Has lightning stuffed your gear?

Put your poll about non-fishing topics here.

Has Darwin's lightning ever knocked out your home/office gear?

Yes
78%
No
23%

Total votes: 40

FTRAINED

Re: Has lightning stuffed your gear?

Post by FTRAINED »

We got hit during the Wednesday storms.

A tree near our house also got hit in March this year, so following that episode we had a surge protector installed that saved most of the appliances this time around. The pressure pump didn't survive the direct hit however and the telephone line conducted a surge that blew the modem, phone and computer. We feel lucky only to lose a few appliances this time and thankfully the bore keeps pumping. Would recommend a surge protector installed in every households powerboard. We have the Belkin surge protector powerboards inside the house but our sparky mate reckons they wont handle a direct hit. Also recommend some earmuffs for the dog - she usually only gets airborne when jumping in the ute!

Yep lost pressure pumps, bore pumps computer and other assorted gear over the years.
One of the best was the bore getting fried and after having it fixed, then six odd months down the track
noticed in the power box that needle had spot welded itself to the dial, got cheap power bills for a while :rofl: :rofl:
:drinking8: :drinking8:
George

Post by George »

Yep, lost TV's, computers, and a washing machine. Unfortunately TIO would not cover it unless power and water could provide a letter stating that there had been a surge in our area. But power and water stated that the log of surges only get registered through the sub stations not localized areas. So no insurance..............
It's why I unplug all my welders from the wall when lightening is near, and no longer bother paying for electrical protection with insurance.
Custom Plate Boats
Boat modifications
Trailer and repairs

http://www.fishingterritory.com

I was out fishin with olfart yesterday when the bigstorm came through,a massive bolt hit less than a km from us ,,,I nearly soiled myself
The sounder on the boat went black and was showing no depth, weird stuff it came good after a while.Not sure if the strike caused this.
Does anyone know much about lightning strikes and boats,, :shock:

jeffish wrote:I was out fishin with olfart yesterday when the bigstorm came through,a massive bolt hit less than a km from us ,,,I nearly soiled myself
The sounder on the boat went black and was showing no depth, weird stuff it came good after a while.Not sure if the strike caused this.
Does anyone know much about lightning strikes and boats,, :shock:
Funny how the fish went on the chew straight after tho'. Kept waitin for me free 'affro', all metal boat BIIIIIG lightning. :mrgreen:
Thanks Jeff, had a great day out, 'any day on the water is a GOOD day'. :cheers: