Early run-off down the Daly, Yeeha!

I ended up deciding on heading to the Daly yesterday arvo. The culverts on the way were up but didn't see any bait or catch anything there. I launched and headed up to Bamboo Creek and had a flick, it was pretty crowded so I headed downstream. Brown's mudbar is no problem any more. Charlie's looked great but there were a few boats there so I kept heading downstream until I had a creek to myself.

It was raining so I put my big tarp up and started to flick. One hit straight up had me interested. I wound in and saw the hook guard was still on. Bugger! As the tide lifted some bait started to flick around, I soon had a 73cm barra in the boat. I lost a few rigs in the snags then had another solid hit. bl..dy hook guard again! Having worked for pretty much 24hrs straight before heading down, I was wrecked and slept like the dead until 7 the next morning. No mozzie net needed, it was awesome.

The tide was dropping off high when I woke up, and there was bait activity again. I got another 5 legal fish to 75 over the next couple of hours, and dropped a few too- way more activity than I was expecting for so early in the season!

After an hour of fruitless casting I packed up the tarp and headed back to the ramp at 11 and was back in town for lunch.

So the run off has started!!!

Re: Early run-off down the Daly, Yeeha!

Very nice; great way to kick off the season, well done!
Luke35

Post by Luke35 »

8) Good start

That's awesome mate, well done.

:cheers: nice work mate.............when are WE going down there next haha
Finatic2

Post by Finatic2 »

lovely looking chromies there great work
Fish stories told here....some true !!!

When in doubt...exaggerate !!

good start to the wet down there. ive been watching the rise/fall or the river and it looks good.
just be very careful re burning the candle both ends. a few have lost their lives after working all day, driving down there, fishing all day/night and then driving back.
These days I need a sleep on the way down there :P

Well done that's a great start hope it stays that way.

thanks for the report.

Early bird gets the worm :catch: .... nice work :mrgreen:

A few nice barra there, well done

Good work!

Do the miles get the smiles....

Great work Theo. Awesome result and thanks for the info.

Well done mate
MattyLang

Post by MattyLang »

Awesome looking fish
Sorry for sounding dumb, where is the boat ramp that you used? Ive been out from Woolianna but is there a public ramp that is fairly safe (the car is ther when you get back)?

Well done!
That might be more Barra than in my last two trips there.