NT fishing permits from next year

Talk about bungled boat ramps, net buybacks, marine no-go zones, mining disasters etc here.

NT fishing permits from next year

Re: Permits from next year

Press release attached

Re: NT fishing permits from next year

As always, bringing in any restrictions will have to be enforced isf its to be effective
Given that NT has no licencing/rego requirements, im trying to imagine how anyone could be identified.
:oh it was a bloke in a 5m tinny’ just isn’t going to stand up
trent

Post by trent »

Not sure who got what or how much but as long as fishos can still access the rivers that suits me if all we have to do is apply online to obtain a free permit, sounds like they are talking to regain access to the finniss as well ???

It's step one to paying for each permit and area
I'm not against it so long as it is easy and fast
I do have concerns about old mate the gill netter causing dramas for Shady access
I read the bed and banks claim report last night, pretty interesting how the process works

When I lived in England fishing clubs owned rights to various lakes and sections of rivers, if you walked too far down a river you'd be into the next club's territory. Fishing access was sold via day tickets or seasonal/annual club memberships. Clubs were responsible for upkeep with spots along rivers and lake shores mowed and desnagged in spots for easy fishing. Very cultured, lol. And the maggots were sold in a variety of colours and sizes by the tub, you could buy a litre of maggots if you wanted. Boiled hemp seed was used as groundbait (berley). This was "course fishing" for carp-like species ... to get access to trout waters was a whole level higher in cost and limitations, there were waiting lists to fish some streams.

Not sure where I am going with this, lol ...

Lol sounds very british
c9h14n

Post by c9h14n »

need to get as many people to apply for as many permits as possible on 01 January. Crash the system big time.

Nah, I reckon the opposite. If not many people register, then it weakens the case to charge / reduces the amount the gov may feel it has to pay to enable access

theodosius wrote: Tue Dec 20, 2022 11:10 pm Nah, I reckon the opposite. If not many people register, then it weakens the case to charge / reduces the amount the gov may feel it has to pay to enable access
Totally agree. :applause: :applause: