Shady Camp

Feeling Lucky-

Post by Feeling Lucky- »

Thanks mate. Sounds similar to love creek and swim creek you just fish the mouth of the creek during the run off?

Life is what you make of it.
Matt Flynn-

Shady Camp

Post by Matt Flynn- »

I fished Marsh, Swim and Sampan Creeks last week - there were hundreds of rat barra up at the Marsh Creek barrage, good fun on light gear. Heaps of crocs down at the Marsh mouth, but didn't see any big barra there, I don't understand why all the crocs weren't up at the barrage with all the small barra, maybe "godzilla" lives up there and has the place to himself.

Chad landed a metre fish at the Sampan mouth at the crack of dawn - we would have landed more but we went to Swim Creek for a look and it had too much fresh coming out, and by the time we got back to our spot someone else was there and landed two bigguns.

I reckon the Chambers Bay creek mouths are the place to be right now, but they only fire at certain times of the tide, plus dawn and dusk.
Matt Flynn publishes the North Australian FISH FINDER biennial fishing map book and writes a weekly fishing report for Darwin's Sunday Territorian newspaper
Feeling Lucky-

Post by Feeling Lucky- »

Hey Matt what was the water level like last week? And what do you predict the water level to be this weekend? Is it anywhere near the Filleting bench? Cheers
a_nomad-

Post by a_nomad- »

Mates fished mouth of sampan on good friday and camped overnight at mouth of tommycut coming home sat arvo and got nothing the whole time, saw 1 other fish being caught and thats it!!!!!
Nothing worth doing is ever easy
Matt Flynn-

Shady Camp

Post by Matt Flynn- »

When I was there the water was the highest I've seen. It was flowing up over the area opposite the carpark down the road to where you normally launch a boat and it smelt bad. I'm not surprised it was quiet over Easter as when we were there Sampan only fired at dawn, and Marsh Creek barrage was the only other place with fish, and they were mostly rats.

I just looked at the rain radar and there's plenty more on the way. I don't like neap tides (this week) when fishing flooded coastal run-offs although some people do. Might be best this week to stay home, cook buffalo sausages and drink port.
Matt Flynn publishes the North Australian FISH FINDER biennial fishing map book and writes a weekly fishing report for Darwin's Sunday Territorian newspaper
slapper

Post by slapper »

Fished shady on Easter Friday and Saturday and it was extremely hard work. Ended up with 30 barra for the trip to 85cm and lost a couple in the 90's. The big fish just did not turn up.
Feeling Lucky-

Post by Feeling Lucky- »

Still not a bad total slapper. How far did you travel for your fish? Tommy cut, Sampan or the coastal creeks? I hear that some of the barrages at the top of tommy cut have broken through or have been dug through. Has any body else heard that?
slapper

Post by slapper »

Caught most of the fish at the top of Tommy cut trolling large bombers on the incoming tide.
bear-

Post by bear- »

slapper wrote:
Caught most of the fish at the top of Tommy cut
I with you slapper, fished the top of tommy cut creek 5 times over the last 2weeks and have had 20-30 fish sessions every time, the lure that seemed to work best are the new riedy soft plastics in spotty perch or lime green colors. we had other boats casting close by on most trips but seemed to miss out the fish using their hard bodied lures, unfortunatly it may have been that the spot we fish has only enough room for one boat and we had it tied up :twisted:

HUNTER/FISHER or FISHER/HUNTER depending on the time of year!
bear-

Post by bear- »

here's a couple from tommycut last week
[img][img]http://i39.photobucket.com/albums/e199/ ... GP1539.jpg[/img][/img]
[img][img]http://i39.photobucket.com/albums/e199/ ... 548d52.jpg[/img][/img]
[img][img]http://i39.photobucket.com/albums/e199/ ... e6465b.jpg[/img][/img]

HUNTER/FISHER or FISHER/HUNTER depending on the time of year!