Should NT boaters have a .05 DUI limit?

Yes
35%
No
65%

Total votes: 129

Re: Should NT boaters have a .05 DUI limit?

I have mentioned this before but there is bugger all money in regos but a shite load in stamp duties to transfer it if sold or brought from interstate.

So here is Grumpy on his House Boat parked up the Adelaide or on the South for a week or two at a time and you think he is not having a beer :fu:

There's 15 people on here that clearly don't understand the question ...... :roll:

slug wrote:There's 15 people on here that clearly don't understand the question ...... :roll:
NO to .05
fishfanatic wrote: rego well that is just a revenue thing..as if it's not expensive enough to live up here now!!!! .
Tas is less than $100/tr = 2/week. well worth it i say
Walkabout

Post by Walkabout »

The answer is simply NO!

The problem is that so many of you have no common sense. This is why you agree with this law reform. You need police because your idiots and cant control your own actions. I have grown up in the Territory. I bought my first 12 foot tinny at 17 and have fished almost every moment I wasn't working and many times that I should have across the Top End. In these 25 years of boating I don't remember a single time when I thought to myself that we needed to have DUI on the water. I have never had a near miss due to alcohol. The Beer can regatta has gone on without a single injury in its history. The best ramp rage has always been the new boat owner having a verbal with his misses while she tries to back the trailer for the first time or drive the boat on. The Barra Nationals have blokes at the wheel that are still over the limit from the night before! If it's not broke don't fix it. Let the cops use the time to catch theft and damage at ramps, stolen property from homes or the anti social behaviour in our neighbourhoods.

If you see a drunk bloke get out of his boat and get into his car call the cops if you fear he will injure someone.

Equally move back to where you can live in happiness knowing the cops will slap you every time your too stupid to know your being a f**king D**khead
littlemack3

Post by littlemack3 »

fishfanatic wrote: rego well that is just a revenue thing..as if it's not expensive enough to live up here now!!!! .
Tas is less than $100/tr = 2/week. well worth it i say[/quote]

What is the point of it nomad wether it be $5 a year or $100 a year where is the money going and what for you could bet your last buck it won't be back to the boating community and once that's bought in then what ? Then will be licencing waste of time dead beats will be dead beats regardless of introducing a law and it's not them who will suffer it will be the guys that do the right thing always is, and yes I've had to pay regos when I got transferred for work over the gulf for 2 years cost me $98 a year for boat same again for trailer then had to do boat licence for me and wife cause she could no longer legally sit there and idle boat why I go park the car so there another $500 and pointless excersise as you weren't going to fail anyway ofcourse didn't stop there then had to do jetski licence another $250 each oh and ofcourse rego on that to another $100 and same for trailer and let's not forget 2 cars and then contract ends and move back here well none of the above are valid anymore so that's money just thrown away for what didn't achieve anything didn't help me in anyway didn't inprove infurstructure .

So my thought no it not worth it the best idea that has be thrown around if wanting boats identifiable is to use the numbers of registered trailer on the boat and all it cost is $10 for some stickers or boat names 90% of us up here have Epirbs wich is compulsory to have registerd with amsa now why not just add name the boat and have that put on boat but hey just one blokes opinion at the end of the day people keep pushing for this there going to be really disapointed the nt won't devolp it's own set of regs they will just review other states and copy and paste wich other one they see fits the bill not good news at all any way Im out before end up never ending post :cheers:
CharFin

Post by CharFin »

Seems like a lot of time, effort and money to fix a problem that the data suggests is not really there. If the law is in place I'm not sure it would stop a bunch of sauced up blokes heading offshore in a remote area in a 12 ft tinny with no safety gear. I would be interested to know in how many of the incidents .05 was the issue. Like all these proposed new rules I can never see the link between the problem and how the rule addresses the problem and how it will result in an actual improved outcome. Staying under .05 hasnt been and wouldn't be a problem for me as I'm usually focussed on the 100 other more important factors to keep the people and kids on my boat safe.

Walkabout are you p...ed or on drugs or both? If you can read the comments on this thread the vast majority DO NOT want these law reforms as you call them. So why are you calling us idiots who cant control our own actions. I seems you are the one who cannot control himself?? :bonk: :fu: :) I think we are on the same side but you're shooting at friendlies!! :) :wink:
Walkabout wrote:The answer is simply NO!

The problem is that so many of you have no common sense. This is why you agree with this law reform. You need police because your idiots and cant control your own actions. I have grown up in the Territory. I bought my first 12 foot tinny at 17 and have fished almost every moment I wasn't working and many times that I should have across the Top End. In these 25 years of boating I don't remember a single time when I thought to myself that we needed to have DUI on the water. I have never had a near miss due to alcohol. The Beer can regatta has gone on without a single injury in its history. The best ramp rage has always been the new boat owner having a verbal with his misses while she tries to back the trailer for the first time or drive the boat on. The Barra Nationals have blokes at the wheel that are still over the limit from the night before! If it's not broke don't fix it. Let the cops use the time to catch theft and damage at ramps, stolen property from homes or the anti social behaviour in our neighbourhoods.

If you see a drunk bloke get out of his boat and get into his car call the cops if you fear he will injure someone.

Equally move back to where you can live in happiness knowing the cops will slap you every time your too stupid to know your being a f**king D**khead

"We are willing enough to praise freedom when she is safely tucked away in the past and cannot be a nuisance. In the present, amidst dangers whose outcome we cannot foresee, we get nervous about her, and admit censorship".

"Political Correctness is a doctrine, fostered by a delusional, illogical minority, and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end."

fishfanatic wrote:Walkabout are you p...ed or on drugs or both? If you can read the comments on this thread the vast majority DO NOT want these law reforms as you call them. So why are you calling us idiots who cant control our own actions. I seems you are the one who cannot control himself?? :bonk: :fu: :) I think we are on the same side but you're shooting at friendlies!! :) :wink:
Walkabout wrote:The answer is simply NO!

I actually thought Walkabout nailed it beautifully .... :mrgreen:

I particularly agree with this bit -
Walkabout wrote:In these 25 years of boating I don't remember a single time when I thought to myself that we needed to have DUI on the water. I have never had a near miss due to alcohol.
but for mine it's 37 years without an incident or witnessing even a near miss incident - and I can testify that my crew don't miss out on the :drinking2: :drinking3: :drinking5: when the boat hits the water ...

Royal Life Saving National Drowning Report 2014

266 people drown from 1st July - 30th June 2014

43 were using watercraft

87 had drugs or alcohol in their system (40 and 47)

Over half were between the ages of 18 and 54

81% were male

The NT continues to record the highest rate of drowning in Australia at 5.36/100,000, next was Tassie at 1.95 (thank fock for stingers or you'd all be dead :wink: )
craig.g

Post by craig.g »

Just take a mate with no drivers licence, nothing to lose!

Any of those NT drownings have anything to do with recreational boats?

i often wonder if anyone ever listens to or reads the news judging by some of the comments. :o
tristan.sloan

Post by tristan.sloan »

me and you both Nomad
littlemack3

Post by littlemack3 »

So of the 43 watercraft deaths how many were actually fisherman ? Skiing or skylarking and not croc related of the 87 drug and alcohol deaths how many were actually Australian and not backpackers and all would either be in waterholes or back yard pools so how are those stats relevant to the recreational fisho ?