Nhulunbuy / Gove move :)

Tell us a camping story. Let us guess? You left the cooking oil and bog roll at home ...

Nhulunbuy / Gove move :)

Hi all
Have a job in Nhulunbuy starting in a month want to get ready for a long stint out there.
Any advice on essentials for living out there much appreciated. 8) 8)

pms

Re: Nhulunbuy / Gove move :)

Post by pms »

Boat + lots of tackle, pelagic, reef jigging. We went through truckloads of zman tails + griplock jigs in the 1/4 & 1/2 oz sizes. Mackrel lures esp halco red/whits in 3m+ and 5m+ are endangered. All the boat/ trailer service items you can think of!

As well as the usual estuary and offshore boat stuff, you can fish LB off the rocks for macks and trevally so a decent casting rod wouldn't go astray.

One of the essentials is to have a spare room available for when you invite me over fishing :D

HA HA HA

thanks guys will start stocking up.................yes will be a spare room too :)

would i need a small genny you reckon may power black outs out there ?

Rogee mate thanks for the tips

Will get organised
I am more barra orientated though so looks like i will struggle a bit :(
thesurfingbarra

Post by thesurfingbarra »

There are Barra to be caught in the harbour mate. Work the flats and drains as you would the harbour in Darwin/Bynoe. They are bit more difficult though.

If you get out to Arnhem bay/ Blue mud bay/ Buckingham bay that's where the bigger Barra are. Can be a bit a bit of mission but believe they have upgraded made it easier to launch at the Cato river in Arnhem bay or you can do the the 2 to 3 hour cruise around by boat. Only thing is this time of year the wind is there everyday now until build up. the South easterlies blow all dry season just about.

Watch the Fishing the wild series on youtube to get an idea of the fishing there.

Great info there TSB
Is the build up better than run off ...............if they even have a run off ?????

CHEERS.
thesurfingbarra

Post by thesurfingbarra »

fff1964 wrote: Tue May 12, 2020 3:22 pm Great info there TSB
Is the build up better than run off ...............if they even have a run off ?????

CHEERS.
Build up was better in my experience for all types of fishing. Not much of a run in the harbour area in gove pretty similar to Darwin harbour. (none) you get a bit in Arnhem bay and blue mud. but not like this side of the territory.
The tidal movements are a lot smaller also.

Thanks for all the advice guy's :D :D
not quite looking forward to it as much now :cry: :cry: ha ha
oh well hope they have squid :bonk: :bonk:

Anyway ill find something somewhere :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
COOPS

Post by COOPS »

Theres barra there. I only went there for a week but got some good barra with one metery.

Good luck with the move mate.
Might be out that way later in the year for some work.

See if you can get into Port Bradshaw with a tinny.

Also try fishing around Cape Arnhem and the Bauxite Shelf. Heaps of landbased queenies, trevs, macks and jacks.

Port Bradshaw is a special remote spot but access may be difficult, not sure the latest arrangements.

The many nearby islands have great pelagic fishing as well as reds, trout etc.

There is ciguatera in the area, usually after storms have stirred things up but it might happen at other times.

Might not be a barra hotspot but there is plenty more to catch.

In these non-run-off places barra are where you find them.

Good luck with the move mate.
Might have some work over there later in the year.