Are 2500 US marines good or bad for the NT?

Put your poll about non-fishing topics here.

Is the posting of 2500 US marines good or bad for the NT?

Good
55%
Bad
45%

Total votes: 77

borisdog

Re: Are 2500 US marines good or bad for the NT?

Post by borisdog »

Nothing but trouble everywhere they go and just about impossible to get rid of once they have a toehold.

Yes they've helped us out in the past and we should be grateful for that but I DO NOT want them based in my country in a major city.

Good stuff I reackon. I don't see any of their bases OS being terrorist targets or anything like that. Unless they are in Afghanistan that is.

Yeah they run amoke, drive like loonies, drink too much and chase the chicks. So they will fit right in.

They get great TA, which they seem to spend where they land. And when they go, they will sell the spoils of their shopping trips to us locals... That is exampled by the people employed at Pine Gap

And maybe they wil import some flash boats, and cars and sell those locally too.

2500 Marines and some will have to bring spouses, and there ahs to be all that admin staff etc...which will increase pressure on houseing, which will increase the value of my place.

And with Impex on hold again (how likely is it looking now?) Its a gap filler till the next big project arrives.

I would have thought our army dudes would love them to be here, they got better toys than we do.

Just my 2 cents worth

Chris
steele

Post by steele »

cjgp wrote:
I would have thought our army dudes would love them to be here, they got better toys than we do.

Chris
Spot on mate...there always here anyway.
Big Fish Action

"If you think the Aussie AJ's cause trouble in town, wait il the yanks hit the place"

Speaking from years of personal experience I have always found the local AJ's to be the troublemakers in pubs etc (nothing personal), The Yanks are on a tight leash and have their non coms looking after their own. "Too much p..s - no worries we will walk them out"

The AJ's vs Aus Navy is the worst contest :bonk: :banghead:

Although I dont always agree with their politics, their snobbish behaviour as well another 1000 other things Australia was saved by the US in WW2. If it were not so we could all be speaking Japanesa.... :banghead:
We should not be too rash and push them away, the world is a dangerous place especially for a huge country, rich in resources and having a small population :|

"We are willing enough to praise freedom when she is safely tucked away in the past and cannot be a nuisance. In the present, amidst dangers whose outcome we cannot foresee, we get nervous about her, and admit censorship".

"Political Correctness is a doctrine, fostered by a delusional, illogical minority, and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end."

............We should not be too rash and push them away, the world is a dangerous place especially for a huge country, rich in resources and having a small population .............

Have to agree there.

Pearl Harbour, Korea and Vietnam have demonstrated over the years just where USA's biggest threats lie. In the western Pacific. Its our biggest threat as well apart from our biggest opportunities.

Because of what FF pointed out we either need a friend with a big stick or have a big stick ourselves.

I don't rule out having our own big stick but like to snuggle up to our friend's first.

We've got some strange neighbours.

Who knows when the Kiwis might invade!

ronje wrote:Who knows when the Kiwis might invade!
They have been invading for years :rofl: :rofl: If you ask a kiwi they will tell you that Australia is know as the West Island

Lats wrote:
ronje wrote:Who knows when the Kiwis might invade!
They have been invading for years :rofl: :rofl: If you ask a kiwi they will tell you that Australia is know as the West Island
Good thing most of em like to 'fush', otherwise we'd have to cut th' rope. :wink:

As long as they keep their bombs and trenches all in a row :wink: .

Be handy for us over here, we're only an hour away by jet, they can come and spent their 'hard earned' over here.

As for our continued gratitude for them saving us from the Japanese at the battle of the Coral Sea, that debt was well and truly repaid. The Coral Sea engagement only came about because the diggers had tied up the japs up on the Kokoda Trail so effectively they could not advance. Hence the plan to take Moresby by sea. When that failed and the japs lost a few of their carriers and that led to further losses down the track a bit, Midway was an example where they went in under gunned as a result of those losses.

Where the repayment came in my book when the diggers showed the yanks how sort the japs out when the task of clearing New Guinea came about. The yanks were reluctant to step out from behind the trees to engage, (one or two yank commanders lost their job because of this) the japs just dug in and stayed put waiting for reinforcements. The diggers had realised much earlier that whilst the trees did offer some level of protection for as long as the trees were between the two forces the business of killing could not be done in a proper and forceful manner. They took the decision to put the trees behind them and went to work on the problem. Losses increase but it got the job done (Lest we forget). the yanks didn't live that one down for a while but you never hear about that now.
sheps

Post by sheps »

Dick wrote:As long as they keep their bombs and trenches all in a row :wink: .

Be handy for us over here, we're only an hour away by jet, they can come and spent their 'hard earned' over here.

As for our continued gratitude for them saving us from the Japanese at the battle of the Coral Sea, that debt was well and truly repaid. The Coral Sea engagement only came about because the diggers had tied up the japs up on the Kokoda Trail so effectively they could not advance. Hence the plan to take Moresby by sea. When that failed and the japs lost a few of their carriers and that led to further losses down the track a bit, Midway was an example where they went in under gunned as a result of those losses.

Where the repayment came in my book when the diggers showed the yanks how sort the japs out when the task of clearing New Guinea came about. The yanks were reluctant to step out from behind the trees to engage, (one or two yank commanders lost their job because of this) the japs just dug in and stayed put waiting for reinforcements. The diggers had realised much earlier that whilst the trees did offer some level of protection for as long as the trees were between the two forces the business of killing could not be done in a proper and forceful manner. They took the decision to put the trees behind them and went to work on the problem. Losses increase but it got the job done (Lest we forget). the yanks didn't live that one down for a while but you never hear about that now.
and the diggers reward from macarther was to be called cowards.

Listened to an audio book called Kokoda, one trip to Marla, never really knew what me uncles went through till then. :shock: :cry: .Should be an integral part of the school curriculum in all Aussie schools. Missus got it from the library I think. Lest We Forget.

[quote="fishfanatic"]

Speaking from years of personal experience I have always found the local AJ's to be the troublemakers in pubs etc (nothing personal),

The local AJ don't cause that much trouble considering there are over 5000 AJ's in Darwin, 75% which are under 25 years old. Just because of the shear number of them they are always going to standout. AJs will always an easy target to the public just like police, footy players and so on.
doors off

Post by doors off »

I think it will be a good thing. They are always polite and friendly. Like any crowd - miners, tradies, shop assistants, you will always find a couple of morons, does not mean they are all like that, but hey - it is much easier to blame somebody associated with a uniform eg: footy players, defence, Marines etc. Why let the facts get in the way of a good rumour/story?

Maybe our standard of service will improve in our shops/restaurants?

I reckon 2500 Marines is better than 25,000 red stars.

They probably will only be out on the town for a few days each, most of the time they will probably be out training.

I wish that we would all kick up a stink about something that really does effect us all - the crazy cost of living and the rip off techniques of importers like Outboard importers and Car importers.

Doors Off
Save the Tuna - Eat a Dolphin!

Can only be a good thing for the N.T. and the country in my eyes
Problem with us Aussies is a lot of us seem to always need some one to take the p..s out of and these people are willing to come over and let you do that to them
as well as pour billions into our weaponry on hand,not to mention the economy
If anyone on here thinks that Australia could withstand an invasion from those above us, I'm sorry to inform you you are very disillusioned
We have some good gear but there is no substitute for numbers and they have plenty of them and I doubt we have that much ammo
If the locals are worried about our ladies out there then they better get on top of their game ,maybe they need a bit of competition
I think that like most human beings ,if you treat them right they will treat you right and when crunch time comes they'll probably have your back

Never a bad idea for Australia to hege its bets. I feel better about this now than I would under the evil tag team of Bush and Howard.

It is what it is and I hope everybody can kick a goal out of it.