Is the 'Territorian way' good or bad?

Which direction should Top End fishing go?

Big, fast, colourful boats with crews on the turps
77%
Small, slow, drab boats with sober crews
23%

Total votes: 87

Re: Is the 'Territorian way' good or bad?

Matt,
Why can't we have big fast colourful boats with sober crews or Small, slow, drab boats with crew on the turps or anything other combo? :rofl:

I know people see it as an infringement of their rights so why not jack up against all of the other charges like vehicle regos or driving licences, firearms licences and regos, rates etc etc?

Basically because if we don’t fall into line with every other state, then the feds will have a good case to withhold funding. We can't survive without federal funding.
Can you imagine any state/territory trying to survive without federal $$?

Sure we would all love to get the facilities we’ve been enjoying for years for nicks but it can't continue.
I just hope the govt tells us exactly what the fees/charges will be for. But that’s not going to happen. it's a tax pure and simple.

We can blow up as hard as we like, but it's coming for sure.

Chronic

Post by Chronic »

This will open the flood-gates to every regulation and fee possible,

We must protest like mad to stop it.
Go the live-baiters!

Beer will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no beer...

Matt Flynn wrote:The perceived "Territorian way" of fishing is under attack.

Is it good to have big, fast, colourful boats, and crews on the turps?

Or should we have small, slow, drab boats and sober crews?
Bet you're kacking yourself how this ones gone Matt :D

You can pull your tongue out from between your teeth now :lol: :lol: :lol:
rhookie

Post by rhookie »

nomad wrote:Matt,
Why can't we have big fast colourful boats with sober crews or Small, slow, drab boats with crew on the turps or anything other combo? :rofl:

I know people see it as an infringement of their rights so why not jack up against all of the other charges like vehicle regos or driving licences, firearms licences and regos, rates etc etc?

Basically because if we don’t fall into line with every other state, then the feds will have a good case to withhold funding. We can't survive without federal funding.
Can you imagine any state/territory trying to survive without federal $$?

Sure we would all love to get the facilities we’ve been enjoying for years for nicks but it can't continue.
I just hope the govt tells us exactly what the fees/charges will be for. But that’s not going to happen. it's a tax pure and simple.

We can blow up as hard as we like, but it's coming for sure.
Wait for the stones being thrown at ya mate, plus the lovely things people will say on here about you now.
I hope the government doesnt bring it in, but they will.
I believe that people should be able to enjoy themselves, its their money they are spending to make them happy, but the government want to be able to keep things in line.
Its not fair, like the speed limit thing and every other law implemented while i was up there.
But for funding, they have to follow the straight and narrow.
Like i said before, if it was enforced only a tad more this may have been diverted to something else, like poachers.
I know the regular worthy contributors will chime in with something intelligent to say, but sit back and take a good look at what d!ckheads have done to it in other states.
Heavy police presence at fishing comps, fisheries at every ramp during comps, random stops at ramps.
I know the inteligent people will say, "stupid interstaters" good on ya's for it, but this is whats coming if it keeps being played they way your playing.
Get used to random breatho's, fisheries asking for a look at your catch, watching your speeds approaching ramps and other boats.
I dont like it, but if your not careful its going to be in place up there sooner rather than later..........
Are they still doing huge police recruit drives up there?????
Some will be destined to be water rats.

Enjoy
Admit nothing, Deny everything!
bushie

Post by bushie »

Todays paper reports 'speedboat crash in sydney injures 6' lucky they have licences/tickets/breatho....

My new esky will hold 2 cold cartons & my new stainless prop should see 80kmh from the GS now! :P

AND... once again, Matt, you started it!!!

You need an esky to hold 2 cartons because your only drinking half beers.

I have a friend in Germany and I am told the regulation of everything over there is frightening.

Gotta stop that rot from coming here, every thin bureaucratic wedge-end must be hacked off before it finds purchase.
bushie

Post by bushie »

dodgyone wrote:You need an esky to hold 2 cartons because your only drinking half beers.
:evil: :fubird:

Matt Flynn wrote:I have a friend in Germany and I am told the regulation of everything over there is frightening.

Gotta stop that rot from coming here, every thin bureaucratic wedge-end must be hacked off before it finds purchase.
Just don't mention the War :lol:
Chronic

Post by Chronic »

WE MUST PROTEST!!! We can block the highway at peak-hour in the morning,

just like the cops did for the detention centre mob... :banghead:

I reckon 200 cars and boats should get the media involved :fu:
Go the live-baiters!

Beer will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no beer...

Bit puzzled about why u fellas get so upset about regulations.

" Northern Territory" is the territory to the north of what? Whose territory?

South Australia's of course!! If it was the Northern Territory of Australia it would be called " Northern Australia" like SA. And we all know what SA is full of. Poms!!!

Its where all the homeless Poms went after the war.

Didn't the NT get self-government about the same time as PNG?

From memory, neither the NT nor PNG wanted it unless there were long term promises that they wouldn't have to fend for themselves financially in this big bad worlld.

Poms are the best regulators in the world. Look how the british empire expanded so successfully.

With so many Poms living in such a small island (60 million or so) Gt Britain had to be regulated to death. Poms love regulation as do other europeans!

Its only a natural progression that u fellas would embrace regulation. Its in the SA Pommie blood that flows thru ya veins.

Its a wonder that u fellas aren't calling for susidised ancestral travel for visits back to the old dart!

regards
Anonymous

Nice try at stirring the pot it obvious that's what you're doing. Funny that your QLD blood is no less English than any South Australian/Territorian. Only difference is the ones who chose to live in SA were free settlers unlike your convict heritage.

Don't recall that " free settler" poms went to SA.

Think that they were predominately 20 pound poms (assisted passage) after the war who then spent most of their time whinging. I guess the "hand-out" socialist mentality was alive and well.

But I'm not deniigrating all whinging poms from SA. There are some good ones around.

They're the ones who went back to UK.

Anyway, that's not the issue here.

Its the ones who shifted north who are determined to regulate the NT to death.

I haven't seen any fed pollies whose campaign strategies centre around increasing regulation for the NT. And its not a subject on everyones lips outside the NT. Its simply not an issue outside the NT.

Financially supporting the NT isn't the issue either. All household haveto pay an electricty account or rates. Just sigh and pay up hoping the council or electricity board will support itself one day.

Regulation is a home-grown issue and nothing to do with anybody else wanting it.

regards
Anon again

Australia is what it is today because of the simple fact we needed migrants to develop and expand. What better place to draw migrants from than England seeing our history began as a British Colony? To look down upon these skilled and non-skilled migrants because they were "20 pound poms" is pretty insulting. Did you expect the wealthy upper-class bigwigs would pack up their homes and lives in Green Park to pay their own way to the great unknown? Come off it mate. Australia is made up of people from all walks of life and we all need to be proud of our identity.

Territorians also have a right to be proud of their identity and to be able to fight to keep it.

Your assumptions that "whinging poms" are running the Territory are nothing more than that. Just your opinion not backed up by any meaningful facts. You even admit that by saying you "don't recall free settler poms went to S.A." Did you think S.A. was founded after WWII rather than 1836?

Anyway Ronje we are privileged to have you on this site giving us nautical and history lessons. Keep up the good work.

I surrender!!!

Better back out before somebody asks me about what comes from Queensland. ( u know the land where q....s live).

Met a "fellow" (?) at the the Gay Mardi Gras in Sydney a few years ago. He was dressed as Arch-Bishop Hollingworth whose activities (or lack of them) were topical at the time. When I replied to him that I came from Queensland he responded with " Lucky you".

Anyway, its all a bit of tongue in cheek stuff. There are too many bad things happening in the world to be serious about everything.

I didn't vote in yr poll.

regards
Anon