Cahill Crossing this weekend

Tell us a camping story. Let us guess? You left the cooking oil and bog roll at home ...
rockviewau

Cahill Crossing this weekend

Post by rockviewau »

Hey all,

Im heading out this weekend to the stone country festival.

Ive never headed out across the crossing before and am not sure if my honda crv will do.
Planning on heading across on the low tide on saturday morning (3.1m) and head back on sunday morning (3.7m)

does anyone know if water will be across the crossing or what the go is???

cheers for the help

Lucas

bushie

Re: Cahill Crossing this weekend

Post by bushie »

I reckon cross at high tide. Drown the honda and use the insurance as a deposit on a new Toyota.
Sister Ed

Post by Sister Ed »

onya Bushie, thats sentimental
rockviewau

Post by rockviewau »

i wouldnt mind the insurance, but i do like my honda... only have it for a few more months too.....
GoodLookinPete

Post by GoodLookinPete »

Tie some poppers to the back of it, on second thoughts that might not be so good if a decent fish hooks up, you could end up down stream a little. :rofl:
anyxcuse

Post by anyxcuse »

gday rockviewau,
it takes a 5.5m and above to break over the crossing. check out willyweather under the kakadu link and it will give you cahills crossing tide times aswell. you'll be right though.
rockviewau

Post by rockviewau »

cheers mate. i will enjoy the drive!!!
Trier

Post by Trier »

Hi rockviewau, I've taken our CRV over the crossing before - only had about a foot of water over it, but my wife was a bit nervous; infact she had driven up to the crossing and then handed over the driving!! :lol: Probably NOT a good idea to get out and check the depth first though if you think it is marginal :croc:

And don't be convinced that Toyota's are bulletproof either, plenty of them been washed over the side 'cause their drivers reckoned "she'll be right mate, I'm in a Toyota (insert Cruiser, Troopy, Hilux as appropriate)......" :mrgreen:

Ash
-----------------

If it doesn't fit, get a bigger hammer and hit it harder!

'You can't have mudcrabs without mud'. My son John

You can go over in any car at low tide in the dry.

Post by Bullet »

Was there on Monday morn, would lucky to be 100mm at low tide, very dirty water on both sides, worst I've seen it.
Cheers Bullet

I LIVE WITH FEAR, SOMETIMES SHE LETS ME GO FISHING!

DON'T NEED BAIT!
little_fisher

Post by little_fisher »

well done mate