Fotofish 2022 - all entries on this thread

Re: Fotofish 2022 - all entries on this thread

Ivan wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 9:47 am Had a good session flicking vibes around Shoal Bay, we hooked about 30 fish but only managed to land about half of them. They ranged in size from 50 - 70cm.
Yep - there were quite a few fish holding up there - unfortunately not the bigger models usually associated (although we managed a couple high 70's).

Jeez you 3 blokes can talk :D

Ivan

Post by Ivan »

My wife's friend had never been fishing in a boat and never caught anything bigger then a sardine, so I thought I'd see how she would go with a Jewie :D. She had a ball landing a 99, 113 and topped it off with a 121cm beauty.

Some great photos for March.

Top jewie Ivan, her smile will be glued on after that.

A flag, coz I know you love 'em :lol:
Rawz

Post by Rawz »

A few fish from the last few weeks adventures.

Buff Creek
IMG_3022c.jpg
Flatty for the flatty lovers
IMG_3023c.jpg
IMG_3030c.jpg
Mary River Lagoon
Tough conditions - very hot, tough fishing. The only fish I could get to bite were deep in the snags.
IMG_3024r.jpg
IMG_3027c.jpg
Cast myself to a standstill.
IMG_3028.JPG
Stumpy tail on this one
IMG_3029c.jpg
Finniss
Tough in the morning, fishing picked up in the arvo when a storm started to brew.
IMG_3032c.jpg
Plenty of these barra snacks getting about.
IMG_3031.JPG
IMG_3036c.jpg
Ivan

Post by Ivan »

One very hungry cod.
Rawz

Post by Rawz »

Been busy, managed a few trips in the last couple of weeks.

Mary River Lagoon, not much to report here, water level dropping fast. Picked up a couple of smaller barra on a small drain.
IMG_3040r.jpg
IMG_3041r.jpg
This area looked good, only a sooty and long tom caught
IMG_3039.JPG
IMG_3043r.jpg
Rawz

Post by Rawz »

Finniss - The flow is slowing, the little drain around 3 ways was not pushing much water out. Caught most of my fish on a single snag.
IMG_3033r.jpg
IMG_3048c.jpg
IMG_3054r.jpg
Some big sooties hanging around under the overgrowth
IMG_3046.JPG
Shady - Went out on a charter good friday. The best of a few was this 71 at one of the barrage walls.
Resized_20220415_085851r.jpeg
Gibbsy

Post by Gibbsy »

Hey all,

Been a bit of a lull since my last post as I have been saving it for past fortnight as I scored some time off with kids. So have been fishing hard as of late. Can report the harbour is very very healthy for Barra and salmon. Have fished both on neaps and springs..

On the first couple of trips with my stepdaughter i thought I had lost my mojo across the neaps.
As I sighted cr.p loads of Barra on the flats and hanging deep nearby drains with a couple of fish nudging high eighties to low nineties. There was alot more ranging from around 50s up to the 70s. Across first two trips only managed to land rats, hooked larger models on surface and on plastics but to have me drop them on the jump. I did manage to spear a sizeable mud cr.p wandering the flats around 19cm across the shell which was a bonus.

The next trip was just a reccy land based at buffaloes creek on building neaps at night. I was welcomed by booting every two mins in all directions. I worked surface lures and shallow divers for two hours and finally connected on a fizzer to what seemed to look like a fish around high 70s low 80s. A couple minutes later I managed to pull hooks on this fish also. Disheartening is an understatement.

4th trip was a shoal bay run with a good mate. Managed to hook a large mud crab on a plastic straight off the bat. So thought it was going to be a great session. Alas, I managed to drop every Barra I hooked for the day apart from one around the 40s. Only managed 4 crabs in total including the one on lure. But my mate did managed to upgrade with a fat 74cm bazz which saved the day.

Decided the following Saturday to go back in the harbour and see if I could break the curse. Same tactics frogs across baby mangrove early in outgoing tide, then to plastics and poppers mid tide continued through to mid incoming. Managed to break the curse on poppers with a 72 and 65. With the 72 smashing the popper boat side.

Next trip was to take stepdaughter and her friend for a night run in harbour for the full moon. Had plenty of missed strikes with popper thought the night but four landed for the night for me. A 60, 55 and two smaller models along with dropped fish on the jump.
My stepdaughter managed her first threadfin salmon and her friend getting her first ever Barra going 75cm. Couldn't wipe the smiles off their faces.

Last two trips the stepdaughter and I did some half day runs back in the harbour, across both days sighted alot of Barra on flats and around drains. Managed a couple in the mid 60s along with some Queenie's and threadfin salmon.

All in all had a ball.
Gibbsy

Post by Gibbsy »

Here's the last photo
Gibbsy

Post by Gibbsy »

And this one

Gibbsy

Kickin' back in the fresh :D
IMG_6609.JPG

Getting the visitors onto a fish or three.... :D
IMG_6622 - Copy.JPG

Returning to an old haunt.... :D
IMG_6930.JPG

Ivan

Post by Ivan »

Did he really think he was going to be able eat someting that big?