Finniss River closure

Public and private club events - results and battle stories. And any other club news ...

Re: Finniss River closure

passenger279 wrote:Couple of points just to keep some of the red necks on their toes.

The people on here crying about the unfairness of getting your butts thrown off land that isn't yours hopefully aren't the same people whining about ''illegal immigrants'' on ''their'' land.

The people whining about their tax dollars wouldn't want to be earning developed world money, sitting in front of big TV's, slobbering over McCrap and driving expensive cars while people literally eat dirt until they die for lack of any other option, while our resource companies rape their countries and fill our pockets, all because they were born in the wrong G.P.S. coordinates.

First world problems ladies, you're all crying yourselves a river big enough to fish and everyone with a sense of humour and a brain finds it hilarious.
Your point being ????

There's no doubt passenger 279 that we are a lucky country and there are plenty of people a lot worse off. That's not the issue. If people in this country want equal rights there has to be some give and take. We as Europeans get called racists for every thing we say against these people yet it is you and me and every other person who works for a living who pays for 90 % of there income with little to know return for us. I don't think this is fair especially when we have visited these places our whole lives.

They say that a generation is 20 years and this is what traditional land rights work off!
Well what about the local people who have fished these rivers that long? Do we get land rights!

Why cant white people own the ocean and rivers? Aboriginals can?

And why do my taxes pay for ILLEGAL IMMIGRANTS. If they want to come here apply through the proper channels. If these people are so poor how do most of them afford to pay the money to get on these boats! Surely the money they have spent there could set them selves up in a business or plant food to sell! And then to riot in the detention centres. They are fed, have internet, computers and a safe bed to live in and then demand more. Your kidding your self saying that they are running away from war!
Craig Ingram

Post by Craig Ingram »

NathanL wrote:Hi Craig, do you know what concerns about ‘land care’ have caused this new escalation in tension between the TO’s and.. well.. everyone else? Are recreational fishermen being accused of not looking after the river system?
AFANT understands that the main issues of concern which has led to the closure by the traditional owners are non-fishing related and involve illegal activities on Aboriginal land including quad bikes, trespass and hunting and shooting livestock and crocodiles.
The TO’s have also expressed concern regarding rubbish being left behind and erosion in the upper section of the Finniss river in the floodplain reaches.
The TO’s believe that boat wash and excessive speed of boats in the narrow upper reaches of boats is causing erosion.
It’s an interesting issue and I have inspected this section myself on a couple of occasion’s (great fishing) what is going on in the Upper Finniss River is very similar to sections of the Mary floodplain and is most likely almost entirely the result of sea-level rise salinity inundation.
I have been up the top of the Finniss when the salt water is backing up over the floodplain. this top section and the floodplain would have recently been fresh water. What appears to be going on is as the salinity encroaches back up stream it kills off the fresh water vegetation and the soft flood plain soil is vulnerable to erosion it talks a while for the mangroves to colonise so you always have a eroding section above the mangrove sections.
What happens then is you get migrating head cut and bank collapse which just speeds up the salinity encroachment back into the floodplain.
The Government will have to find solutions to address these issues if they are going to have any chance of reaching agreement with the upper Finniss TO’s our concern is that some of these issues should have been dealt with long before now particularly the illegal trespass quads and hunting.
As usual it’s the activities of a few doing the wrong thing that stuff it up for the majority.
The salinity and erosion is a bit more complex but it’s not imposable to slow it down or halt the erosion and head cutting channels.
Craig Ingram
Executive Officer AFANT

Craig Ingram wrote:
NathanL wrote: The TO’s have also expressed concern regarding rubbish being left behind and erosion in the upper section of the Finniss river in the floodplain reaches.
[/quote

:roll: :roll: :roll:

Any one in the now with the TOs , might want tell the TO s to have bit of a word to few of there cousins over on the ORD river. Arrr the serenity, pigs :fubird:
BenH

Post by BenH »

passenger279 wrote:Couple of points just to keep some of the red necks on their toes.

The people on here crying about the unfairness of getting your butts thrown off land that isn't yours hopefully aren't the same people whining about ''illegal immigrants'' on ''their'' land.

The people whining about their tax dollars wouldn't want to be earning developed world money, sitting in front of big TV's, slobbering over McCrap and driving expensive cars while people literally eat dirt until they die for lack of any other option, while our resource companies rape their countries and fill our pockets, all because they were born in the wrong G.P.S. coordinates.

First world problems ladies, you're all crying yourselves a river big enough to fish and everyone with a sense of humour and a brain finds it hilarious.
Eat a snickers mate :mrgreen:

Oops wasent he one of yours Mud?

My brain tells me to laugh at your post 'passenger'..but..my sense of humour won't let me. :roll:
graham.

I can relate to all of the above arguments/ points of view to a certain extent. I think what it comes down to is the old Aussie adage of a fair go for effort given. I was going to write a big spiel here, but I just can't be bothered really! The majority of people in this country would agree with open access for all, as long as the country and culture(s) are respected. Give and take! No more poor bugger me!

The minorities just push progress back and open up the extremest points of view and the media jumps on it because it sells papers and the vicious cycle continues. Oh, you can throw greed and other unsavory aspects of human nature into that mix as well.

Sorry, I have no solution, unfortunately I think it will slowly simmer until it comes to boiling point and then erupt! Normal Aussies losing their way of life, be it locked out of parts of our country, forced to change our culture to not upset those of others, PC bullish!t stopping our kids singing Christmas carols at school, I could go on all night.

It cuts me deep to be cut off from fishing an area I respect deeply. The irony of the situation is it was the rec fishos who were protecting the place before the pros got bought out! Cheers BC and Geoff!

Sorry, spiel ended up big enough anyway!

.....but at the same time as writing the last post I'm watching Majac (Somalian)in the ruck against Naitanui (Fijiian). With LyndsayThomas running around with Josh Hill.
Shows how great this country can be!
Last edited by scottmac on Fri May 17, 2013 10:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Just trolling I hope, being concerned about how taxes are being spend hardly makes you a redneck.

A bloke spends five minutes working in the north and all of a sudden becomes a expert. My mother and mother in law have devoted there lifes working these communities. I would like to think i was brought up to have a heathy respect for the TO's and there culture. If this was about managing the land I can handle it, but it's not, greed has taken over and it's unfortunate. The more money they have the more social issues they have.

I find it funny you make reference to companies raping the land, it can't happen without the approval from the TO's. The TO's sellout!! all of a sudden the dollar is worth more.

Six-figure hippie.....
Last edited by Ben Jam on Fri May 17, 2013 11:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
moz

Post by moz »

What has this to do with TOs care of land etc..
If you own a piece of dirt you can do what you want with it.
No one owns a river under white law and that is he only law recognised in this country.
The Finniss is public territory.
moz

Post by moz »

I didn't eat dirt as a kid. I ate cement, Toughen up Princess. I'm not a lady but my butt i sore listening to this cr.p.
passenger279

Post by passenger279 »

Clearly I agree that all places should be open for everyone. THE ENTIRE WORLD OVER. Not just for Aussies, in 'our' land, on our terms.

My main point was that popping out of your mums cunny in the right country doesn't ENTITLE you to all the things you take for granted.

I don't mind if you can't/don't except that, if you think you've some how earned your right to be better off then 95% of the people in the world. I'm merely letting you know that some people find it funny, all your crying over the terrible injustices that you face while living on top of the pile.

(Ben: I said other countries, not referring to T.O's okaying mines. As in cheap labour and resources stolen from undeveloped nations to prop up our lives of abundance. Also: never earned 6 figures, highly unlikely to ever do this or strive to do this. What would be the point? I can only fit so many cheese burgers in my mouth at once and only so many lures in my tackle box).

For over 50 years I have lived, worked and fished in all these areas now closed or about to be closed to the general public. :catch: :fishing:

This would mean I have frequented and lived in some of these areas longer than most TO’s but I have no rights. “AND THAT IS WHAT IS WRONG” :banghead:

I have said it before and will say it again put a big fence around these places and let them have it but then stop all Government payments because it is my tax dollars that help to pay for this and other such debacles’. :fubird:

Mate, the people who find it 'funny' are the bludgers who don't/won't get of their arse and get themselves to 'the top of the pile', I don't know where you get off trying to tell me that I'm not 'ENTITLED' to everything I and my forebears have worked for from the earliest days of settlement in this country, what a load of cr.p.
You bet your life I've EARNED the right to be better off than your '95 %', I'm still doing it, and, educating my kids so they can do it too.
That goes for just about everyone I know, ergo, the credibility of your statement is on par with those of the 'bleeding heart' brigade.
This being the case, You'd better take a squizz at your Birth certificate, if it doesn't say AUSTRALIAN born, then, perhaps , you really have no basis for comment.
As for the 'cheap labour/resources being stolen', from 'undeveloped countries', how the hell do you reckon they get 'developed'??.
Can I have some of whatever it is your on??
There seems to be a definite/deliberate 'thread hijack' to push some greenie agenda here.
Let's get back on the TOPIC...

Closing the Finniss will do nothing to help the already strained relations between black and white, and, the reasons given are a bl..dy pisspoor attempt to justify sheer greed.

X2 Grumpy.