Deckies. Good ones and Bad ones...

Re: Deckies. Good ones and Bad ones...

luke79 wrote:Hmm I prefer to just fish alone than bother with deckies..
Me too
luke79 wrote: fair enough we all need to let a little gas out at times but seriously spending hours listening to someone near on poop their pants gets old very quickly..
Its better to have an empty house than a bad tennant :lol:

I like to run the deckies hat over if it blows off on the plane. I found straw hats dont stand up to the prop. The only time all the rules go out the window is if the decky is female and wearing a bikini
luke79

Post by luke79 »

Bikini clad deckies can get away with almost anything..

Ive only had one bikini clad girl deckie but we didnt get much fishing done.
ajbear

Post by ajbear »

Geez I'm glad I'm not the only one that has had a few bad experiences with dodgy deckies. Like a few other people I prefer to fish alone than take someone who could possibly ruin the day. There are however a few exceptions to this rule, My Mrs (that one's a given) my old man and my brother (another given) The father in law gets a trip every now and then I have to tie his knots but I put up with that because we take his car a fair bit so he's forgiven. About the only other bloke who gets a regular trip is a bloke i work with takes his car most times and offers to pay for fuel when we take mine even washes the boat while I'm on fillet duty!! Maybe I'm a bit lucky or just carefull who i invite.
Cheers Aj
Just remember if all else fails "try like F##K" !!!!!!!

I dunno how fishing guides do it, taking out newbies every week, who make the same old mistakes, having to undo their tangles, unhook their snags, dodge trebles flying past the face from both sides, watching gear abused through ignorance, making their lunch, pulling the pick, tying knots and then having to entertain when the fish aren't biting and the punters are sore because they paid a small fortune ... fishing guides have one of the world's tough jobs. Anyone who thinks it's easy is seriously misinformed!

I reckon your right there Matt , they are underpaid no amount of money would be worth it.I seen a punter getting up a guide at Pt Stuart because his towel hadnt been changed,Id love to hear some of the guides stories ? anyone

Matt Flynn wrote:I dunno how fishing guides do it, taking out newbies every week, who make the same old mistakes, having to undo their tangles, unhook their snags, dodge trebles flying past the face from both sides, watching gear abused through ignorance, making their lunch, pulling the pick, tying knots and then having to entertain when the fish aren't biting and the punters are sore because they paid a small fortune ... fishing guides have one of the world's tough jobs. Anyone who thinks it's easy is seriously misinformed!

+1

I for one definatley would not have the patients after watching them at work out the south. Im sure they would get there good trips to , just like we get our bad and good days at work.

Would hate it for a job....... Might be ok to fill a day here and there but not everyday

ajbear

Post by ajbear »

Yeah those guys are far more patient than I would ever be!! Casting the rod out at the begining of a trolling run for blokes that have no idea Then watching as they strike at every snag the lure bumps over. Not to mention the birds nests the high sticking oh and the complaints about the fish not jumping into the boat. The guides deserve a medal IMHO. On the up side there would be a few good trips too I'm sure
Just remember if all else fails "try like F##K" !!!!!!!

good to hear a few people have the same rules, i have had both bad and good over the years, if they listen at least you are halfway there

I now have a deckie in traning

He is only 12, but can reverse the boat off the trailer, drive it on the trailer, even at Buff ck with a bit of tide.
He helps clean up, mind yu, it took a few years to teach him, and threats that he wouldn't be able to come again, can tie his own knots and uses his own gear,(even though most of it has been raided from my tackle box)

Main problem i have is getting him to throw in for fuel!!

never know one day i will be his deckie, but he probly won't want to take me then!!! lol

ajbear wrote:Yeah those guys are far more patient than I would ever be!! Casting the rod out at the begining of a trolling run for blokes that have no idea Then watching as they strike at every snag the lure bumps over. Not to mention the birds nests the high sticking oh and the complaints about the fish not jumping into the boat. The guides deserve a medal IMHO. On the up side there would be a few good trips too I'm sure
Being a fishing guide would be the best job in the world if you could control three factors

1, The weather
2, The amount of fish you catch
3, The people you have on board

The problem is that no one can control any of those factors. :banghead:

On one bluewater charter where I had 12 clients they caught 12 jewies, 12 macs, 24 goldies and a mixed bag of reef fish on a dead flat day only to have one punter say that the fishing was slow and that they hadnt caught much. I had the best of aspect 1 and 2 but number 3 was a wanker that didnt have a clue what fishing was all about.

On another day I caught sweet F A and had punters offering me tips for a great day. Go figure.

The worst I had was a German fellow who walked into the wheelhouse first thing in the morning before a charter and said without a word of a lie 'If we dont catch fish today I kill you". I took it as a joke but im not sure it was a very funny one. :(

On another occasion I had a big tattood biky looking fella get that sea sick that he threatened to kill me if I didnt take them back to land. I was a bit dubious and shat my self for the whole day as this was at 11am and we didnt finish the trip untill 5pm.

On a up side have met some people who have been great. One guy was an accountant and saved me $ on my tax that I wasnt getting before.

Another guy is a million air in Sydney and gave me access to his place on the water front any time I want it. Also offered to pay for me to fish a bill fish comp down there with his team. To go with that put his gold card over the bar on many occasions on drinking sessions.

Have had many experiances along those lines both good and bad. Interesting job as a whole and better then being in an office. Sometime you just have to tune out and accept that wankers will always be wankers, weather comes and go and fish play the game sometimes and better times are only around the corner when it all turns bad. :mrgreen:

Agent86 wrote:good to hear a few people have the same rules, i have had both bad and good over the years, if they listen at least you are halfway there

I now have a deckie in traning

He is only 12, but can reverse the boat off the trailer, drive it on the trailer,
I can vouch for that, my wife and I have witnessed these efforts

have a few deckies who have entered the blacklist book.
But the deckie that went straight to the top of the list was the one that on an overnight trip to the narrows
Went to sleep at 9 and SNORED like a train till 5.30 :sleep:
Bumped and stood on him for most of the night but he would only mumble roll over and continue snoring.
Would have understood if he was p...ed but he took a 6 pak of rum and had only one.
Didnt even get up when I hooked and landed a nice jewie :bonk:
had to cook him breaky the next morning
and he had a winge the next day that all he got was some PT,s :rofl:

Hey there Agent 86, I know that you had two really good ones a little while back :rofl: :rofl: