Should your deckie pay a fair share of all costs involved?

should you wear all of the costs involved?
2%
should the deckie pay 50% of all costs?
69%
should the deckie just pay 50% of fuel?
22%
should the deckie just jump on fish all day and jump off leaving all the work to you
2%
Should the deckie pay all costs, Gourmet meals and an endless supply of your drink of choice?
5%

Total votes: 59

Simmo83

Re: Should your deckie pay a fair share of all costs involve

Post by Simmo83 »

I've been pretty lucky with deckies, especially around comps as well when there is a huge cost involved the guys I fish with will ask in advance what they can bring or purchase that I may be lacking to save me a few $$$. If I'm billfishing then you pay your share of fuel, bring your own food and drinks, meet me at my house, clean the boat during the day and back at home, keep me hydrated and try and be 1 step ahead of me as I'm doing my best to get you a fish you won't forget.

Bottom bashing, share of fuel and food and drinks, if we catch nothing I will take less of your cash as an apology (I will go broke in Darwin) Iced coffee is always welcome first thing as well.

Some days I'm exploring so there will be no cost to you but settle in for a boring day or a really drunk one.

If it's your first trip out, just watch what I do, I'm regimented in my processes so there will be no surprises on how I operate next time, second trip there is no excuses!

I think those who deckie who have owned boats understand the requirements but that's not always the case. Leaving your wallet at home is never an excuse, especially in W.A where we had fishing licences which helped. if you don't put up some cash or don't have beer, you're not coming back!

Bruce Simpson
197 Pioneer Sportfish - 175hp Honda.
Ex Sandgroper from Karratha
Member of KBGFC and DGFC.

I always chip in for fuel if ime deckie and generally try to help out.
When I go out in my boat I usually just cover the fuel costs of my boat or I get my mate just to throw in a few bob, as my mate usually tows with his ute and buys the ice.
If it is just a harbour trip i only throw 20 bucks in the tank.Havent done any big trips yet but not much will change, we will just split what fuel we use in both car and boat.

i take quite a few people out, and usually catch quite a few fish
depending on where we are going, which boat we are going in and how long we are going for it is different

but usually I give a figure up front to contribute, and I take care of everything except drinks and fishing gear/tackle, deckies bring there own.

I also do a lot of specific types of fishing and have gear, mainly lures that do well depending on what we are chasing and fishing for, i have no problem with lending gear or lures
but if it is broken or lost I expect it to be replaced, after all, lures arent cheap, a few hooks or sinkers i dont usually worry about I have not really had too much of a problem, but i'm with John
it costs a fair bit to look after a boat, and people usually get to have a great experience out fishing, however there are times that are not as good as others
but that doesn't mean it cost you any less, so people should share the costs.

as was mentioned, Same with on the boat, cleaning up, cleaning fish, filleting etc, I expect people to share and help out, including unpacking and cleaning the boat afterwards,
if you want a charter where its all done for you, go and pay for one.

if its a short quick trip in the harbour, or not too far away don't usually worry about it, but for the longer trips we share.

Most people ask in advance and know before you go, if I get excuses after and they don't contribute, they don't come again, simple

When I go out with others its the same, always make sure I contribute my fair share.

sarrge

Post by sarrge »

Chipping in towards petrol, ice and bait is all i expect - most people are pretty good or they don't go again. I do the same on someone else's rig. If i do forget the wallet or don't have enough cash, i make sure that i over pay the next time or catch up later and pay.

(When i was in Adelaide with the ski boat I had a t-shirt that had a picture of an empty fuel gauge on the front and 'boats run on petrol, not thanks' written across the back).
I used to have a handle on life.......then it broke.
fishhunter81

Post by fishhunter81 »

If it's the usual suspects coming aboard then I employ the same system as Balou. I do make a point of clarifying the costs for all involved and getting squared away before we launch, this way you can focus on the fishing and avoid any of the 'I don't have cash on me' or 'I forgot' scenarios at the end of the trip.

For the trips where I take out clients or interstate visitors out I'll just take the hit.

I don't think getting your deckies to contribute to insurance, maintenance etc is legitimate, they're the costs you can expect to absorb independently when you purchase a boat, however, the 'you break/lose-you buy' policy applies.

I love deepblacks item no.5 too, can also be applied to poor weather, failing anchorwinch/equipment, esky water soaked the lunch, the beer's a bit warm etc. Attitudes are contagious so make it a positive one.

1. Be on time
2. Be on time
3. Genuine offer to help with cleaning/costs/food

I used to go on a lot of diving charters in NSW and there was always someone who lobbed up late and the whole boat had to wait for them.
Then I found one bloke who would leave exactly on time everytime. It was fantastic. Often people would be walking down the jetty as we pulled out yelling ‘wait’. He yelled back ‘youre late, no waiting’
There are a lot of people here and down south who I wish would read the comments re paying. Maybe they think im rich? I know one bloke who was on big $ - he sold his boat because it cost too much – he then decided to come with me and then whinge because I charged him
Never again!
Much easier for me to go alone and then you know what to expect. That’s unless you have a beautiful chef who serves you drinks all day :twisted:
Anon

Post by Anon »

John and I employ the same attitude when it comes to deckie duties. Split the cost of the trip etc and work it out between you.

The whole pick me up thing gives me the s...ts alot of the time as it's basically stating I won't help with cleaning etc. It's always out of the way and in a rabbit Warren suburb....

Deckie should not need to be asked to put in cash. I often refused cash on smaller trips as we didn't use much fuel. Couple of members on here I rarely took cash off and regularly fished with. They were good company and good help. What goes around comes around in my eyes.

Pay for nothing, offer nothing, get picked up and dropped off and don't help clean then you get nothing and no offer to come back out again.
deepblack

Post by deepblack »

Yes. For the love of god , I forgot this one. Be on time for f#*/s sake. Although I will admit I slept in a couple of times last year on 4 o'clock starts, extremely embarrassed. :banghead: Easiest way to do the on time thing is an agreed time to message each other that you are up and on the ball. At five minutes after this time give them a call. If they don't answer give them another in another 5 minutes and then a 3rd at another 5 minutes after that they have a 15 minute window at the agreed meeting point and then they get left behind. Yes it's hard but there are blokes that will always be a half hour late if you let them.
North Shore Reel Service 0400494401.

What about a skipper that keeps his decky waiting at the ramp for an hour on the way to FTB john.
deepblack

Post by deepblack »

Thems the breaks sometimes mate, Skippers prerogative eh? (See the arse covering there for the next time I sleep in? :angel: ) How's Banana bender land treating you mate?
North Shore Reel Service 0400494401.

Any deckie that rocks up more then 10 min late they will never get a follow up trip with me. It's my pet hate. :evil: :evil:

What about a deckie that rocks up half an hour to an hour early. My boss is friggin bad for it. He often calls me from outside my joint telling to wake up. Although I rather they are early then late but I hate stuffing up my morning routines before a fishing trip.

Yeah agree balou, sometimes early is just as bad as late
I like to make sure I have everything organised and be sipping a coffee checking the list when they arrive.

Then go if they are 10 min late.....

Don't worry john, I've been woken up before too, not alone there...lol

deepblack wrote:Thems the breaks sometimes mate, Skippers prerogative eh? (See the arse covering there for the next time I sleep in? :angel: ) How's Banana bender land treating you mate?
Good thanks john we have moved into a pretty flash house and just the normal busy at work thing good job though very rewarding to see somthing this big coming along at my hand. No fishing yet just had a full refurb done on the trailer 5 k but as new now for another 10 or more years. I will be into it soon enough, I am used to not fishing this time of year anyway.

Easiest way to do the on time thing is an agreed time to message each other that you are up and on the ball.
Good idea, it is awful to sleep in, and just as bad to be left waiting.

balou, too funny re boss half an hour early, people have been killed for less.

Rocking up two hours early for social events is also bad ...