How would you rate your GS Xtreme as an offshore boat?

adam

Post by adam »

Congrats Sconik, welcome to the family :rofl: You wont be disappointed :drinking1:

Sconik

Post by Sconik »

:drinking8: Adam,
Can't wait mate. Tis a fast growing family indeed.
noundz

Post by noundz »

Sconik wrote,
an order will go in for the XM550TC.
Don't be in too much of a hurry, my brother-in-law's 550 took 7+ months :shock: and he opted to pay in full up front :evil: Something to do at the China end of the deal apparently. Then once he got it they didn't even go out with him on sea trials, just told him to drop into Manton Dam on his way to Katherine :shock: So he did and guess what, he ran out of fuel only a short way into the trip :evil: :sailing: To top if off , his maiden fishing trip, the live bait plumbing had a broken fitting (force feed on the plane) and the boat filled up with water to the point where all the under floor storage got flooded killing the digital camera down there :evil:

The story has a happy ending :mrgreen: The company fixed the plumbing, I believe replaced the camera and towed the boat back to Katherine :clap:

This is probably a isolated case and it does happen at other dealers but they came up with the goods :mrgreen: Could have all been avoided if the sea trials were carried out in the first place :bonk:

Not knocking the boats or company probably get one when I move to Darwin :grin:

Just a experience my brother-in-law had :mrgreen:
Sconik

Post by Sconik »

G'Day Noundz,
I think their current average completion time is around 16-18 weeks. Not a concern for me anyway. Am going overseas in a couple months and won't be back until October.

As far as the 'China end' goes, i'm told that everything is now done in Australia, and will likely remain that way.

Sounds as though your brother-in-law was just very unlucky. Good to hear GS Marine came to the party though. Is he happy with the boat now?

Scotty
noundz

Post by noundz »

As far as the 'China end' goes, i'm told that everything is now done in Australia, and will likely remain that way.
That is good news, it must only be recent though, cause he only just got it before Chrissy.
Is he happy with the boat now?
Will get back to you on that one, he is on his week off and fishing in it :mrgreen:(the boat only got dropped off while he was working over here) I can't see why not though, is a beautiful boat and finished well 8-)
Sconik

Post by Sconik »

Yep, I spoke with them just before Chrissy and that was the low down. I was quite happy to hear that too.

Which set-up did he go for?? Centre, Side or Tournament Classic?

Scotty
noundz

Post by noundz »

He got the TC in side console. Better for sleeping on

Posted a couple of pics :mrgreen:
Sconik

Post by Sconik »

Pretty sure I saw that particular boat in there when I went down for a chat the first time. Is it just the light or is the paint job 2 tone?

Awesome looking rig. Great name too. :mrgreen:

doggies66

Post by doggies66 »

Hey Sconik, Will that be a new boat when you get back, also did you get the Hilux????????????????????/
Sconik

Post by Sconik »

Yep, new boat indeed as per this thread.

Picked the Hilux up a few weeks ago. Flew down to South Oz and drove it back up. 2002 dual cab 3ltr diesel. Just got it back from having 5th gear replaced and also put in a heavy duty clutch whilst they were at it. Goes well.
Very happy indeed. Just need to add some decent wheels, driving lights, long range tank and dual batteries and she'll be ready to rock and roll.

Now you've got me wondering who Doggies66 is.
:-? :-? :-? :-? :-? :-? :-? I don't recall mentioning the Hilux on the Forum.

Scotty
noundz

Post by noundz »

Is it just the light or is the paint job 2 tone?
It is just the light, awesome paint job though 8-)
Sconik

Post by Sconik »

Did he go for the metallic paint?
adam

Post by adam »

Interesting about the length of time its taking to do them up now as mine from memory took 5 or 6 weeks, they must be busy++++. They also offered to drive mine down to Katherine for me and stayed after work to take me for a test run. Ive found Gary and all the team excellent to deal with, great company, cant recommend them highly enough. :fishing:
doggies66

Post by doggies66 »

Hey Sconik,

Thought that might get you guessing, I use to work at the some place as you and your wife was working in my section. If you have a look at my latest post you'll see a pic of me..

Crocbit

Post by Crocbit »

Hi just noted the artiucle, i have a 4.8 xtreme, love it. As said here previously can get a bit wet in the chop and a breeze from 10 or 2 oclock but safe as houses (any excess is takjen out by bilge pump. Have the 115 suzuki on it, no worries went to cape hotham on weekend no problems. (Mine is Cols Cords. No1) however trailer is another story.....