Are the MP pay rises justified?

Put your poll about non-fishing topics here.

Are the MP pay rises justified?

Yes
19%
No
81%

Total votes: 43

Re: Are the MP pay rises justified?

We whinge about our pollies pays that are a pittance to what some CEO's are getting
If you pay peanuts you will get monkeys and I'm sure if you have a closer look at what we have got you'll see I'm right
Pay the right money and we might get some real players step up to the plate especially in leadership and finances

fitzwah82

Post by fitzwah82 »

shaggs wrote:We whinge about our pollies pays that are a pittance to what some CEO's are getting
If you pay peanuts you will get monkeys and I'm sure if you have a closer look at what we have got you'll see I'm right
Pay the right money and we might get some real players step up to the plate especially in leadership and finances
I'm looking mate and not seeing, I do agree with what you said about the CEO's pay check though

Why do vast majority of Pollies tell you they are not in it for the money then...........they are in it because they want to make a difference...........if this was the truth then the big dollars should'nt be needed. pr..ks could'nt lie straight in bed!!!!!

This is still not the time for pollies to be getting a pay rises with the amount of debt this country is still in, and when most work places are getting pay cuts.

I'm not going into inflation but if your getting under 3% rise in your pay, you are really getting a pay CUT. Which is happening with alot of Goverment jobs (Police, Defence, Fire Fights, Ambos and more).

Now for the pollies, google "Prime minister retirement benefits" I assure you that they are getting there fair share. It's all smoke and mirrors so don't feel to bad for them she won't even notice a extra 90,000 a year trust me.

Ben Jam wrote:This is still not the time for pollies to be getting a pay rises with the amount of debt this country is still in, and when most work places are getting pay cuts.

I'm not going into inflation but if your getting under 3% rise in your pay, you are really getting a pay CUT. Which is happening with alot of Goverment jobs (Police, Defence, Fire Fights, Ambos and more).

Now for the pollies, google "Prime minister retirement benefits" I assure you that they are getting there fair share. It's all smoke and mirrors so don't feel to bad for them she won't even notice a extra 90,000 a year trust me.
You are right about Prime Ministers ,when their time is finished in the job so should their pay as well
Works that way for everyone else in life

BlueyNT wrote:The pay rise is announced after the treasurerer has just been on the news stating that we all have to tighten our belts ,seems hypocritical to me.
Also the Govt has put a 3 % wages cap on the public service , for the next three years , but Gillard has awarded a 22% pay rise to the dept Secretaries .
Military personell have just recieved a 3 % pay rise after having a vote on the rise and rejecting it . So those people deployed overseas in war zones are getting a 3% pay rise ,while those in Canberra sitting on thier arses stuffing up the counrty and commitiing Australian troops to fight and put thier lives at risk are getting massive increases .
The same Govt critisized Quantas CEO for getting a massive pay rise when the company would not give decent payrises to it s employees.

Some thing is very wrong .

Kev.
I agree Kev. It seems to me (I am very ill informed in politics mind you) that the less you do, the more you get paid in society today. I know responsibility is big and decision making is huge but the amount that these decision makers get paid is rediculously out of hand. People slog there guts out for a country and get paid jack all in comparison. Most people work there back sides off and dont earn 90 grand a year let alone getting a 90,ooo pay rise in one hit. It always seems that the only person that doesnt miss out on a pay rise is the pollies. The rest of Australia gets rejected and the pollies get more.

And CEO's are a joke as well. No one person is worth 2 million a year. Especially when a company makes a loss or goes broke. Performance base is a thing of the past. . :evil:
Cozzy0011

Post by Cozzy0011 »

I'd like to see em do a real job, one where you dont get paid stuff all for working your arse off
SteveB

Post by SteveB »

The government has now just got bigger with the PM making more front benchers than ever before. All those promoted to get a big rise in their pay. What hope do we normal folk have now to gain any decent payrise when all of the focus is on remunerating pollies? It's certainly the growth industry in Australia, forget about INPEX bringing in jobs, attach yourself to a political party.
The gods do not deduct from man's allotted span the hours spent in fishing. ~Babylonian Proverb

Not only are they paid top dollar, they are part of the growing legion of zombie industries - people who either don't produce anything, or who produce things innefficiently and at great cost..

These include MPs (who produce mostly hot air and spin, at huge cost), lawyers (who produce litigation, at huge cost) and bankers/forex traders/speculators - who have caused the world such economic grief.

Not only do these groups not produce much, they often obstruct those who do actually make things.

Apologies to those who are involved in the above industries who happen to be doing something worthwhile.

How zombie industries got to earn so much is a mystery, but the costs of zombie industry is coming home to roost - just look at Europe and USA. The host is starting to stagger as the zombies suck the last drops of blood :lol:

All the bitching about pollies but we often forget who puts them there.

God knows what Griggs has done to get a pay rise. What has she done? She is as useless as a fart in a blizzard.
SteveB

Post by SteveB »

Rug, you are right in many ways. The public gets the government it deserves. There's not a lot of choice though. In days gone past the two major parties were polls apart, and you could understand what they stood for, in some ways. Now you can be assured of one thing-----they are not even trying to mask their singular ambition, and they openly taunt us with speeches of "belt tightening" whilst they disassociate themselves from obscene pay rises.

Whilst I'm no fan of the current Fed or Territory Government, I also don't hold much for the opposition. The silence regards the pay rise was deafening from them.

Is the fishing and hunting party still a viable option in the NT? Could AFANT run a political wing?
The gods do not deduct from man's allotted span the hours spent in fishing. ~Babylonian Proverb

We lack pollies with conviction that's for sure. This country badly needs another Paul Keating or Malcom Fraser. Both had the courage to follow there convictions and both took some heat from their respective parties.

Return to “General Polls”