Would you share your $10k fish with your deckie?

Yes
82%
No
18%

Total votes: 22

Re: Would you share your $10k fish with your deckie?

50/50, that's fair and saves resentments/arguements

Mitcho

Post by Mitcho »

Would hate to have the angler take all the cash if it wasn't yourself ?? !! So 50/50 in my boat then everybody's wins
got-none

Post by got-none »

There's unwritten rules when fishing

Never leave a fisho in distress if his boat breaks down etc
Always chip in if a bloke takes you out in his boat
Share in the glory of the trip - this includes if a bloke gets 10 fish and someone else gets none the phrase "we got 10 fish" is the correct term because when you go out with others you are a team
If a bloke wins ten grand for a Barra then he didn't because you both won 5

A good sport knows the rules and no discussion is needed of the unwritten rules
if you can't abide by these rules then karma will just bite you

Just my two cents
"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid" -Albert Einstein-
tubbs

Post by tubbs »

^ what Got-none said
Fishing is supposed to be about relaxing and spending time with your mates. The $$ are a bonus. I would find it hard not to share

Hard to believe it's even a question that needs asking, you'd have to be a twat to think it's not 50/50 from the get go
sarrge

Post by sarrge »

tubbs wrote:^ what Got-none said
Fishing is supposed to be about relaxing and spending time with your mates. The $$ are a bonus. I would find it hard not to share
This.

And this.....
itsinmeblood wrote:Hard to believe it's even a question that needs asking, you'd have to be a twat to think it's not 50/50 from the get go
It comes down to being a decent human being.

If you have to think about it, how would you feel if the shoe was on the other foot - your boat and someone else caught it - or someone else's boat........
I used to have a handle on life.......then it broke.
Kaos364

Post by Kaos364 »

No worries lads, guess my previous comment makes me a 'twat' and 'not a decent human being'... Some people love to judge others on how their opinions align with their own...

End of the day, the split really doesn't matter, you both started with $0 balance and improved from there, plus you caught a barra, so everyone is in front... :)
sarrge

Post by sarrge »

Just my opinion mate - each to their own.
I used to have a handle on life.......then it broke.
Kaos364

Post by Kaos364 »

True... Not taking offence, everyone has their own opinion.

I pulled my figures out randomly, we did discuss it in a mates boat once with 3 of us, and we did agree that the lions share would go to the bloke who caught it... The leftovers would be split between the others lol...

I believe there have been at least 2 or 3 tagged barra caught by FFF members so far? It would be very interesting to hear from them the arrangements they made?

Not interested in past cases if someone has been disappointed. This topic will help people avoid future situations.

Smart to clarify the share before fishing in case the $1m jobby shows up.

Nothing wrong with an uneven split if agreed beforehand.

50/50 with my deckie however the funds are only to be used for future fishing adventures...i.e Fuel, Beer, Fuel, Beer, Fuel, Beer. :)

It all good to say 50/50 or shared evenly amongst everyone on the boat. Im sure a lot friendships have been lost for a lot less then half a million dollars or even 5k. If they don't pay up what are you going to do about it.

Can't even get some deckies to chip in for expenses let alone split the prize with you.

Greed is an evil thing.

Everyone signs an agreement to share before fishing with me :D :D :D

Post by wazdog »

I feel sorry for the young lad that caught the first tagged fish at the Daly crossing. He wasn't registered so apparently a relative was and claimed the lot. What's your opinion on this one boys.
Pretty cruel world!!!
AJay

Post by AJay »

I reckon if i caught it in my boat id keep the lot but if i caught it in a mates boat id go 50/50 for sure. Owner of the boat has made the biggest investment to get you there.