Croc hunting safaris

Re: Croc hunting safaris

jeffish wrote: "no go"areas for fishing because a croc safari is on that part of the river,,, :hunting:
That is a bl..dy good point

It is unlikely they would be doing it on popular fishing waterways so river closures would be a moot point.

More likely it would benefit remote communities and their waterways.

Going by previous discussions on this subject over the years, there would be a limited number of crocs shot, it would not be like duck season.

I imagine licensing would be strict, given the controversy, and licencees would know that if they screw up, they lose their licence.

I hear and agree with you Matt ,but we all like to get away to remote areas now and then ,,so it is possible.
Shitzngigglz

Post by Shitzngigglz »

Leave it to the pro's and let the government deal wtih the sale of the skin and meat ............... not the croc farms
UNCLDUG

Post by UNCLDUG »

Shitzngigglz wrote:Leave it to the pro's and let the government deal wtih the sale of the skin and meat ............... not the croc farms
Don't you think the government gets enough $ . The way the current government is , they could not even run a bl!!dy chook raffle and be trusted not to rip someone off or stuff it up
goveite

Post by goveite »

May as well put my two bob's worth in, What brings people to the NT ?, if it's just catching a barra, then go to the barra farm, if it's to lay on the sand and sun bake or go swimming then go to the wave pool, not the Daly. if it's so you can take the kiddies on a risk free boat ride then go to manton dam not corroboree. What originally bought me here, and brings thousands of tourists and their dollars, is the fact that this is one of the only places left in the world that we,"people", haven't f.....d up yet. It seems that some people want the waterways to be how "they" think they should be, the truth is the majority of the NT is exactly how it should be, untouched, untamed and pristine, if thats not what people are looking for then go somewhere else and live, like maybe Tassie. Im not a greeny or a tree hugger I would just like to think that we are smarter than to make the same mistakes again and again and again. Enjoy what we have here today because it won't last forever.

When people start feleling unsafe in ther boats there is a problem !! For the first time ever I felt unsafe in me mates boat 3.9m tinnie alot bigger than ya standard anyways we camped on the daly at Elizabeth and fished all night an had a croc not much smaller than the boat keep coming up for a sniff then just duck below the water a few meters behind the boat he done this. For a few solid hours straight wasn't to bad when we were awake fishing but me mate and my mrs had a kip on the floor I couldn't have a sleep as I felt in easy about that croc sniffing the boat do I fished all night with the gun loaded on the floor of the boat !
They are just to cheeky an cunning now something needs to be done !
goveite

Post by goveite »

DOUG wrote:When people start feleling unsafe in ther boats there is a problem !! For the first time ever I felt unsafe in me mates boat 3.9m tinnie alot bigger than ya standard anyways we camped on the daly at Elizabeth and fished all night an had a croc not much smaller than the boat keep coming up for a sniff then just duck below the water a few meters behind the boat he done this. For a few solid hours straight wasn't to bad when we were awake fishing but me mate and my mrs had a kip on the floor I couldn't have a sleep as I felt in easy about that croc sniffing the boat do I fished all night with the gun loaded on the floor of the boat !
They are just to cheeky an cunning now something needs to be done !
Every year I stock up on the good crackers Doug, can get the water proof bungers if your lucky enough, I always take them fishing with me, their not toys and I don't use them for fun, but I do use them if I get that uneasy feeling about a cheeky croc getting to close, nothing wrong with putting the wind up them a bit, problem is for every 1 person doing that, there are 10 people throwing them fish. I've had a couple of times where a big croc simply hasn't wanted me there, not just cheeky, then it's best to just move on and leave them alone.

read a story last year wher a bloke got fined for using crackers on crocs.
doors off

Post by doors off »

Goveite,

agree with your points. They are valid and damn reasonable. I guess for me, my support is due to the "friendliness" of some crocs, why they are so friendly, I don't know. But I do think that they have lost their fear of human's in some places and that could be due to people feeding the buggers? Or it just may be because of a lack of predation/hunting? I would rather see them cop a good flogging, a cracker, or a slug in their tail than see them killed. Though that said, there is no way I would do it - a piece of Karma I do not want to come back and kick me in the backside.

Doors Off
Save the Tuna - Eat a Dolphin!

These crocs are already being trapped and harpooned, and removed - so what's the diff if it is a quick bullet for these same problem animals, and it puts 10k in the kitty for the NT economy, instead of costing money?

Seems to be concern here that there will be some sort of open season. And fewer crocs. That's not going to happen.
Mez100

Post by Mez100 »

Seems to me if they stopped teaching crocs to jump out of the water and take food out of human hands or off of a big stick (fishing rod anyone) that we wouldn't have such problems to begin with. It seems a little backwards to be blaming crocs for behaviour that we are teaching them. I bet there weren't too many crocs jumping out of the water catching flying chickens before humans came along and started teaching them. Crocs are very smart, adaptable and amazing animals, they haven't survived this long for no reason, lets give them a bit of credit and stop thinking that if somethings bugging us its simplier just to kill it. Just my humble opinion.
BlueyNT

Post by BlueyNT »

I support controlled hunting of crocs and any other native species .
Bring on the croc safaris , I will be one of the first to sign up and I know a few others that would as well.
I'm not young enough to know every thing .
goveite

Post by goveite »

Correct me if I'm wrong here Matt, but the whole approach to this seems to be dollar driven mate, Trophy hunting ( as stated earlier ) is hardly going to be in the more people populated areas, which is where they currently trap and remove crocs now, so in reality the cost of removing these crocs will still remain. Large crocs in remote areas that affect no one will be the ones that are targeted so the argument of reducing trapping costs can hardly be used, nor could the argument be made on safety grounds, as the crocs that are out in these remote areas are a threat to no one. In any case large bore rifles like 243's, 308's, 3006's, 300 wheatherby's shot across the water would pose far more of a risk to anyone out in these areas than a croc ever could. If the dollar value of these these animals are all they are worth then lets look at it like this, 1 large croc grown out to trophy size, 20years+, and lets be real hunters are only going to pay big money for big crocs, might bring 10 grand, where as large crocs the same age are priceless in terms of drawing in the tourist and their dollars, over a 20 year period in dollar terms these big crocs are worth far more to the Territory economy alive than they are dead.
coastaljoy

Post by coastaljoy »

The big croc [4.5-5 mt ] up the top of tommy cut we saw this year would not be a hunt or sport as it would be to easy to pull the trigger and get thier trophy, although I would take them for 10k. I would not like to see them shot as I would not have the laugh that I did watching my 2 fishing companions fighting for the furtherest spot in the boat away from the big fella when he popped up beside us, f#*k it was funny to watch.
he fishes he fishes he fishes its the only thing in life all he ever gets is hell from his fed up wife