Is the record Arctic ice melt a concern?

Put your poll about non-fishing topics here.

This year's record Arctic ice melt is ...

A problem
58%
Not a problem
42%

Total votes: 19

Re: Is the record Arctic ice melt a concern?

you seem to think you know what your talking about so ill take your word for it ;) :) :) i just say what i seen without researching at all i got better things to do they read a fact sheet hahah
so volcanos dont cause mass CO2 ???
the documentary was just like one of them animal planet sorta shows no mining gimic i watched another one where david attenboruough is it ?? said that since he has been doing these documentaries on the massive glaciers theyhave almost diasapeared and his pics from 6the first time he went there and then like 30 years later were pretty full on!!

Ben Jam wrote:when i was a young bloke, all we had to worry about was getting home from the pub in time to go to work. there were BIG issues going on all around us but we had NFI and didnt care
Weren't you worried about being drafted into Vietnam war?[/quote]
Fair go mate, I was still in school then. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Doug, dont just take anyones word for it.
yep, the sea once covered the desert, aust was once attached to antartic etc

when i lived in tassie, there was a 10 year drought. the dams didnt have enough water to supply hydro power to tassie. so we had to import power from victoria. the cable was built so tassie could supply power from tassie to vic.

there was also a massive hole in the ozone layer that stretched up to tassie. the uv readings were higher than here.
the world stopped using cfc and the hole repaired itself.
the point is that no one really knows what would have happened if we continued using cfc. maybe the hole would have repaired itself. highly unlikely, but possible

same with co2. if we keep pumping it out as we are, it must have some effect. no one really knows what it will do, but the evidence is that it has already had an effect

I saw a show recently where the antis were saying that the prediction was to rise by up to 4 degrees. it only rose 2 so they said it was cr.p. 1 degree rise has massive ramifications for us.

like i said, it wont affect me (i hope), but you blokes should be thinking about it and not just ignore it and hope it will go away. good to see that you are watching docos and learning stuff.
Queasy

Post by Queasy »

DOUG wrote:you seem to think you know what your talking about so ill take your word for it ;) :) :) i just say what i seen without researching at all i got better things to do they read a fact sheet hahah
so volcanos dont cause mass CO2 ???
the documentary was just like one of them animal planet sorta shows no mining gimic i watched another one where david attenboruough is it ?? said that since he has been doing these documentaries on the massive glaciers theyhave almost diasapeared and his pics from 6the first time he went there and then like 30 years later were pretty full on!!
I do have a Science degree but don't claim to be an expert by any stretch of the imagination.

Volcanoes do emit a few hundred million tonnes of CO2 each year, but this equates to just 1% of the 30 billion tonnes emitted by human related activities each year.

I know what you mean about the glaciers. I walked to the foot of one of those glaciers on the west coast of NZ in 1995, 1998 and again in 2006. The walk got longer each time as they receded back up the valley. I'm sure it wasn't just me getting older! There is going to be some big problems in South America and India, and anywhere that relies on glacial fed streams for water and irrigation. As the glaciers melt, yay they gets lots of water for a while, but once they're gone then they're in the poo. The world won't come crumbling down all at once, different regions will be affected in different ways at different times. I feel like we're the frog in the saucepan, we won't jump out or take decisive action as things slowly warm up.....

I don't know. And I don't believe that anybody else does either.

Society should be able to trust its scientific advisers but can't.

The argument has been tainted by opportunists of all types.

The Aus government has also done the people a great disservice by the way its handled debate about the issue. Lying about its intentions and then trying to ram a view down eveybody's throats.

As a result I don't believe ANY of the arguments as the topic has been hijacked.

Odd how the number of people you can trust is getting smaller.

I believe that apart from society itself , the scientific fraternity is going to end up being the big loser.
wally gator

Post by wally gator »

nomad wrote:methane is a far worse greenhouse gas than co2. Termites are responsible for emmitting more methane than anything else on the planet. cows come a close 2nd but not for farting but burping.

wally gator wrote:they told us
who are they? tour guides or scientists?
the vast majority of climate scientists say that we are responsible. not totally responsible.
i wonder what would have happened if we kept using ozone depleting gases and not banned it when we did?

only time will tell just how bad human enduced climate change it will get.

i truly dont give a rats about climate change because ill be dead soon. who cares what happens then, thats their problem eh? the kids of tomorrow will work it out somehow!
They would be the scientists and resurchers that told us that !!

ronje wrote:I don't know. And I don't believe that anybody else does either.

Society should be able to trust its scientific advisers but can't.

The argument has been tainted by opportunists of all types.

The Aus government has also done the people a great disservice by the way its handled debate about the issue. Lying about its intentions and then trying to ram a view down eveybody's throats.

As a result I don't believe ANY of the arguments as the topic has been hijacked.

Odd how the number of people you can trust is getting smaller.

I believe that apart from society itself , the scientific fraternity is going to end up being the big loser.
I think the science behind climate change is more believable than the real time facts behind religion and look what its doing to the world.

Whats religion got to do with climate change?
Queasy

Post by Queasy »

ronje wrote:Whats religion got to do with climate change?
Nothing. But its a worry when you have a possible future leader of this country who believes in a fairy in the sky, but not in the science of climate change.

People all over the world took to the streets for something they can't prove but they do believe in. What I don't understand how can so many people in the world hang onto there own religion like the world is going to end with no evidence what so ever to support there belief on the other hand climate change will ruin the world it has evidence to support and people are saying they need more prove before they will acted. World gone mad, "science vs religion" the age old debate.

World gone mad
The world is stark raving loony.

"Vote for insanity, you know it makes sense" :mrgreen:
there was also a massive hole in the ozone layer that stretched up to tassie. the uv readings were higher than here.
I reckon it still is. When the sun comes out, it is like gamma radiation. Cooks you quick. Fortunately the fog makes up for any ozone hole :lol:

Queasy wrote:Nothing. But its a worry when you have a possible future leader of this country who believes in a fairy in the sky, but not in the science of climate change.

:rofl: :rofl: :applause: :clap: :rofl: :rofl: :lol: LMFTO ..........

I think there is some confusion about climate change.

The climate has been changing for millions/billions of years.

Its caused ichange to the creatures that live on the earth (dinosauars disappearing, mankind appearing), changes in oceans (some disappeared. New ones formed).

Earth temperatures.

The real debate seems to be over the causes. Are changes that mankind can measure i(n the very limited time that we've been on the earth) been caused by or exacerbated by anything that man has done? Or are the changes natural?

That's the part of the science that I believe has done society no favours. Its been hijacked (and allowed to be hijacked) by the zealots.

Who was it that said " The bigger the lie, the more believeable it is"? He was a zealot.

See ronje knows what I'm talking about :) :)

ronje wrote:I think there is some confusion about climate change.

The climate has been changing for millions/billions of years.

Its caused ichange to the creatures that live on the earth (dinosauars disappearing, mankind appearing), changes in oceans (some disappeared. New ones formed).

Earth temperatures.

The real debate seems to be over the causes. Are changes that mankind can measure i(n the very limited time that we've been on the earth) been caused by or exacerbated by anything that man has done? Or are the changes natural?

That's the part of the science that I believe has done society no favours. Its been hijacked (and allowed to be hijacked) by the zealots.

Who was it that said " The bigger the lie, the more believeable it is"? He was a zealot.
No. I don't think there's any confusion!!!! No one said humans were the soul cause! and no one said that it hasn't been happening before mankind! The debate has always been about our impact only!! So whats the confusion?

I figure im not the only one who doesnt know what Zealot is.

zealot: a member of an ancient Jewish sect in Judea in the first century who fought to the death against the Romans and who killed or persecuted Jews

Ben, Everyone knows what a Zealot is...It's a COLLINGOOD Supporter. :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :P