what's the best barra session you've ever had??

whats the best on session barra you've had

+10 fish
10%
+20 fish
14%
+30 fish
20%
+50 fish
28%
+100 fish
22%
+200 fish or more
6%

Total votes: 83

davent

Re: what's the best barra session you've ever had??

Post by davent »

well over 100 barra at the cato, biggest 103, smallest a mouse of about 30cm. actually caught 2 barra on the one lure.
but the best session i had was in Buckingham bay, 20 fish ,all over 90, including 3 0ver the meter. no real huge fish, biggest 108, but smallest was still above 90cm.

Manton mad

Post by Manton mad »

Know of this little spot on the lizzy river not far from were salt water meets the fresh
best spot in darwin the best iv'e done from there was around 20 in 2 hours
Stacks of barra as well as some big bl..dy lizards to
fishing is my addiction there is no cure

Have had sessions at Shady barrage in the 50-100 on fly
Does get a bit boring with most small but the bigger ones in between break up the monotony
AJH

Post by AJH »

17 keepers in 1 1/2 hours - 5 minutes from the boat ramp at Numbulwar.

Shady fresh about 10 years ago. drifting from a small cartopper. Got about 25 in 100m drift in 50 odd casts
Best trout was 87 in a day in tassie
Ibbsy

Post by Ibbsy »

Best would be 4 mile 75 in 4 hours a fish a cast at times
best for size was up the east 45 average fish 80-90cm in 3 hours amazing trip

Reviving this ancient thread as it's worth a read. Had a couple of 100+ trips down the Daly in runoff
joesgotone

Post by joesgotone »

I had a night at Shady barrage about 12 years ago when I caught some line with a Terror Eyes lure on it. I used that lure and caught well over a hundred fish that night and in the morning when the sun came up it was a fish every cast (never happens after sun up). The biggest were around 70cm but the numbers were crazy. My fishing mate was also hooking up quite often but not every cast like me. I have a collection of these lures now but haven't been back. I believe the rock where they were hiding has gone since the ramp was built. If you could.\,t cast far enough you hooked nothing. I had a tourist stand next to me with his 50lb mono and leave without catching a single fish. My mate was fishing from the ramp area to get to the spot the fish were hiding in. Was just talking about this trip with him a few days ago.
how many is enough lures, rods and reels. Is there a magic number, considering you usually only catch 1 fish on a single lure on the one rod and reel your casting with.

Interesting that despite all the net bans etc you don't hear so much about the big sessions, or multiple 120cm+ fish.
FITZY

Post by FITZY »

Matt the problem is the NETS have been banned but the pros are still sneaking in and netting the areas .I have seen a boat in the Finniss that full of fish it could get up on the plane and was after the ban and also more remote areas where the nets are fully across the river with not a gap to get a boat through . We need the netters to be nowhere near these main fishing rivers . 20 years ago plenty of people were keeping fish over 100cm but these days it is rare but we still have decline in big barra .

Me and others have called fisheries to report this but nothing is ever done. They prefer to make an example of a couple blokes with 2 swim bladders or a couple skinned fillets in the esky

Well said Fitzy.

We’ve hit nets at night that have stretched over 400m (joined & maybe 500m) with no legally required spacing (usually between ’the‘ 2 nets, and lights as a required nav mark) ’inside’ many bays that have 2 or 3 creek systems running into them that they weren’t supposed to be near.

I also have seen where a particular competition held some where in the NT where a particular operator that didn’t particularly renew their particular license for that particular season was moored for 3 weeks and had small boats coming and going.... All day, every day and bl..dy miles from their base. Strong accusations? Yep. :fubird:

I used to get around Darwin Harbour of the night time pretty regularly too. There were bandits around then.
I reckon they're still around. Remember the Jew fish dumped out Channel Rd way with only the bladders taken and about 7 months ago the arrests at Lizzie River ramp around 0300 in the morning. Just need to pay attention everyone.

Your actions are sustainable fishing. Just saying. :naughty:

Forget the fisheries. If your concerned, ring the Water Police or the NT Coppers who’ll have everything in order for when a shiny fisheries delegate decides to show up in court.
FITZY

Post by FITZY »

i know a pro jewy fisherman that has told me the nearly every time he fishes a certain spot on neap tides he has one or 2 other non commercial boats fishing the area and he see's lots of jewys floating past as these guys have taken the swim bladders out and thrown the fish away . He has rang the police and the always say they are busy and will send a car out when they can to the nearest boat ramp . The problem is they turn up 8 hours later when the illegal fishos have packed up and gone.