Lorella Springs

Tell us a camping story. Let us guess? You left the cooking oil and bog roll at home ...
Sweaty

Lorella Springs

Post by Sweaty »

Hi guys,

Looking at going to Lorella Springs in the coming dry season... Has anyone been and got any reviews..

Was looking at taking the family, what includes my two daughters 2yrs and 4yrs old along with the boat..

Anyone been and got any info??

Re: Lorella Springs

Hi Sweaty

Haven't been there but did some serious research recently as an alternative to our usual Roper destination.

Main homestead camp was 80 km away from fishing camps on Rosie Creek.

The 80km road has been reconstructed in last 12 months and is pretty good. Have to take everything down there or a round trip of 160km for fuel/supplies.

Some places for family visits like Emerald Pool, the Arch etc.

To be honest the 80km turned us off.

Have u thought about Limmen Fishing camp? Much better alternative I reckon.

I was just there in the middle two weeks of october.

The road in is ok but parts of it are full of bulldust and if yr towing something heavy it can be challenging in parts.there is a mining road through the property and on the way out i used it and saved some time and cut out a bad section of the track

the camp site is great .easy to put yr boat in.

the river is full of rockbars and it takes a few trips to learn them....actually way to many to learn in two weeks !!!!

the rosie is full of mangrove jack.every tree or rock bar has jacks on it.the mouth has heaps of queenies,trevellies,cod ect..

the barra fishing was very average.

you can pm me if you want some more imfo

cheers bm
Sweaty

Lorella Springs

Post by Sweaty »

Nah i haven't looked at limmen fishing camp, not exactly sure where it is..

I like the idea of the decent 4wding as well, will be a little tricky while towing a boat but might consider leaving that at the camp while 4wding.

Thanks for the info, anyone got any good times of the year to go? Do you think it would be possible to get out there for the run off..

the track from the homestead to rosie crk would be a disaster if it was wet.

by memory rhett normally opens the camp up around the end or middle of may depending on the rain
MOUSE

Post by MOUSE »

definitely not getting there for the run off, unless you go in via a long, long sea run
Boars, Barra, Bundy & Bare Arsed
Adventure Before Dementia
Sweaty

Lorella Springs

Post by Sweaty »

Nah pretty keen to drive, it's more of a family camping so not really worries about the run off, might just in July.. Nice and cool for camping..

not that far by sea actually, it's about 40km from mule ck ramp at bingbong, of course you'd have to be able to get to there via borroloola in the first place
definately be cool in july, nights were chilly in October!
Sweaty

Lorella Springs

Post by Sweaty »

That's not that far at all but 4 people and camping gear in a 4.7 Top Ender I might be pushing it lol...

Awesome there isn't enough cold nights in the Top End, 5 years here and I still prefer the cold.

mate you'll struggle with a 4.7 that creek is scary shallow and low tide lasts a loooong time every day the 2 major rockbars are passable only a couple of hours each side of high tide best bet would be to go with someone else who has a small tinny and leave the big boat moored below the rockbars (about 5km downstream) and shuttle back and forth, you'd have no problems launching your boat but you'll need some grunt to pull it through the bulldust sections on the way in

barra mick wrote:the river is full of rockbars and it takes a few trips to learn them....actually way to many to learn in two weeks !!!!
bahahahaa bm, wish I'd got a photo of you guys plowing into that shallow bit :D

take a spare prop sweaty :mrgreen:

Try this site as well http://www.exploroz.com/NT/Treks.aspx
They have a lot of info.
If you dont find what you want, ask the question on their forun as well
Sweaty

Lorella Springs

Post by Sweaty »

DAMM, i just got a new prop lol...

Might organize a mate with a roof top boat, just to have a little fun..

Pretty confident I wouldn't have any issues with the towing part, used to live in Wadeye and done my far share of SH!T driving... Along as there isn't to many Toyota to pull out on the way, should be a little fun..

itsinmeblood wrote:
barra mick wrote:the river is full of rockbars and it takes a few trips to learn them....actually way to many to learn in two weeks !!!!
bahahahaa bm, wish I'd got a photo of you guys plowing into that shallow bit :D

take a spare prop sweaty :mrgreen:

which time ??? i hit so many of them !!!

its a reflection of how tough the old 15 hp 2troke yammy is that i didnt break a prop !!! :mrgreen:

It was the time were were confidently following you thinking you had a shortcut through the shallow bits :lol: