Re: Dealer complaints

X3 for progress motor...

barratrooper1

Post by barratrooper1 »

Got a recall notice from toyota, so made an appointment for bridge toyota on friday morning, 8 am.
I arrived a bit late, 8.30, no worries, got out of the hilux, and some bird thrusts a beaut coffee and an NT news into my hands.....wtf, was I still asleep and dreaming? Then they tell me it will be done in about an hour, I say thanks, but I have a few things to do in town, so I walk to FODW, get have a chat about the cricket, and my phone rings, car, s all done. WTF, they said about an hour? And it had been about an hour!
I had to check where I was, never had I experienced such service in Darwin, never anywhere like that! How long can they keep it up?
Fantastic service, best ive experienced any where, any buisness, thanks Bridge Toyota.

So they should barratrooper. Its a recall.
First good thing I've heard about bridge Toyota in a long time, and I used to work there.

sharkbait

Post by sharkbait »

I know this thread is about dealer complaints, but I thought I share a good experience from some air con work I recently had done on a home aircon. Last Friday I phoned Luke from L&Aair to get an aircon fixed. I phoned Friday lunchtime expecting to book in the following week but he was extemely helpful in diagnosing the suspected fault over the phone and was able to drop past that afternoon on the way home to confirm the fault and order parts.
He was able to cover the repairs under warranty so I can't say what his prices are, but as far as customer service goes, he was excellent.
If anyone needs home aircon repairs I'd suggest giving Luke a call, 0416 834 495.
Anon

Post by Anon »

In & Outboard Marine.

Excellent service from Lindsay and Mick. Always helpful and fast working.

Also Darwin Auto Mobile Care for vehicle mechanical.

+1 for the service at Toyota. They are brilliant of late.

still not impressed about the service from BH Marine. Told to flush motor. Did as the manual states. First service and they say it needed new thermostats, water pump and housing. 80hrs since last service. WTF

Motor has overheated since I brought it if held on full throttle for too long. Cavitation burn marks on my prop. Overheat alarm.

Now they say don't flush it with the ears as it forces water into the motor and it will never get to operating temperature to open the thermostats to flush properly. Tells me to put it in the tub to flush it.

Do as directed and there is no temp difference between the ears and tub. 51 degrees Max idling for 15-30 minutes. Be interesting to see what they say next. Was than told the cavitation burn marks are from a small dag on the bottom of the hull. Call all other dealers and ask if they have ever Seen that. All replied hahahahahahahahahahahaah no... If that's the case everyone would have burn marks.

Old motor never had them after 6 years. This one does after 6 months. No.offer to fix it.

Hmmmmm
sdc2300

Post by sdc2300 »

That makes me laugh Brendon
Some people have no idea trying to make excuses because they don't know
if it has cavitation burns on the prop its because the motor is not set to right height or it has the wrong prop
im with you Darwin mobile auto care awesome bunch of guys very professional pitty they don't service boats
If you aint living on the edge you aint living
Anon

Post by Anon »

Sdc2300 any recommendations on who I Can take it to to try sorting the issue. The burn.marks are getting worst and it's now pitting pretty bad. Sick of the excuses and want it fixed.
sdc2300

Post by sdc2300 »

talk to Marcus at northern prop services I think he is in Winnellie he should be able to help
you need to look a where the motor is sitting on the boat . sometimes its a fine line between to high and too low , what hull do you have
also with the Honda outboards they don't seem to trim down as far as others you may need to fit wedges to get the down trim right
when I bought my boat the motor looked right on the height wise but I felt it could perform better I ended up lifting the motor as far as it could go and redrilling the holes it made a huge difference , but the dealer told me the height was correct as they fitted it
im guessing you have a solas prop
also have a chat to Steve at solas he is very very helpful in setting up boats , motors and height
see how you go
Anon

Post by Anon »

Thanks mate.

I'll track Marcus down today.

Also Jai from Custom Concepts NT has done amazing work on my quintrex fishseeker. Highly recommend him and completed the whole fit out in 6 days
stuart

Post by stuart »

Wow brendan that is a awesome set up congrats
sdc2300

Post by sdc2300 »

fantastic job very well thought out , pitty about the motor issues

Funny that Brendan is the only one with these issues. Also I believe you received a phone call brendan .

Anon

Post by Anon »

I have received a call Scotty. Unfortunately I am busy this week and won't be able to get the boat in. Also funny it's taken a post on here before Byron called about it. Last time I was in there Jon and Him dismissed my concerns.

Also funny how the yammi that was taken off the boat after 6 years had no cavitation burn marks on the prop.

John (Deepblack) can also comment on that given its his old boat.

Not arguing with you about what's been said previously, as i wasnt a part of those discussions, just wanted you to comment on good and bad. its obvious that it still needs to come down further or maybe have a permatrim fitted which will also help with the porpoising. Your hull is quite deep and we do go through a process of checking cav plate height to the keel, all i meant by my comment is I have done many other hulls including quintrexs, seajay, Formosa's and trailcraft. Other then wedges on one trailcraft there's never been a issue with height. Long story short I've done what I can to try to sort the situation anyways. Also try to remember Byron is still in and out of hospital I know its not a excuse in business or regarding service but honestly when I mentioned it to him all he wanted to do was help and he does forget the occasional thing too mate so just cut him a bit of slack.

:eating: