How many barra have you caught?

None
1%
Fewer than 10
8%
Fewer than 50
15%
Fewer than 200
20%
Fewer than 500
15%
Fewer than 1000
20%
Fewer than 5000
14%
I'm a barra god, more than 5000
6%

Total votes: 79

Re: How many barra have you caught?

Bit hard to calculate that, had some good sessions over the years, only 4 over the metre mark , lots of nearlys, heaps of rats, kids are catching up fast though I reckon, lol

Mine would be a guess as well. Probably around the 100 mark including rats etc.
joesgotone

Post by joesgotone »

My best is over 100 fish in 1 night and morning on the Mary. Most were 50 plus up to about 75 cm and they were still hitting lures when the sun came up. Shame we had to leave the best fishing session I ever had while they were still biting. Was on a run of over 20 in consecutive casts with the sun up but stopped counting as it annoyed my mate and especially the tourist next to us who had 0

Joe
how many is enough lures, rods and reels. Is there a magic number, considering you usually only catch 1 fish on a single lure on the one rod and reel your casting with.

Sounds like a wicked trip Joe, bet the bloke in the other boat was spewing!!!

Bugger me, spent the last half an hour wondering and watching ninja turtles on TV (mostly watching). I do keep records of meteries - 234 to date all catalogued. I also keep records of lake barras, that total comes to 393 since 2006. So maybe 5 river/salty fish for every pond fish caught since 1990. Be 2,000 I reckon. Give or take hundreds?????????????
joesgotone

Post by joesgotone »

theodosius wrote:Sounds like a wicked trip Joe, bet the bloke in the other boat was spewing!!!
Never mentioned a boat.

Joe
how many is enough lures, rods and reels. Is there a magic number, considering you usually only catch 1 fish on a single lure on the one rod and reel your casting with.

joesgotone wrote:
theodosius wrote:Sounds like a wicked trip Joe, bet the bloke in the other boat was spewing!!!
Never mentioned a boat.

Joe
Amazing LB session then!

Dropped a near Metery at EP this morning ,
On the second cast and not a single touch
for the rest of the session, :banghead:
I'd be better keeping a record of the ones
I lose :?
I Wish

Post by I Wish »

Was that at your usual spot?

:lipsrsealed: :naughty: :roll:
I Wish

Post by I Wish »

Hmm never tried that place on the high outgoing. Might have to give it a try one morning.

Honestly, I wouldn't know.
And it is so long since the last one...

On the other hand, I still remember some of the lures I used as a kid...
:roll:
:wink: