NT gold fossicking may be finished

Put your poll about non-fishing topics here.

New laws may have killed off NT gold fossicking ... do you care?

Yes
88%
No
12%

Total votes: 57

troamaru

Re: NT gold fossicking may be finished

Post by troamaru »

I think it's a pity that they have changed the laws like that :( I have often considered going and buying a Mine Lab gold detector and just going walking through the hills .. well scratch that idea.. Gee I reckon it might be about time to go live in a shack in the Kimberllys on a nice river somewhere lol

Bluey i fart so much I,ll probly need 2 permits ,,,,, :moon: :moon:

If anyone is interested, Ive got a Minelab GP extreme machine with heaps of coils for sale. I just cant physically do it anymore
Land Locked

Post by Land Locked »

Some PEOPLE should DEFINITELY need permits to fart :uhh:
BlueyNT

Post by BlueyNT »

Nah !!! drink rose water and fart in secret .

Kev.
I'm not young enough to know every thing .
jezza13

Post by jezza13 »

Do u still have that detector nomad? if so what sort of figure have u got in mind for it ?

Yeah but havent used it since my knee op stopped me from kneeling dow,
Its a GP extreme with about 6 coils that go with it.
Cost me around $10 k all up but if youve got a lazy $2k ono, you can have it.
Only need an oz of the yella stuff to pay for itself.
blowski

Post by blowski »

I dont understand what's changed and what's so bad I can't find any info

The detector is still up for grabs if anyone wants it :angel:
blowski

Post by blowski »

What do the new laws mean.
xray

Post by xray »

why cant they make the law as the same as all the other states ,then is fair for everyone at least then taveling prospectors know what the goes is
Davidwarruwi

Post by Davidwarruwi »

Nomad, is you minelab still go sale??

Yeah mate. $2k and its all yours
Spook

Post by Spook »

What a crokka!

If I was a prospector, that stupid bit of legislation wouldn't have any impact on what I would do. Business as usual.

What are they going to do, re-vamp the Gold Squad at a time when they cant fill the regular policing holes? Have Constable Plod sneaking along all the little creeks etc.
I don't think so.
Of course, the time will tell when you try to offload the stuff. but a resourceful fossicker will have this already sorted, as a mate of mine already has.

He made $6500 on a weekend not so very long ago. Cash. No Tax.
Eat your heart out Henderson (The resident Buffoon)
If I wasn't doing this, I'd be Fishin'

Yeah, it is possible to identify where gold was found, its impossible to determine when it was found.
They bought a law in NSW that says you can only take 1 oz a day. Just to stop people taking big lumps.
So if you find a 10 oz nugget, you are supposed to leave it there. Yeah right.

I had nuggets for years waiting for the price to rise. I sold it for $360/oz. If i held it til now, it would have been worth $1500/oz :banghead: