What fish is this?

Hey no worries Nomad,

Do you remember where it was?
I will try to have a look during smoko, if I can take a few minutes.

Just have to find where you saw that.

Tinny boys

Post by Tinny boys »

ok seeing that one has been successfully nailed...can anyone help identify this monstrosity? a listner emailed this week...lives in canberra but I think caught it fishing around reefs in southern NSW over xmas...i got no idea

tim @ tinny
The Tales from the Tinny boys

5-7am Saturdays mornings on 105.7 ABC Darwin

website: http://abc.net.au/darwin/tinny/ - facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/ABC-Tales ... 6008517688

YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/ABCTalesfro ... ature=mhee

G’day Tim
Mark C here
Does the fish or the bloke live in Canberra?

That looks like a Spiny Gurnard, Lepidotrigla papilio

Here's a vid http://australianmuseum.net.au/movie/Sp ... a-papilio/
Tinny boys

Post by Tinny boys »

jesus nomad that was lightning fast - of course its the spiny gurnard...cheers mate! not sure...still waiting for him to get back - thinks he lives canberra but fish caught further north - still checking

thanks heaps

website: http://abc.net.au/darwin/tinny/ - facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/ABC-Tales ... 6008517688

OOps, a bit too quick. i had another look and it looks more like this http://australianmuseum.net.au/image/Co ... Henry-Bay/

Common Gurnard Perch, Neosebastes scorpaenoides
Tinny boys

Post by Tinny boys »

and of course we can all identify the tiger shark...

oh what a card... :rofl: :rofl:

Now that's what I call live bait

Toxic...yes. You're right.

Jimbobbolty thanks! Very informative. All three fish are awesome. I remember the first time I snorkelled a Qld creek just south of ippy back in the seventies i came across a lungfish. Nearly flew out onto the bank. Scared me stupid. (It wouldnt today...Im much braver now) Id had no idea such an awesome prehistoric fish lived there.

Pech thats useful to know about the museum cheers.
Zaneyboy

Re: What fish is this?

Post by Zaneyboy »

wow never seen that fish before cant wait to get me own boat

Re: What fish is this?

The story in my family goes that my great uncle Vic McCrystal (reckon some of you blokes must recognise that name) was the guy who popularised the term Barramundi for Lates Calcarifer, which was previously used for Saratoga