Sucker for punishment - another boat build.....

deepblack

Re: Sucker for punishment - another boat build.....

Post by deepblack »

dannett wrote:
deepblack wrote: Cutting profiles and dimensions of motor well sorted as well as proof of concept, I love MDF for the planning phase. Fork ups at $12 a sheet with fast cutting and profiling versus $180 a sheet in 3mm alloy and no margin for error is worth it. Great way to figure out inner boat dimension issues and solutions prior to large outlays of money time and effort.
Some people use CAD (Cardboard Aided Design) for this purpose but thin MDF is a nice spin.
Dan
Yeah Dan, I've used "CAD" previously but I didn't have any good sheets tjis time and I like that the MDF holds it's shape so you can do things like this console as well.
IMG_20171123_203850.jpg

North Shore Reel Service 0400494401.

Few coats of polyurethane and that card console would be good for a year or two :D
deepblack

Post by deepblack »

I wish Matt! MDF is way easier to work with. That Tassie tight a#$e ethic is rubbing off on you bud. :lol:

Where did you put all the floatation that was in the rear seat?

Under the floor ? cant see it plated into the sides like a mate did when he removed both his seats ?

Did u add extra Styrofoam too as the 140 would be a fair bit heavier than the 80 its rated for and would pull the entire stern under when swamped ending up like the one out at the south alligator recently with just the tip of the bow out of the water instead of the entire boat sitting normally but full of water ???
deepblack

Post by deepblack »

Goldfish,
For the record that's me in the photo of the sunk boat at the South Alligator you mentioned.

Floatation will be packed in all available space under the floor and will be significantly more (about double or more ) than came with the boat but it will be the new closed cell sheet type rather than the polystyrene type out of the seats which is prone to degredation. There will also be foam sheet under the gunnel edges so that if the worst does happen it will hopefully prevent the boat turning turtle.
The Suzuki 140 is right on the maximum weight for the hull but I am adding weight to the hull so hence the extra floation. As an aside the floatation that quintrex put in the hull was a pitful amount that I wouldn't have trusted to float the boat anyway. Planning on doing a swamp test when everything is finished.

Why can't you see it? Well no point setting myself on fire whilst welding......
deepblack

Post by deepblack »

Quick photo update, sorry about the quality but looking sexier! Finally feel like I'm getting somewhere. 8)
IMG_20171126_225855.jpg
IMG_20171126_225926.jpg

:eating: Loving this post. Boat porn! :twisted:
deepblack

Post by deepblack »

Hi All,
Here is todays' effort, once again a poor photo due to the light but I put a better photo of the front from yesterday in as well. As I said yesterday I really feel like I'm making progress now. It's in the "execution" stage rather than the "planning" stage for this part of the build so things are happening quickly. Pretty happy with the quality of the build so far with the end results being clean and in keeping with the idea behind the build as a whole. Ie. Clean, unclutered and functional.
Cheers, :cheers:
John.
IMG_20171127_212539.jpg
IMG_20171127_212522.jpg
IMG_20171127_212327.jpg

coming along quickly mate.
deepblack

Post by deepblack »

Hi all,
Here's another update with the recent progress, the front bench seat is out and the front now has four extra ribs continuing at the level of the main deck. The plan at this point is to have effectively three "zones" in terms of front hatches the first zone being a set of three hatches with two small ones on the outside with bins for tackle and small gear storage with a large hatch in the centre for an esky for day trips and alternatively a 90l dual zone waeco fridge/freezer for overnighters.

The second zone will consist of one large hatch dedicated to dry storage for swags ect., the final "zone" in the triangle of the bow will consist of an anchor locker on the right and a "pop up" hatch design housing a 9" lowrance hds touch, the idea being that it's up and visible whilst in use but flips down and stows away in a waterproof hatch whilst underway.
IMG_20171204_202243.jpg
IMG_20171204_201947.jpg
The console is almost finished and is in for finishing welds at the moment. And to answer the inevitable comments, yes, it's big. It has to be to fit two hds 12 touch screens side by side and 4 × 130AH batteries on the bottom shelf. There is however more than enough room to move around it without going sideways and a binacle control is fitted to negate hitting the throttle controls on the way past. To be honest I spend a large amount of my time on the water behind the helm so I want it to be user friendly and comfortable so for me this does mean it's larger than most. Note the hole in centre is to accomodate an offset helm position to enable easier standing with less room needed.
IMG_20171204_202019.jpg
IMG_20171204_202050.jpg
Rod holders anyone? This might seem excessive but in truth I may need more! :lol: Anyone who is serious about offshore trolling will tell you that you can never have enough rod holders. When you start throwing bent butt 50lb/80lb and dedicated teaser outfits like I run that require additional non-offset holders into the mix the gunnels get crowded fast!
IMG_20171204_202124.jpg
As an aside here is a good tip, weld in rod holders are nothing new however they only come in 30° offset and don't have liners, the rod holders below come in 0° and 30° offset and have liners and go for around $25.00 each. A quick scuff to remove the anodising (doesn't weld or paint well) and weld in the mounting holes and they are good to go. :mrgreen:
IMG_20171204_202156.jpg
Taking a day off from it tommorrow as I've sweat enough in the last few days! Been willing to kill for a cold beer by the afternoon... :drinking2:

Anyway hope you like the update and as usual watch this space!

Cheers, :cheers:
John.

Coming along nicely John. What is your estimate of the weight; hull/boat only, once complete? I think you started at around 450kg?

Lools great John!

I see a critical design fault ... no room for stubby holders.

Coming along nicely John , totally agree on the Rod holders I've got 9 and still put 2 extras on .

Great post , can't wait to see it completed , cheers
deepblack

Post by deepblack »

NBN wrote:Coming along nicely John. What is your estimate of the weight; hull/boat only, once complete? I think you started at around 450kg?
130- 140kg net gain overall. Mostly in the console, tank and casting deck.
Matt Flynn wrote:I see a critical design fault ... no room for stubby holders.

They're coming! :lol: Will be recessed into the ledge on the console, in the gunnel up on the bow and on a bait board at the back.
Cheers, :drinking1:
John.