Ranger/BT-50 or Amarok

Fish Tank

Re: Ranger/BT-50 or Amarok

Post by Fish Tank »

Dundee Hombre wrote:After owning 2 rubbish 4 x 4s a Nissan Patrol the a diesel Nissan 4x4 ute. I had a 4 Runner petrol job that got flogged and handled the Dundee dirt road for 8 years. Bought a Landcruiser ute diesel and it was tough it carried my entire house in building products to Dundee, did trips everywhere and towed the boat without feeling it there. My first brand new car was a Rav 4 it has 80,000 Kms needs a new clutch, but I also have bought a brand new Hilux automatic use it for work all across the NT, its the poverty pack, need the key to open the doors, manuel windows. It came with a bullbar fitted and only cost $38K so talk about value and that was from Bridge. I put a lift kit through it, beefed up the suspension, wide tyres, duel battery, ute canopy, sidesteps, whacked a fridge in the back. Its just gone 2 years old and travelled 90,000 km across the Tanami x2, Plenty x2, Central Arnhem, Maningrida x2, Sandover, Nathan River Road to Borroloola x2 and back and forth to Alice 4 times and hasnt missed a beat. Tows the 6.3 m research vessel easily to 100kmph. Oh what a feeling!
Love the 4-Runners. My RV6 has been a awsome truck. Just a Hilux with a wagon body without the harsh ride. I now have one for sale if your interested?

Fish Tank

Post by Fish Tank »

I have taken possession of my new BT50. :clap:

I'd just like to share what a refreshing experience it was dealing with the interstate dealer. Nothing was too much trouble, everything was well organised and they did what they said they would. I had a slight problem at the MVR, one call to the dealer and it was fixed in 5 mins. The vehicle was fitted out perfectly and it was completed and tansported here quickly.

Every time I get something or have something fixed in Darwin I prepare for the battle and stress that inevitably ensues. This time, no worries and I got a great deal. :mrgreen:

Moral of the story, don’t be afraid to shop interstate if you’re not getting the love from your local dealer.
Crack

Post by Crack »

Going through the same issue now as I'm looking to update the old Tojo.
After reading this thread I'll probably steer away from the Amarok. My brother-in-law has one and has had no issues and you only really hear the bad stuff but don't think I'd have the confidence in it, so looking at the Ranger/BT-50, D-max or maybe hilux.
As much as I believe Toyota has been left behind in a lot of areas, their build quality is still good so I haven't counted them out.
As for looking interstate, I would prefer to shop local but sometimes it's just not worth it.
Fish Tank

Post by Fish Tank »

Crack wrote:Going through the same issue now as I'm looking to update the old Tojo.
After reading this thread I'll probably steer away from the Amarok. My brother-in-law has one and has had no issues and you only really hear the bad stuff but don't think I'd have the confidence in it, so looking at the Ranger/BT-50, D-max or maybe hilux.
As much as I believe Toyota has been left behind in a lot of areas, their build quality is still good so I haven't counted them out.
As for looking interstate, I would prefer to shop local but sometimes it's just not worth it.
Don't forget to look in Katherine and Alice Springs too, for new Toyotas. They're often cheaper than here and more helpful. At least your keeping the money in the territory.

Fish Tank wrote:I have taken possession of my new BT50. :clap:

I'd just like to share what a refreshing experience it was dealing with the interstate dealer. .
Good on you. Now you can look forward to dealing with the local mob. :banghead: :banghead:

We were talking about new 4wd a couple days ago while going to a job. 3 blokes in the car myself included had late model hilux and the other a die hard ford man with a done up 2012 ford wildtrac ranger. The 3 hilux owners have been 50/50 about buying another hilux but all unsure on what's better out there.

One of the bloke driving a hilux recently crash into a bluff on the way to shady. The car held together great , they had to pull the bull bar off the front wheels to make it drivable . The hilux was fixed at the panel beaters and they reckon only a hilux would have survived that impact. Others would have been a write off.

Hilux may not have the best performance , over priced , old technology blah blah. But an indestructible strong car which might save your life with a strong resale value . I'm probably going hilux again after seeing the photos of the crash.

One good point we raise about resale value. How much would you pay for a Amorak, ranger, BT or hilux that's 5 years old 120k on the clock. Would you buy a second hand amorak, ranger or BT .
Dundee Hombre

Post by Dundee Hombre »

The new model Hilux yet to be released has many more new features and is beefed up. Problem is it wont be released for another two years! Why because the current model is still one of the best sellers across Australia.
http://www.carsguide.com.au/car-reviews ... view-12823

Do they have the 5 start ancap rating yet?
Fish Tank

Post by Fish Tank »

nomad wrote:
Fish Tank wrote:I have taken possession of my new BT50. :clap:

I'd just like to share what a refreshing experience it was dealing with the interstate dealer. .
Good on you. Now you can look forward to dealing with the local mob. :banghead: :banghead:
Im only going to get my trusted Mechanic to service the vehicle. Might take it to the local dealer once every 2-3 years to get it on the diagnostics and software updates.

Me too but they have to do warranty
my a/c failed and they replaced the left hand side only. 2 mths later and the right side failed. So true to form, they replaced the left side again. :bonk:
Took it back and they replaced the whole unit. BUT when they handed it back, there was a 300mm long sct=ratch on the drivers door.
Back again

Take a video before you drop it off for warranty
Scarey

Post by Scarey »

balou wrote:We were talking about new 4wd a couple days ago while going to a job. 3 blokes in the car myself included had late model hilux and the other a die hard ford man with a done up 2012 ford wildtrac ranger. The 3 hilux owners have been 50/50 about buying another hilux but all unsure on what's better out there.

One of the bloke driving a hilux recently crash into a bluff on the way to shady. The car held together great , they had to pull the bull bar off the front wheels to make it drivable . The hilux was fixed at the panel beaters and they reckon only a hilux would have survived that impact. Others would have been a write off.

Hilux may not have the best performance , over priced , old technology blah blah. But an indestructible strong car which might save your life with a strong resale value . I'm probably going hilux again after seeing the photos of the crash.

One good point we raise about resale value. How much would you pay for a Amorak, ranger, BT or hilux that's 5 years old 120k on the clock. Would you buy a second hand amorak, ranger or BT .
Mate the Ranger is one of the safest cars you can buy anywhere and easily the most solidly build ute.. Have a look underneath, the chassis on them is thicker than a 70 series. There's a reason they weigh 2-300kg more than all the other utes.

All the top 4x4s have 5 star Ancap ratings.
The ford Ranger leads them all on over-all scoring points.
But the fiqures are so close that in an decent accident it all comes down to how fast your going and how much luck is on your side...

Hilux is still the biggest selling 4x4 (in its class) in Australia but Triton & Ranger are closing in that fast that if Hilux
dont do something to improve their on build quailty & value for money etc.. they'll be overtaken in no time.
The modern Hilux is still running & selling off its reputation from the 1990's & earlier 00's... They wont be able to maintain that
the way they are going & they way other companies are catching up..

At least itll mean better vehicles, better options & better prices for us...?!
Last edited by Hemi on Fri Jun 20, 2014 12:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Fish Tank

Post by Fish Tank »

balou wrote:We were talking about new 4wd a couple days ago while going to a job. 3 blokes in the car myself included had late model hilux and the other a die hard ford man with a done up 2012 ford wildtrac ranger. The 3 hilux owners have been 50/50 about buying another hilux but all unsure on what's better out there.

Only way to test it is to drive a Hilux and a BT50 into a buffalo. BT50/Ranger has been built from scratch with an ANCAP 5 star rating and saftey in mind. The hilux has had bits added on as they go to bring it up to 5 star finally in the 2014 modal.

On resale ... I think you'll find the latest model Ranger/BT50 will be a desirable ute in the future, but I don't expect to sell mine for another 10 years so... who cares.
west head gummies

Post by west head gummies »

I have a 2011 amarock 70.000 km.trendline great car but abit stiff but considering german techknowledgy I would recommend.spent 25 years with a 84 hilux 4wd sr5. you just got to get used to it.also a2002 st patrol best car 3lt turbo great comfortable ride gib river rd roper hwy knugker numblewar with ally boat on trailer cheers west head gummies