Let's see your rig

Nepenthe

Post by Nepenthe »

The "Nepenthe" (Drug for relief from grief Greek) :fishing:

Hull- 6m Starboat (WA) plate alloy circa 1984 bought in 2000 with a recon 120 hp petrol Mercruiser Stern drive for $3,000.00. Shes an oldie but a goodie.

Refit 2006 by me and mates, including:

Cummins Mercruiser 120 hp turbo diesel sterndrive, 10-12 lt hour @18-20 knots cruise (33-37kph). 240 Lt underfloor gives an easy 500km + range with reserve :grin: . Clocked her WOT at 31.5 knots (58kph) @ 4400rpm. :o

Rewire with dedicated start/house dual battery system, voltage sensitive relay charging and hard wired onboard battery charger. Third 100AH Deep Cycle fridge battery for the 50lt or 80lt Waecos (which I love by the way).

Rebuilt and gal dipped trailer.

New electronics Plotter/Sounder, VHF, CD player etc.

Same old paint cause it dont help me catch fish, improve economy or stay afloat (and I ran out of $).

All up cost 30k including purchase.

noundz

Post by noundz »

G'day KK,
The boat has not been in Brinkin. It was in Bakewell(SP) earlier this year when we first brought it up from Yatala and stayed at my mothers house until we got it barged to Groote.(did want to boat it over :smoking: ) It does get mistaken for a Razerline :mrgreen:

Slug,
We dont have any drama's launching/retreiving, the missus is good behind the wheel :bow: I just grab the bow and guide it onto the rollers and she gunn's it till I winch the last bit :cheers: We have got fairly good over the years

happy fish'n :fishing: :fishy: :fishy: :fishing:

Kevin Kevinson wrote:well heres my little piece of green envy

she's a 4.1 poly challenger with a 50 4st suzie

goes well, around 55kph i am guessing, and recon i would get that to over 60 with a decent prop on her.

i can believe how stable it is...three blokes all on one side and hardly moves. suits the subaru forester perfectly and very happy with my decision to buy :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

KK, what a ripper, look forward to seeing the green boat on the green river!

I'm looking at a console for my boat and yours is exactly what I want.

As for names, Kermit lives at the Daly Pub, how about Envy........as in green with......!!!

Cheers, james.

Nepenthe,thats a nice tidy motor bay there how do you find the sterndrive compared to outboards I see you are getting great fuel consumption.

What type of console are you after Punter?
I have one here. I'll take some photo's.
You can have it for a bottle of Slate if it's suitable.

Nepenthe

Post by Nepenthe »

Yeah Max the fuel economy is the attraction and the reliabiity of diesel is a bonus, on a good day I can squeeze almost 3km per litre out of her at 30-35 kph. The first decent trip I did was 220km overnight to the Perons from Dundee taking in Sail and Channel Point on the way for 87 litres. Not bad in a 6m boat, the extra torque allows her to spin a bigger prop almost regardless of load. :grin:

Carrying the weight down low in the hull also improves the ride, list or porpoise generally aren't issues. You do pay a little in terms of space but a little layout planning helps. Servicing is a touch more expensive (I think), about $500.00 per year for a major service but other than that its just oil, filters and grease etc like any other diesel vehicle.

I considered a pod/outboard conversion but with fuel prices doing their dance the long term economy/reliability thing won out.

Cheers Nep
PeterT

Post by PeterT »

Thats not bad for a major Nep, I just paid 565 for a major on my suzi 115

pete
Mullaking

Post by Mullaking »

My 6.1 Trailcraft soon to be badged "Escapism".
Even sooner to be put through its paces out the back of the Perons where red emps will be stalked and hopefully bagged.
I only work to support my fishing habit

Opera Non Verba

"Escapism".

love the name :applause: :applause: look out reds :hunting:
Fishhead

Post by Fishhead »

whoa... nice trailey Mulla :mrgreen: I got a 5.7 profish... love it, sometimes lust for a cabin tho... :angel: good luck with the reds mate :cheers:

Looks good Mullaking. Looking forward to dragging a few fish over the side of that. :cheers:

Gibbo

Post by Gibbo »

She,s 52 foot ex prawn trawler out of Newcastle
called Cdragon u guessed it named after the mighty Saints
go the Saints in 08
is a work in progress i guess you could call it
owned it for nearly a year is currently in Cullen Bay
hopefully...fingers crossed first trip will be just after xmas
has a 8cyl 8L3B gardner using around 18lt an hour
holds 4500lt of fuel and 1600lt of fresh water
will be fully airconed when finished
will have a bar.......most important :cheers: :cheers:
and a walk in freezer :bow: :bow:
sleeps 8,a shower and toilet for the wife(a must have i,ve een told)
so will be looking for deckies in the new year
cheers :cheers: :cheers:
FISHING IS LIFE
----------------------

Looks comfortable Gibbo. What sort of speeds? 6-8 knots cruise?

Night Stalker

Post by Night Stalker »

Very Cool. All the comforts of home.
Should"nt find it to hard to find some deckies for that ride.

john
I contend that where you fish is the
most important factor in catching fish.

That will be the mother ship from hell when ya done Gibbo... would be happy to deckie on her for ya :mrgreen:

I love A/C :grin:

Return to “Boats, Motors, Vehicles & Trailers”