanted A/Cond and that it would be $2300 extra, when i said why dosent it come with it he replied "you have to be careful when you buy cars especially from Tasmania because they dont have A/Cond as its not hot" and i replied with "so cars in Darwin dont have heating.....Idiot"

Living out the Daly, wondering why a 'leading' shade structure outfit still hadn't shown up (again) to 'finish' a major job in May after originally saying they would be there in January....."Oh, is the road open again?"

You dont undertand, thats the way we do it up here, its different. You will get used to it !!

One of my better ones was a goose at a local car dealer.

We went in and haggled over the price of a car, but as far as they were concerned there was no room to move on the cost. Left said dealer and bought same care in Qld, had it delivered and registered for 3k less than local delaer. The reduction in price also included a voucher for a first service free at any dealer

A week after the car turned up, local dealer rang to see if we were ready to do business. I explained what had happened and they had the hide to tell me that if there were warranty issues I would have to return it to the dealer who sold it to me!! Cest? Cart door i asked. They told me they didnt have to honour anyone elses warranty. Yeah right my reply was. About an hour later someone rang to apologise and say the person actually meant about the first free service.

Happened I drove the car to Broome and had to get it serviced there. They took the voucher no worries. I mailed the receipt to my local delaer when I got home and have only done business once since then... funny that and I still own that brand car...

cjgp wrote:One of my better ones was a goose at a local car dealer.

We went in and haggled over the price of a car, but as far as they were concerned there was no room to move on the cost. Left said dealer and bought same care in Qld, had it delivered and registered for 3k less than local delaer. The reduction in price also included a voucher for a first service free at any dealer

A week after the car turned up, local dealer rang to see if we were ready to do business. I explained what had happened and they had the hide to tell me that if there were warranty issues I would have to return it to the dealer who sold it to me!! Cest? Cart door i asked. They told me they didnt have to honour anyone elses warranty. Yeah right my reply was. About an hour later someone rang to apologise and say the person actually meant about the first free service.

Happened I drove the car to Broome and had to get it serviced there. They took the voucher no worries. I mailed the receipt to my local delaer when I got home and have only done business once since then... funny that and I still own that brand car...

Oh what a feeling??? :)

Yep that would be it Price was for a more expensive model too