Territory Fotofish 2023 - all entries on this thread

Re: Territory Fotofish 2023 - all entries on this thread

Hokkien noodles with barra :mrgreen:
barra noodles.JPG

Smoked salmon roll :mrgreen:
IMG_0800.JPG

Richieboy

Post by Richieboy »

Enjoying the fruits of his labour….just like dad.
Mad KEEN!

Good to see your lad enjoying life.

Is it true that the tuna have been harder to find of late?
Richieboy

Post by Richieboy »

Hey Matt. Cheers brother. The whole family is really embracing Territory life.

I wouldn’t say they’re particularly harder to find although the schools I’ve seen certainly haven’t been as large as I remember seeing. We still ended up with half a dozen casting 20-30g slugs in all the usual spots between Larrakia, East Point and Lee Points.

People forget not to get out of bed until 10am to chase the Tuna :D

Richie
Mad KEEN!
Rawz

Post by Rawz »

A few more fish from the fresh over the last little while.
IMG-1431.jpg
IMG-1436.jpg
IMG-1441.jpg
IMG-1445.jpg
IMG-1446.jpg
IMG-1450.jpg
IMG-1453.jpg
IMG-1467.jpg
IMG-1468.jpg
IMG-1469.jpg
IMG-1486.jpg
Gibbsy

Post by Gibbsy »

Took a couple of mates out to the bay yesterday. Blowy in morning like usual dry season day but nice sunrise to start the trip. Was slow going in morning as water temp was down. With only a couple of rats for the day. Once it hit low tide we continued flicking and one of my mates hooked up to a good fish on a 6 inch seaducer mullet. After a ten minute fight got the fish boat side to find out it was a good Barra going just shy of 102. My mate was over the moon as he has only been living in the NT since January and only knocked off his first legal Barra April. After lots of smiles and photos, tried reviving fish, but took her a good 10 mins before she bit down and swam off. About half an hour later as the tide pushed in we noticed something flapping about on the surface of the water further downstream so we went to investigate only to find out it was the same metrey we had just released earlier but had been mailed by bull sharks. We noticed it had the same hole under its mouth as the one we had landed. We decided not to let it go to waste and my mate wanting to keep the skull as a trophy for himself so we ended up bleeding the what was left of the fish and into the Esky.
We also ran 3 crab pots for the day with a tally of 18 in four pulls.
Things had slowed down as the tide came up so decided for a quick prospect for some pelagics around the top of the tide at lee point to no avail. Also managed to get a great sunset to finish the trip.

Gibbsy

Great pix Gibbsy!

All those beaut mud crabs. Bought my daughter half a cray at a restaurant as a treat not so long ago, and it gave her an upset tum, nothing like catching seafood yourself and keeping it fresh.
Gibbsy

Post by Gibbsy »

Yeah Matt

One of the few reasons I own a boat is to get fresh seafood.
Other is to see people get their PB's and see the sights.

I refuse to buy seafood nowadays as I am always dissatisfied.
I'd kill for some fresh Cray has been over a decade I reckon last time we are some half an hour out of the water, was delicious
Gibbsy

Post by Gibbsy »

A few trout from last week at Dundee. Went out with a mate for his birthday. Interesting day. Caught cobia, trickiest, good Red that got sharked and left with a 35cm head. Mate hooked a black marlin whilst trolling for mackerel and bagged 5 trout.
Trout measured 57,54,54 and two slightly smaller models

Cheers Gibbsy
Ivan

Post by Ivan »

The misses and I had a great couple of days down at the Peron's.
Littlemax

Post by Littlemax »

the old man got this 31kg 153cm Spanish mackerel off lee point this morning, on a dead Pillie under a balloon. :D
Timmo

Post by Timmo »

My biggest Toga for 2023 while walking the banks of Manton dam flicking soft plastics
TIMMO
Gibbsy

Post by Gibbsy »

Stonker mack littlemax. Some more from the bay
Gibbsy

Post by Gibbsy »

A few more