Help make Kakadu administrators come to their senses

Re: Help make Kakadu administrators come to their senses

Yes it seems we are all equal in this country of ours BUT some are more equal than others.
KNP has always been a hornets nest of bludgers and incompetents in my opinion. Could this have anything to do with the fact it is administered from a Federal level? :idea:

"We are willing enough to praise freedom when she is safely tucked away in the past and cannot be a nuisance. In the present, amidst dangers whose outcome we cannot foresee, we get nervous about her, and admit censorship".

"Political Correctness is a doctrine, fostered by a delusional, illogical minority, and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end."
olfella

Post by olfella »

fishfanatic wrote:Yes it seems we are all equal in this country of ours BUT some are more equal than others.
KNP has always been a hornets nest of bludgers and incompetents in my opinion. Could this have anything to do with the fact it is administered from a Federal level? :idea:
No , its a disease that has infected all public service departments, state and federal. This disease is called 'duty of care' which for generations was harmless and we all carried out responibly and rationally. But when you put incompetent people in positions of power,people who would never be anything in the private sector, they need something to hide behind rather than be responsible for making a decision. That 'something' had to be all-powerfull which no one could question, if they did they were considered irresponsible, inconsiderate bastards........so 'duty of care ' has evolved into this diseased monster.

It appears Kakadu is perhaps a prime habitat and breeding ground for it .

When I speak to most of the women and odd BLOKE in charge out there you can feel the empowerment and attitude in their voice as they pass the buck back and forth. What you feel they are actually saying amongst all the spin is .................." You general members of the public are to stupid to drive on those roads because you ignore signs or can't comprehend their meaning, so we have to look after you. But because I have grovelled my way up the PS hierarchy by being a team player ( which means I hsave toed the line and supported my superiors) I am now in a far greater position of power than you. So I am not going to open that road until other people decide to open that road which covers each others ass, especially mine. When that happens we will have a team meeting to make the final decision so no one person is actually responsible for making that decision. AND , the beauty of all this is that no one can complain or be critical because we are all exercising a ...........DUTY OF CARE !!........ANd oh by the way , this is a National Park and we are a protected species..........hahahaha"

Does that explain it ??

Absolute GOLD olfella :applause: ...Would be farkin hilarious if it weren't so true to life. Did couple of mths with DCC a few yrs back, and you've nailed it in one. took away all the treated pine play equip, and replaced it with ally stuff..Had to put it in the sun, where it got too hot for the kids to touch :evil: ..Apparently, putting it in the shade of a tree was too big a risk..Some kid might use it to climb the tree and fall. :roll: When I suggested they simply remove any branch within reach, :idea: they took 4 mths of 'safety' committee meetings to veto the idea :banghead: Duty of Care, :bs: ....I left... The play gear is still in the sun in every park.

tojo

Post by tojo »

seems like you guys have made an impact. 2 mile hole is now open. Quote from the Kakadu website as of 15/6/12

"2 Mile Hole Billabong Open 4WD with snorkel only. Two water crossings currently at 0.75 m
and a section of road with washout. Please drive with care and
observe signage"
Manton mad

Post by Manton mad »

Must be the power of the forum next time theres a poop fight everyone just jump on here a have a good go of it an problem will get sorted ha ha :rofl:
so has anyone gone to 2 mile yet.
fishing is my addiction there is no cure
olfella

Post by olfella »

Yep, I have just gotten back from 2 Mile. Dear oh dear , that wash-out was a problem !!! ............really, it just proves how out of touch they are, you could easily drive a 2 wheek drive car over it and all they did was put some orange netting up to warn those idiots who supposibly ignore signs, job done,problem solved ..so why wasn't it done weeks ago ??

My mate and I got 13 keepers to 75cm
hobbsy

Post by hobbsy »

I LOVE olfella's post, we have forgotten to take responsibility for our actions. Sorry, I will re-phase that, government, "leagle-eagles", industry (due to insurance), insurance companies, society, idiots & other sanctions I have not mentioned, have forgotten.

"Duty of care" has become a "marine park" that people hide behind.

This all stemmed from the silly court cases that were won by silly individuals with "smart" lawyers. " I'm sorry judge, I did not realize that putting the drill bit up my nose to scratch my itch was dangerous, as the drill did not have a sticker saying it was dangerous to do so"..............5 Million will sort this out.

This has companies running scared as insurance companies want public liability to the point that our employer or other, has to treat everyone as an idiot to cover the very small amount of idiots in our community.

" A sober man's thoughts are a drunk mans words".........someone said these words to that effect.
Insanity is a good place to hide from reality!

It is not how long the fish is but how long you have fished & how long you've wished.......

Reviving this old thread with this ABC story about Kakadu ... https://www.abc.net.au/news/2021-02-22/ ... k/13125884

Gunlom Falls was recently in the news after a track was built that the traditional owners didn't want.

Kakadu's problems are legion.

*Tracks to fishing spots closed despite being negotiable
*Cane toads killed off much of the wildlife
*Tired infrastructure/lack of infrastructure
*Traditional owners unhappy with park management

Also weed infestations. With climate change, more severe fires.

Still plenty good barra being caught but ... fewer visitors not all bad news for fishos.
olfella

Post by olfella »

Wow, it’s been 9 years since I made this post.
I have now given up on Kakacan’t.
I’ve gone from fishing and camping at the billabongs along the Wildman and South Alligator rivers 2 out of 3 weekends from April to November to 1, yes 1 a year for the last 4 years
The gates would remain closed later and later each year..
I battled management and snuck into places for a few years thanks to a senior ranger who I had known for years and would turn a blind eye knowing how ridiculous it all had become.
But it all became too difficult.
For those readers who have not experienced the wonder of the billabongs between 2 Mile and 4 Mile Holes you have missed out on the most beautiful camping in the whole of KNP. The fishing and wildlife was extraordinary
My kids grew up on those billabongs and now talk about their great memories.
Last year my wife and I went to Red Lilly for 2 days the day after it opened. The road in was a neglected mess but strangely, as has always been the case for years, there was evidence of Heaps of traffic with well worn tracks around fallen trees and washouts.
So the traditional owners can shut the whole park down if they want .... I’ve totally lost interest in it

It needs to be taken off the feds and run by locals and the owners
Sting the feds to put it back in order and make sure the uranium mob are forced to clean up their mess

Plenty of good Kakadu fish on this page by a local guide, shows it is OK when you are fishing Kakadu by boat, not so good if you are relying on 4WD tracks being opened to visit the billabongs and Pococks Beach ... https://www.facebook.com/Vision-Sportfi ... 621454816/
jumpin joel

Post by jumpin joel »

seano wrote: Wed Jun 06, 2012 3:53 pm I bet the rangers are catching a few bong fish
Been known as kakadont for that reason since I slithered up here in '07