8) 8) 8)

I gotta buy a cray pot :bonk:

Re: Fotofish 2021 - all entries on this thread

Larrakeyah Naval Base growing. Pic taken this arvy.

Looks like a new wharf happening. At least the constant ‘Dooka-dooka-dooka-dooka-dooka-dook’ as they rammed the pylons in has stopped after a few weeks. Must have scared all the fish away for a mile or two but I suspect the no go zone around here will be bigger than Inpex so it probably doesn’t matter too much.

Sorry for the big Mb Matt. I’ve got some earlier building progress that I didn’t post due to to not being able to shrink them enough.
Gibbsy

Post by Gibbsy »

Ninja despite the gloomy grey clouds water looks flat as!

Was fairly good water yesterday Gibbsy.

Needed to give the boat a run so took off down past Ida Bay and around the islands and back to West Arm for the incoming tide. Dirty water except for around the islands and nothing happening over West Arm. Pretty happy only using 55-60 litres at 5- 5800 revs all the way.

Good to see we have a slightly larger naval base while China builds the South China Sea islands into fortresses.
Gibbsy

Post by Gibbsy »

NinjaFish wrote: Wed Apr 28, 2021 9:21 am Was fairly good water yesterday Gibbsy.

Needed to give the boat a run so took off down past Ida Bay and around the islands and back to West Arm for the incoming tide. Dirty water except for around the islands and nothing happening over West Arm. Pretty happy only using 55-60 litres at 5- 5800 revs all the way.
If you ever need some spots for west for Barra let me know have a couple of never fail spots there always usually get some nice salty harbour bazz out of even through dry season i'd be happy to pm through.

Gibbsy

Happy to trade some spots Gibbsy.

I usually only get em around 50-60cm around the creeks so spend most of my time in one spot trying to catch a horse that I’ve dropped or couldn’t hang on to 3 times now on a corner. I know where their going to, but can’t get up there unless there’s at least 2.5 - 3m incoming water (50-60cm under the boat on a 1.8 low for a long way) Some good rocks up there and a hole behind I’m going to check out some more to see if I can lock into between tides when its cooler one day this dry.

I did drop a Jewie down there yesterday not paying attention as I went for the net.
Gibbsy

Post by Gibbsy »

Did another run over to the bay on the weekend. Slower going dropped one good size fish and mate landing his best Barra to date. Got a feed of muddies again didn't crab the whole incoming as mate had party to go to.

Also did a run out to the rig the other night got very wet and stuff all fish only ended up with one tea leaf Trevor. Didn't mark any Mack's. Didn't see any other boats hook up whilst out there.

Gibbsy

Smashing it Gibbsy 8)

Gibbsy wrote: Mon May 03, 2021 4:50 pm Got a feed of muddies
Looks like the Rambos are back - I hadn't seen any this year until last couple of trips to the Bay where Rambo ratio all of a sudden has been around 1:3 :?
Gibbsy

Post by Gibbsy »

Last trip we got only green muddies until last weekend then there was a few Rambo's. Green muddies came in on the incoming got the Rambo's on outgoing.
trent

Post by trent »

Soaked the pots for a couple of hours, had 1 orange crab that tasted like poop compared to the othersImage
Sullo

Post by Sullo »

Quick arvo run,mixed bag

Flagzilla :mrgreen:

Nothing wrong with a feed of cod.
Gibbsy

Post by Gibbsy »

After checking the forecast all week the weather looked good for a Dundee run on the weekend. Ended up taking the missus and a mate out on Sunday. Left home at 4:30 and on the water just in time for the sunrise as there weren't too many boats launching at the time of arrival. With the initial plan to run down to Batemans and hit the person island sandbars then work back through sailcity. That all change as we were met by flat conditions. Headed straight to bowra/blaze to see if there were any pelagics before heading wide of sailcity.. We did find some free jumping Mack's around bowra and some very flighty tuna around blaze and blaze wide. After mucking around with these for a bit made the call to head straight out wide.was a nice quick run out with almost glass conditions. Spotted a heap of flying fish on the way out. With no spots wide of sailcity we sounded around for a bit find some fish sitting on some rubble, deployed the leccy and was rewarded with bites immediately. Me getting shared a few times after hooking some fish, then my missus finally got one to the boat. A nice little nanny to start the day. This was followed by a couple of reds, some blue bone and a heaps of trickies.
A few trevally moved in as well as some decent size Mack's. Mackerel couldn't be tempted with the jigs as you could see them give a half ass follow on the jigs due to great water clarity. With all the big bull sharks around wasn't interested in dropping livebait down for the Mack's. Things started to go Abit quiet so we headed towards a mark closer in at sailcity. As we slowed down before the mark we sounded up some more nice bottom loaded with fish.
So down with the leccy again first drop red emperor. This continued for Abit with 6 boated for the day plus more trickies.

Had some sea snakes up on the surface and two dolphins that stuck around the boat for a few hours just playing around.
My mate then hooks up to something large, after a ten minute tussle a 1.5m tawny nurse shark is boat side, he tells out hey look at that there's another shark with him. I got to the back of the boat to help him deal with his shark to realise the other so called shark wasn't a shark but a massive cobia around the same size. It's head looked to be close to 300mm across its head. With me getting very excited being a cobia virgin I grabbed the only rod I had a lure rigged up on at the time being a 6kg bait after and a tatula 200 loaded with 30lb braid. Now I should mention I had been trialling a new leader knot as of late and this rod has said knot tied on.
Not thinking about it at the time I flicked my chase bait squid half a metre in front of the cobe not expecting a reaction having tried this in the past only to be refused, to my surprise he immediately switched on and swallowed the jig, I loaded up on the rod and thought to myself "S@#T now what". It took a minute or so before he realised what had happened as he just rolled around just under the surface, then he woke up straight past my mates nurse shark around the back of the boat and out to the starboard side with my mate and I doing a lot of rod dancing to make sure we didn't break the line. The cobia decided to give a spirited run along the surface before thrashing its head then diving down deep for another attempt to shake me. Five minutes into the fight with only 5kg drag I put a bit of thumb pressure to try and lift his head, this is when it all went south fast and my trial leader knot let go with me watching a monstrous cobia slowly swim to the depths and retrieving 10m of 30lb braid back with no leader attached.

To say I was devastated would be an understatement. I dwelled on this for the rest of the day and still thinking to myself at the time of writing this "what if". Lessons I had learnt when attempting to hook a very large fish don't make a rookie mistake and rush into it, don't rush the fight at any time. I am still kicking myself for not being patient for the whole 2 minutes that it would of taken me to put the same lure on my heavier gear with my trustworthy FG knot. Thinking to myself that fish probably still would of hung around in the time taken to do so and if so I wouldn't be only writing up about it but be able to post such a great specimen of a cobia up.

We finished the day with my partner and my mate both hooking up to some good size Trevor's. One being a brassy and the other a goldspot. When then called it day and headed in. It was a long drive even though conditions were too bad with a bit of small chop, it had more to do with the fish I had lost.
Hopefully I will get another chance at one similar to sunday.

Gibbsy.