2018 Iron Jack NT Barramundi Classic

Public and private club events - results and battle stories. And any other club news ...

Re: 2018 Iron Jack NT Barramundi Classic

Post by wazdog »

Flickem4em,
I think you need to stop slagging people off mate.
it's like a broken record mate!!!!

Post by wazdog »

How about you take a chill pill dude
Bazzabait

Post by Bazzabait »

Have seen a lot of the online personalities found out when they join the Classic or Nats. Would be great to see Flicken4em have a crack against the comp field. I reckon he might quieten down a bit then!

That would be a real challenge, not just a bet to use a light rod with an oversized spin reel (stradic 4000) for 12 months.
Simmo83

Post by Simmo83 »

I'll bite as to what your money gets you because there actually might be people out there who want to know as EOI's will be called for very soon for 2019.

Your entry gets you:
* 3 anglers entered
* sponsor kit bag for all
* team kit box with extra sponsor material
* Tournament shirt, hat and stubby holder per person
* 260L of fuel and a extra 60L if you participate in the junior classic
* cooked brekkie and dinner for 7 days
* packed lunch for 7 days

Yes, you can still bring your own alcohol, it just cannot be consumed near the hall and bar. You need to pay for your accommodation site, be it a room or a camping spot, perhaps some additional food and water as required.

what money cannot buy you is a week on the water fishing alongside 50 odd other teams testing yourself in the hardest conditions the daly will throw at you as the pressure on the local fish to make them bite is heaps more than normal, making mates for life, trying to catch that magic metery to join a elite list of lucky anglers each year and enjoying a week away without work is surely worth something. If it wasn't worth it to the competitors they wouldn't come back very year.

If you fish and you're concerned about spending money, quit now you tightarse and take up drugs or something.

I wasn't even competiting down there, helped as a volunteer as a tow boat as required and another boat for the junior classic kids and i've done a prop shaft/gearbox but i'll be back again next year because it's a great week with mates.
Bruce Simpson
197 Pioneer Sportfish - 175hp Honda.
Ex Sandgroper from Karratha
Member of KBGFC and DGFC.

Cuddles touches on the real value of a comp at this level (at least from my perspective) and it’s absolutely priceless. That is the learning curve that comes with fishing against others hell bent on winning. If you have a competitive bone in your body you’ll respond to the challenge and that’s where you have the opportunity of coming away a better angler. Don’t think for a second you can get anywhere near that sort of experience fishing with your mates. Where are the skills gained, consolidated and implemented, at a State of Origin level or in the backyard playing touch? What sort of value in dollar terms do you place on that opportunity and what is the value of success at that level? What defines success? Could be for many the fact that you landed a fish (regardless of size) in in a situation you may not have in the past, in that situation the dollars has just become an investment that will gain you a nice rate of interest down the track.
Add to that the networking and the social aspects and you can see why many consider it money well spent.
Regarding fish between a metre and 80cm, they are handsome young fish for certain, some not yet sexually mature but in context that’s all they are, just ponies. What is a horse depends on your perspective. Most would say 120cm and above qualifies. But crowbarring one of 110cm out of the timber also fits the bill me thinks due to the circumstances.

Flickin4em wrote:If Blinky had simply provided that bit of info the next response wouldn't have occurred.....as for his lures I'm sure they work and theres a few unique designs there and some quality paint schemes too but the 3 fish result on them isn't that promising check the comp results above as hard evidence I'm not slagging him just pointing out facts..
I can’t get my head around how me failing to provide you with info made you start go off like a pork chop.........explain that one to me will you.

I post up some bits and pieces about the Classic, next minute I’m being attacked.........FFS, and some wonder why long term members of this forum no longer visit or post.

As for the facts regarding the lures.......you have absolutely no idea!
Just so you can get your facts in order, there were many anglers using my lures in the comp, there were a lot of fish caught on them. You are correct on one point, results do speak for themselves.........

I apologise for not providing the info you required but I was sick of wasting my time on a dickhead......

burners

Post by burners »

Goldfish is back as Flickin me thinks

Quote Flicken4em
"You're also right too an another point there : this forum is full of fkwits"

Nah....only ONE at the moment :fu:
craig.g

Post by craig.g »

Well I reckon at about $300 a day plus drinks is what I would spend on most holidays, poop ive spent $400 on a weekend fishing and camping on my boat with dickheads, who happen to be my mates!!

cheers Craig

ps blinky mate i rate ur lures, were catching fish at daly a month ago on em when the river gods decided to keep em all for themselves
Smokindrag

Post by Smokindrag »

"jeez mate you really are a true well respected ledgend of the North"l
"taking up more room in the trays of wannabe fishermen"
" I'm not slagging him just pointing out facts."
What planet are you from Flicken ? You were definitely slagging him.......
One minute you're bagging the s*^t out of people and next minute you're being all chummy with them.
If you've got such an issue with the members on here why don't you leave ? Oh that's right you have a bet on with your mate. Light tackle fishing or something. Except it isn't really light tackle. 20lb braid on a noodle ain't light......

Post by wazdog »

Go for gold Blinky!!!!! Keep making your quality lures buddy

Jeez, more drama on here than a Neighbours wedding episode!!.................... :lol: :P :bonk:
And to think I just used to come here from time to time to hear the thoughts and views of like minded fishos :roll: .

I wish I was involved with the Classic and Nats

Classic thread ...
Simmo83

Post by Simmo83 »

Both comps are invitational only but you ask for that invitation by submitting and EOI and the respective committee's of each club weigh up your application to consider offering you the chance to fish, sounds a bit rich i know but the venue is really only good for around 55 teams, i don't know how the Nationals handled 70 odd teams or Banyan Farm for that matter but it puts strain on the ramps, scores, resources, river space everything so this needs to be kept in mind for both competitions.
Bruce Simpson
197 Pioneer Sportfish - 175hp Honda.
Ex Sandgroper from Karratha
Member of KBGFC and DGFC.