$400.00 Fine

doors off

Re: $400.00 Fine

Post by doors off »

Maybe they should close the road where the water is on the road. Putting the signs 2km back up the road is arse! Put some warning signs out and only close the road where the risk exists. Having a look at the beautiful scenery in the wet is worthy of the journey, but at $400 and a conviction, that is no longer an option. Top stuff - NOT!

Doors Off

Save the Tuna - Eat a Dolphin!
jersy

Post by jersy »

A conviction is bullshit for that. :evil: $400 is way too steep as well. :fubird: coppers . Fine all or none!.Surely a warning would have done,(unless he unloaded a mouthfull at em) Betcha ole mate wishes he crossed now instead of having a harmless look. Pox outcome for sure. Should have said he just had his 1st acid trip! :jester:
Whale Oil Beef Hooked!

skinny joel wrote:
barra mick wrote:ffs.................surely not a conviction for that ???
yep, according to the news, his lawyer pleaded for no conviction be recorded, but the judge decided to criminally convict him for the "severity" of his actions.
almost fell off my chair, so thats the line in the sand apparently.

Just a little steep getting a conviction for a traffic offence another reason the place is getting over regulated pure bu....ht. :fubird: :fubird:

What ever happend to the old rule about having access to the waterways???????// How the hell are you suppossed to put a boat in the water if the road closed sign is 2k's before the water starts. :bonk:

p..s poor lawyer if you ask me :idea: he should ask for his money back he would have had more chance if he represented himself.

Too late now but we should help the poor bastard with money for an appeal as this will have implications for all fishos. :idea: :idea:

When I first heard about it, I was under the impression that he was actually caught driving thru the water.

My understanding is that he told the copper was going to drive thru the water but had not actually entered the water. All comes down to intent i suppose.

either way he passed the 'road closed' sign and that is an offence.

I got busted years ago when I crossed double lines to overtake a line of cars . I was with a few mates on bikes and I was the only one who got nailed. I could see for a mile ahead and cranked it up on the bike .
I couldnt see the problem or danger but I was young and stupid. my offence was crossing the double lines. Ive never done it since

We can argue all day that there are more improtant things the coppers should be doing but his time was up
Cop it sweet young fella - I'll bet he doesnt do it again.

I bet next time there won't be a sign !!!!;)

DOUG wrote:I bet next time there won't be a sign !!!!;)
:lol: exactly. I know what I would have done. :twisted:
skinny joel

Post by skinny joel »

nomad wrote:When I first heard about it, I was under the impression that he was actually caught driving thru the water.

My understanding is that he told the copper was going to drive thru the water but had not actually entered the water. All comes down to intent i suppose.

either way he passed the 'road closed' sign and that is an offence.

I got busted years ago when I crossed double lines to overtake a line of cars . I was with a few mates on bikes and I was the only one who got nailed. I could see for a mile ahead and cranked it up on the bike .
I couldnt see the problem or danger but I was young and stupid. my offence was crossing the double lines. Ive never done it since

We can argue all day that there are more improtant things the coppers should be doing but his time was up
Cop it sweet young fella - I'll bet he doesnt do it again.
i dont think you can grasp the severity a criminal conviction can have on this mans life.
did you recieve a criminal conviction for crossing double lines?
im sure if he does do anything wrong again, he will be on acid, shooting meth, in a stolen car with an under age girlfreind.`than he can cop his slap on the wrist instead of a criminal conviction, the more i thonk about this, the more i believe i should be supreme ruler of the land.
disobey road closed sign = $400 donation to afant.
steal a car/break into a house etc = have your hands donated to the worm farm

vote 1 SJ :captain:
human guppy
darwinguy

Post by darwinguy »

We all break the law - unlucky to get caught. Bit harsh to be fined for it but.
Sister Ed

Post by Sister Ed »

The coppers dont set the penalty
Manton mad

Post by Manton mad »

:rofl: Got my vote skinny joel :rofl:
fishing is my addiction there is no cure

skinny joel wrote:did you recieve a criminal conviction for crossing double lines?
No just an infringement notice for a few hundred bucks - a lot of money back then. Made the trip to the 500 Bike GP an expensive week. :cry:
I had a 1000cc bike that could break the speed limit in 1st gear. It had 6 speeds, but I used to ride flat out all the time. Go hard or go home USED to be my motto. not any more

Im not sure that a traffic offence like disobey a sign is defined as a criminal offence. I reckon it would come under the lower burden of proof category (Balance of probability versus beyond a doubt).
thinks like drink driving and excessive speeding (more than 45 over) may come under criminal acts.

What I was getting at is that when we are all young and stupid, we'll do anything but change attitudes when (if) we get older
Rustler

Post by Rustler »

The law can be an ass sometimes. Many years ago when I first got up here I got stopped by fisheries for safety gear heading out of Buff. Had all the gear and some crab pots on the floor. The lads asked where I was going and I told them heading down to King Crk to try for some crabs. Got down to King, set the pots and around the corner came the sames fisheries boys and picked up my pots. Of course I bolted over to ask WTF and they charged me with not ahving name and address on the floats and confiscated the pots. Fronted court and basically (honestly) pleaded ignorance. The beak was sympathetic especially as I just arrived in Darwin but convicted me citing "ignorance is no excuse". That is a criminal conviction and has stayed with me for life and has come up every time I apply for something that that requires any sort of history check - more embarassing than anything - "What's this conviction under the Fisheries Act?". You have to wonder what these "law enforcement officials" are thinking sometimes......
dan444

Post by dan444 »

Can anyone clarify if launching from a road that has been signed closed due to flooding will be in breach? We are not actually crossing the flooded area of the road....

I launch from the Daly River Crossing every wet, as do heaps of fishos. The road closed signs are placed several hundred meters from the river. Are we all going to get summons left on our windscreens upon returning from a fish??

If so, what going on in this State lately....

Yeah mate you go past the sign and they will fine you. Bit of a shame really, wouldn't be so bad if they moved the sign/block closer to the water then I wouldnt be breaking the law.

Yeah old mate had no intentions of crossing it that day he was checking for the day after instead of going via pine creek for the klash !! Costly trip now