drivers in darwin

Put your poll about non-fishing topics here.
rumjungle

Re: drivers in darwin

Post by rumjungle »

Just spent three days in Brisbane and the coast and whilst there were plenty of bad driving examples one thing they can do is Merge lanes.
Why...because it's that busy they have to.

Unlike here on Tiger Brennan where some W%$kr will race up the inside at the last minute instead of just merging patiently 2 or 3 cars back.

I saw a bloke in a small car (with large exhaust) take on a tilt tray last week. Needless to say the tilt tray had no where to go and nearly put the small car into the wall. Bet his undies had a ball!

Spook

Post by Spook »

Its easy for those perfect drivers to find fault with others. I have been driving for nigh on 52 years, and although I regard myself as proficient, and even courteous sometimes,(but not always, I have been known to give the finger to idiot drivers) i'm not perfect. I try to stay within speed limits, though sometimes I will find that I am doing a bit more than that, generally as a consequence of staying within the flow of traffic. When I notice this and slow to be within the limit, I get the "hairy eyeball" from those who are aware that they are speeding. I have noticed that the greater percentage of those exceeding the speed limit are females, either in their little "hair dresser" cars, of young mums in the family SUV. The next group are those young louts in their stupid little rice burners with those "must have" big mufflers at the back which as I am informed are there to counter or to improve exhaust emissioms from turbo powered cars. That 'being the case, why doesn't my Turbo Landcruiser have one fitted as standard. In any event, theres more noise than feature in those.
I have fitted what I call a "Hoon Cam" which records video, sound, time, date and GPS position. To date I have provided a mate in the traffic section with two of my clips which may lead to summons being issued. I may have to give evidence if it is defended, but I dont think so. The evidence is there. In any event I am happy to do so.
If I wasn't doing this, I'd be Fishin'

Years ago I always thought I had to drive full noise. Ther=se days I use the cruise control everywhere.
It worked so well that when I got pinched at a speed camera. it showed that i was doing exactly 89 in an 80 zone. oopps. I forgot to change it when i got into the slow section.
at least i know its accurate :banghead:
xray

Post by xray »

i witnesed a well know FFF member today pull staright out in front of another vehicle causing a collision major damage to 1 of the vehicles .are your eyes painted on or are just plain stupid and dont care for peoples lifes you clown
Trier

Post by Trier »

The person may or may not be a clown; goodness knows, there are plenty out on the roads - however there are usually 2 sides to any story, and it might be wiser to wait and hear the other persons story before passing a harsh, hasty judgement.

Ash
-----------------

If it doesn't fit, get a bigger hammer and hit it harder!

'You can't have mudcrabs without mud'. My son John

xray you started this post on the 15th ,what actually set you off in the first place or were you just bored and decided to stir the pot again!

Hey boys
after nearly 3 years here Ive decided to finally change my rego from Tassie to NT
I was advised that I no longer need to stop at stop signs, use my indicator when changing lanes or turning corners
And, I can remove the tail lights / rego on my boat trailer :twisted:
bushie

Post by bushie »

Well nomad. Hand in your visa & fcuk off. Same for all the blow-ins. Don't llike the NT the way it is? Always feel the need to compare? pack up your car topper and bugger off. I like it here the way things are (except for the tourists, wannabes and palmerston) . Thank god Dodgy one is s west austrslian otherwise i would have to send him packing too.

bushie wrote:Well nomad. Hand in your visa & fcuk off. Same for all the blow-ins. Don't llike the NT the way it is? Always feel the need to compare? pack up your car topper and bugger off. I like it here the way things are (except for the tourists, wannabes and palmerston) . Thank god Dodgy one is s west austrslian otherwise i would have to send him packing too.
:mrgreen: oh and we sent dodgy packin a few years ago :jester:
best drivers in the country us territorians :fu:

bushie wrote:Well nomad. Hand in your visa & fcuk off. Same for all the blow-ins. Don't llike the NT the way it is? Always feel the need to compare? pack up your car topper and bugger off. I like it here the way things are (except for the tourists, wannabes and palmerston) . Thank god Dodgy one is s west austrslian otherwise i would have to send him packing too.
:rofl: :rofl: :rofl:
No way Im leaving here. I can put up with dickheads on the roads.

I used to drive a lot in Sydney and they do the same, drivers everywhere do the same poop, just that you are flat out on busy roads trying to stay alive.
up here its just that ive got more time to enjoy them.

PS, Bushie, where do I get a visa? :rofl: :rofl:
BlueyNT

Post by BlueyNT »

Same place you got your drivers licence , kelloggs cornflake box.:lolpoint:
I'm not young enough to know every thing .
Camfish

Post by Camfish »

i've just moved up from Victoria. and walking around parmy im shocked at the blatant disregard for predestination and there life's, i've been in a few punch on's over the matter.

mate when you drive like a total F***wit and nearly seriously wount/kill yes i will have some abuse to hurl and if you pull over and get out i will clench the fist's

im shocked at the disregard for life when it comes to predestination's around pamy, mainly turning corners and running pedestrian crossings and red lights.

Like I said earlier, you get that everywhere. In Sydney they run across the road in front of you because they are too busy
Up here, they just wander out in front without a care in the world.
Which one is better or worse? no idea.
Just makes life more interesting here
Trier

Post by Trier »

Looks like some cop cars might have 'indicators like new' as well. Was at the Lakeside Drv / Dripstone Rd roundabout at 12.50 pm today and a paddy wagon was doing a RH turn and, yep you guessed it, no far ken indicator!! Good one guys.

Ash
-----------------

If it doesn't fit, get a bigger hammer and hit it harder!

'You can't have mudcrabs without mud'. My son John

Camfish wrote:i've just moved up from Victoria. and walking around parmy im shocked at the blatant disregard for predestination and there life's, i've been in a few punch on's over the matter.

mate when you drive like a total F***wit and nearly seriously wount/kill yes i will have some abuse to hurl and if you pull over and get out i will clench the fist's

im shocked at the disregard for life when it comes to predestination's around pamy, mainly turning corners and running pedestrian crossings and red lights.
Bit like toads on the road
Gives you something to keep you interested and test your accuracy with the front wheels :rofl: :rofl: