Portable fridges

Put your poll about non-fishing topics here.
barratrooper1

Re: Portable fridges

Post by barratrooper1 »

Engels are probably the best, but I couldn't afford one, so I got a 60lt PRIMUS, its stainless steel,has a real thick lid(insulation) and I have heard they have the same compressor as the WAECO,s. Im happy with mine, draws about 0.7 amps/hour when set at 3 degrees, I fished with it I'm boat for 5 days, i have duel battery set up with a 100 amp hour hybrid battery, and never looked like stopping. about $800 cheaper than a 60lt Engel.

by the sounds i reckon ill just go the engel. hopefull i get what i pay for. now just gotta set up duallys in the hilux lol
Hally10

Post by Hally10 »

Ive got a 50l dz waeco that lives in the back of my ute. Never had an issue but I do think that an engle will last longer. I reckon a dual batt is a must have to get the most out of the fridge. Never have to worry. I did my own redarc, if you wan to do it yourself I can give you some tips and same paying some bloke too much.
Bellfish

Post by Bellfish »

i got a 60 liter primus as well as the solar panels for $1100 probably 13 months ago by the blw you need batteries :wink:
Basstad

Post by Basstad »

Trailblaza for the back of a ute......they are built like a brick dunny..........Engel for inside the car or in the ute for short periods....built well and have a good rep............Waeco......in the boat as others have said but i have heard and seen a few Waeco's cr.p em selves so i'd stay away...........The Evakool fiberglass has the best insulation IMO and is a good allrounder........The new ARB ones are getting good wraps everywhere but i have had nothing to do with them........Evakool fridgemate plastic are good value for money IMO.

We have a Trailblaza 70 which was bought secondhand years ago and it's fine......gets down to -17degs,downside is it's big and heavy and takes up half the rear in a 100series.....

Hally10 wrote:Ive got a 50l dz waeco that lives in the back of my ute. Never had an issue but I do think that an engle will last longer. I reckon a dual batt is a must have to get the most out of the fridge. Never have to worry. I did my own redarc, if you wan to do it yourself I can give you some tips and same paying some bloke too much.
cheers mate I might take you up on that offer when comes time to do it.

cheers Brent
Hally10

Post by Hally10 »

No worries. I run a 1220 redarc. Bit more up front but a great unit and easy to install

Hally10 wrote:No worries. I run a 1220 redarc. Bit more up front but a great unit and easy to install
what sort of $ am I lookin at with battery.

cheers Brent

anyone got oppinions on the evacool systems?

I have a 55lt fridgemate great insulation tough as poly build only downside is the element doesn't wrap right around the inside but when at camp I remove the divider frozen stays frozen and 30 cans stay icy cold hasn't missed a beat in 4 years running non stop (beer fridge at home)
rigger

Post by rigger »

I have a 10 yo old waeco which I use to store ice in. It is hooked up to 120ah deep cycle and a couple solar panels. Once a week I connect the charger overnight to ensure the battery stays charged. Has been working fine in this situation for 2 years.

I think views about fridges are like views about generators.

When u're in town thinking about buying, you tend to think that compromise based around price may be ok.

When u turn it on camping, you don't care how much it costs as long as it works.

Hence go for the brand that u know will work when you need it.

With generators, the benchmark is Honda.

With fridges, the benchmark is Engel.

In respect of volume, think about the max weight u'd like to cart around when full (the fridge that is).
rusty

Post by rusty »

Could not agree with you more Ronje, the question I get all the time is which fridge to buy .... I have formed my own opinion on the matter only through using a engel for the past 10 years... All I have replaced is the travel cover .... Which I think is due to a bit too much salt spray.
It has never failed me! Whether it be on 240v at home or attached to the Honda 20i , doing corrugated tracks or punchin through chop in the boat ....
Plenty say ' but this fridge is cheaper?' for me I'd be puttin my pennies away for a little longer too buy another engel! ..........wonder when that will be ?? :cheers:

ive had engal for 20 yrs...snow or heat they will never let you down

ive now put one in my boat and its going great guns

if u hav a engal you never have to worry abt warm beer

Been there done that with fridges in 4x4's.. After 20+ years of using them up here I only reccomend 2 brands. If you have room... Trailblazer ... If not engel.
My last engel has played up a bit (mum and dad have it now.. Blue/silver one) But you get that. My trailblazer is faultless .. As was the last one (gave
it to my sister..about 20 years old and still going)

I have had waeco .. Pass
I have had auto fridge ... Not bad
I have used about 5 others through work but the top 2 remain the same.

On a side note I picked up a very old rusty engel a few months ago.. Old olive one with the mustard lid.. $20... Bees through 2 floods on the daly river (under water and all) and apart from being ugly it works well .. Now it lives under my workbench as a "esky" of sorts..