Should NT boaters have a .05 DUI limit?

Yes
35%
No
65%

Total votes: 129

Re: Should NT boaters have a .05 DUI limit?

Nope, won't solve dick heads being dick heads

Might be stupid question as never lived outside the territory.
If you get done DUI on the water does that mean you automatically loose your license on land.

I do overnighter so everyone on board can have afew beers during the day and some more at night. The next day someone always pulls up (usually the skipper) to drive home.

Would not give a poo if they breath tested me at the ramp as I know I will under . If they tested 50 km offshore , mouth of shady or the south I can pretty much guarantee I will be over and I get done DUI.

Police the drunk wankas at the ramp and leave the water way for us territorian who loves a beer ( or 24) while fishing.

balou wrote:Might be stupid question as never lived outside the territory.
If you get done DUI on the water does that mean you automatically loose your license on land.

I do overnighter so everyone on board can have afew beers during the day and some more at night. The next day someone always pulls up (usually the skipper) to drive home.

Would not give a poo if they breath tested me at the ramp as I know I will under . If they tested 50 km offshore , mouth of shady or the south I can pretty much guarantee I will be over and I get done DUI.

Police the drunk wankas at the ramp and leave the water way for us territorian who loves a beer ( or 24) while fishing.

To answer your question...

Yes, licenses are linked in other states...Get caught drinking on boat license, you lose car license...!

I dont see doing an overnighter in a boat as any different to going camping in a ute.....

You drive to where your going under the limit....
Get p...ed once the vehicle or boat is off and secured...
Sleep in either boat or back of ute....
Drive home next day under the limit...

Your allowed to sleep/camp drunk in your car as long as you dont operate it..why not boat??

????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

The road doesn't get 15 foot bumps in it when the wind blows up Hemi LOL
bring_it_on

Post by bring_it_on »

:cheers: Phfft…. :drinking5: :drinking5:
Fish Tank

Post by Fish Tank »

Hemi wrote:I dont see doing an overnighter in a boat as any different to going camping in a ute.....

Your allowed to sleep/camp drunk in your car as long as you dont operate it..why not boat??

No your not!!! Plenty of people have been done DUI sleeping in their car/ute.

Fish Tank wrote:
Hemi wrote:I dont see doing an overnighter in a boat as any different to going camping in a ute.....

No your not!!! Plenty of people have been done DUI sleeping in their car/ute.
CORRECT.........if you sleep in your car when you are over the limit and you have said car keys on you, technically you can be done!

FFS...!!

Im talking about proper camping in your ute... I'm not saying passed out at the wheel.

My understanding of the law re sleeping in your car drunk (nsw anyway) was if the key is in the ignition and you are asleep in the back, or if you are asleep in the drivers seat and have the key in on you they you could be done.

Never seen police wake someone up at a camp site and book a camper sleeping in his swag in his ute for drink driving..
Never seen police go into a caravan park and book the thousands of motor home owners who fall asleep drunk every night....

If they bring in under .05 for boats, it's going to suck for all those people who live in their yachts...
I'd love to see police book all those fat cat pollies who own luxury yachts and go and anchor at bare sand island every year and get poop faced...

Or are they just going to target the fisho..???

Really need NT Police to come out and clearly state how they would realistically expect it to work. Until they do that... It's all just pissing in the wind....!
nezzy

Post by nezzy »

After seeing the way some blokes were acting in their boat while on the drink at the mouth of Sampan on Sunday its inevitable that something like this was going to happen

Ive seen a lot of p...ed dickheads on the water up here. I think it has a lot to do with ramp rage as well but thats another story.
There is already an international law out there to make people responsible.

I like to have a drink or two when I pull up at night and if they make it like the driving laws where the driver can get busted even if he isn’t driving, that will cause problems.
I, like everyone else, have seen people p...ed off their minds, pull up at the ramp and drive home. That’s the things that scares me more than drunks on the water.
So the govt wants an evidence based solution – ie wait until people get killed by drunks on the water. That’s not the way to go.

I would have thought that the cops already have the power to test you if you are driving a boat like an idiot.

We want all of the things that go with ‘down south’ like high wages etc but don’t want the things that impinge on the so called NT way of life.
It’s a matter of time til we come into line with the other states.You cant have it both ways.

Re regos – all for it as long as our fees go directly into things that we need like ramps and better facilities etc. In Tassie, you can nominate where you want your fees spent and its great – user pays.

Re licences – I used to be all for it but now I don’t know. There are still a lot of people with drivers licences who haven’t got a clue. There are also a lot of people with boat drivers licences who also don’t have a clue. My argument was that at some stage, when you sit for a licence, you have to know the rules which is a good thing in my book.
madmortimer

Post by madmortimer »

nomad wrote:Ive seen a lot of p...ed dickheads on the water up here. I think it has a lot to do with ramp rage as well but thats another story.
There is already an international law out there to make people responsible.

I like to have a drink or two when I pull up at night and if they make it like the driving laws where the driver can get busted even if he isn’t driving, that will cause problems.
I, like everyone else, have seen people p...ed off their minds, pull up at the ramp and drive home. That’s the things that scares me more than drunks on the water.
So the govt wants an evidence based solution – ie wait until people get killed by drunks on the water. That’s not the way to go.

I would have thought that the cops already have the power to test you if you are driving a boat like an idiot.

We want all of the things that go with ‘down south’ like high wages etc but don’t want the things that impinge on the so called NT way of life.
It’s a matter of time til we come into line with the other states.You cant have it both ways.

Re regos – all for it as long as our fees go directly into things that we need like ramps and better facilities etc. In Tassie, you can nominate where you want your fees spent and its great – user pays.

Re licences – I used to be all for it but now I don’t know. There are still a lot of people with drivers licences who haven’t got a clue. There are also a lot of people with boat drivers licences who also don’t have a clue. My argument was that at some stage, when you sit for a licence, you have to know the rules which is a good thing in my book.
I've sat for a boat licence in Victoria after they introduced them and they are a joke, you are babied through it by an instructor aiming for 100% pass rates. No one fails a boating test, I have never seen one fail or heard of it. They are solely a revenue raising exercise. If they are not done properly they are a waste of time. And that is what happens elsewhere, I cannot see why the NT would be different.

Yes for all those who say it could be a good thing, wait until you get done having a drink in your anchored boat WITH the key in the ignition (lets face it who removes the key from a boat ignition when they drink on board?) and you end up losing your car license and/or your livelihood because of it. As Littlemack said in his rather long rant Be aware that 0.05 is only three stubbies. There would not be too many fishos up here who would have one or two and then stop drinking. Be careful what you wish for. And the licensing and rego well that is just a revenue thing..as if it's not expensive enough to live up here now!!!! On the water is the only reasonably free area for us fishos.

"We are willing enough to praise freedom when she is safely tucked away in the past and cannot be a nuisance. In the present, amidst dangers whose outcome we cannot foresee, we get nervous about her, and admit censorship".

"Political Correctness is a doctrine, fostered by a delusional, illogical minority, and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end."