Mythbusters

Put your poll about non-fishing topics here.

I think the MV Dodgy sinking "Mythbusters stunt" was ...

Great - the spirit of adventure with calculated risk
84%
Not a good look for professional reasons
2%
A good publicity stunt - people like this stuff
14%
Downright dangerous
No votes

Total votes: 51

Ray Broughton

Post by Ray Broughton »

yep fun and safety definitely have never had too much of a correlation..

Personally I didn't think it was dangerous at all, and as far as I know it's legal to have a beer out at sea.. (at the moment anyway).

They weren't drunk or littering or participating in illegal activity, all good I say. :mrgreen:

Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day. Teach a man to fish and he will sit in a boat all day drinking beer.........

yep, i reckon age has a bit to do with it.

if it were a young bloke, like JD and there was a drama, how could we live with ourselves for taking the risk?

but being only dodgy and beast...well if they went down with the ship, we would have a great wake, then probably be scrambling onto the wreck as it was already burleyed up :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

yeah, yeah, I am probably gonna get some neg karma for that one. :bonk: :bonk:

balls

I've snowboarded down Mont Blanc in France, Europe's highest peak. Saved someone's life in category 5 rapids on the Zambesi River and surfed Hawaii's North Shore.
I've been down Adelaide's Braemar Road on a Malvern Star Flying Wedge without touching the brakes :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Gold Can

Post by Gold Can »

Not at any stage did it look like that anyone (Beast and Dodgy) was going to be in danger.
And i am quite sure that if there had of been the slightess hint of danger they would not have done it!!!!!!!

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
The way to a fishermans heart is through his fly!!

Quote:
I've snowboarded down Mont Blanc in France, Europe's highest peak. Saved someone's life in category 5 rapids on the Zambesi River and surfed Hawaii's North Shore.

I've been down Adelaide's Braemar Road on a Malvern Star Flying Wedge without touching the brakes
well i once drank coola cordial..... straight from the bottle :o :o :o

i am one of the last great risk takers :mrgreen:

dares

well i once drank coola cordial..... straight from the bottle Surprised Surprised Surprised
I drank about 2/3 of a 750ml bottle of Bundy rum in a dare when I was young and dumb. Not much more to tell about that sorry deed though, I don't remember a thing ... :P
George

Post by George »

Have to admit that when I saw what they were going to do I was a little concerned, but after someone mentioned about the mythbusters thing I understood the risk that they took, and in saying all this how many of you guys after doing all the work that these two did, would you do the same thing knowing what they did.....................HELL YEA!!!!! :clap: :clap:
Just blowing a little steam after all the hard work. I don't even think you could even see the beers in the paper?

Custom Plate Boats
Boat modifications
Trailer and repairs

http://www.fishingterritory.com
andrew.south

Post by andrew.south »

2/3rds of a bottle Matt..is that it..pathetic effort.. :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:
Southy

Very rarely when the ship misses the harbour is it the harbours fault

2/3rds of a bottle Matt..is that it..pathetic effort..
On an empty stomach, when I weighed 72kg ...

:bow: :bow: go forth and sink, sink, sink, i say :bow: :bow:

must admit i was a bit shocked when a mate said to me "did you see those drunken bums sink that boat on the weekend???" maybe it did come across wrong :???:

to dodgy and beasty :clap: :applause: :bow: for having the balls to go through with it

when you think about it,,,,i cant see the risky part????? it was perfect

1) we had a more then capable tow boat with probably a conbined 100years skipper experience aboard

2) had beasty aboard m.v Dodgy with a few hundrew deep water dives under his belt and dodgy looked at home swinging that sledge

3) jason had the location secured and marked out with well set anchour

4) the boat was prepped by a bunch of blokes donating their time and tools to meet harbour master standards to sink

5) Matt as camera crew

6) Myself in a proven rescue boat :grin: with a nurse aboard on standby with a full SES emergency kit

7) Gold Can in knot-a-clue as support crew and pilot boat.

8) perfect tides and conditions

but ohh no :bonk: we had a beer to celebrate what i think was a perfectly executed plan that has taken months, by a bunch of experience fishermen/boat opperators. to hell with those who seen it any other way :fubird:

:cheers: Harmsey

Obviously I missed that myth busters episode because when I watched the video I was thinking I cant believe that they are going to do that. What if!!!

But it all did end well, and I totaly agree that adults should be able to make their own decisions in circumstances where their actions effect no one else.
justin

Post by justin »

thats less risky than going out in a 5m open boat to flat top at night on your own.

hey Dodgy
Fishhard reel service a cast past the rest
jasonmcc

Whingers

Post by jasonmcc »

I cant believe anyone would complain or suggest we were a bunch of drunk bogans. Harmsey's post tops it off showing how prepared we were with everything. How many other volunteers do you see out there doing something to improve our recreational fishing :fubird:

It might be time for someone to start doing some covert artificial wreck sinkings 8-)

Jason
...............Wishin' I was fishin'...............
barra_on_fly

Post by barra_on_fly »

I only have one thing to say;
"Hold me stubby and watch this....!!!!" 8-)

Return to “General Polls”