Down & Out in Shoal Bay

Tell us about your own or others' fishing, boating, 4X4 or camping trip gone wrong. With pictures.
justin

Post by justin »

i feel sick looking at the pictures. all the best for a perfect recovery

Fishhard reel service a cast past the rest

That's a shocker! Hope the rebuild goes well and your up and about soon :cheers: :cheers:
tatie

Post by tatie »

Matt Flynn wrote: I'll have to make a special FFF award for this story :drinking1: :drinking1:
how about "most badass member to get bitten by a shark/ray/mullet"?

:rofl:

not really a laughing matter i spose...

....................... Hawk mate i hope thing's get better for you mate and i hope your over the worst of it, Get Better Quick and i wish you all the best Regards .......... Jason

bl..dy firkin hell Hawk, that looks firkin nasty, Geesuuuus Mate, I hope it all comes good for you!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thats about enough to keep me in the boat. All the best for a quick recovery.
John Whitegoods

Post by John Whitegoods »

Kevin Kevinson wrote:that has me thinking twice about wading out at SB...i generally spend half my time out there drunk walking around up to my waist...Jonesy will vouch for that.
Posted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 7:03 pm Post subject:

that sucks mate bad luck

chicks dig scars (not sure about flesh easting bascteria holes in your calf but ... yikes)

i was once walking around in shoal bay whn i kicked a bit of dry mangrove root without seeing it.

A peice shaped exactly like a pencil went completly into my foot between the big toe and the next toe. We could see it sitting under the skin like a new tendon ...

Mate pulled it out with his leatherman and i walked back through all the mud and cr.p fearing a fate exactly as you describded above.

Never got infected but a year later little bits of mangrove root are still coming out of my foot ...
Listen here johnny whitegoods, not infected??? I seem to remember your foot blowing up as big as a footy and you missing a very important game of that your coach and team needed you for...cant believe i gave you best forward...must have been drunk
it did get a bit infected but i recall fishing on that day (not wanting to disapoint my mates from down south who had flown up for some fishing) and playing football despite still resembling a certain character in a certain book (plug for Kevin Kevinson the novel) geez was it throbbing on the long bumpy drive home but.

by the way i wrote my story before my crappy ISP downloaded the photos - my wound was not in the same ballpark hawkeye!

Dam stingrays do they ever do any good ?

JohnWhitegoods AKA Dave

Drugs are not the answer, unless the question is what is not the answer
Silver Sovereign

Post by Silver Sovereign »

Crikey !!!! :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

Get well soon all the best for a speedy recovery :mrgreen:

I am getting a first kit in the boat with about a gallon of dettol after viewing those shots :uhh: :uhh:
If I had a quirky signature it would be here !

Sheeeet! :shock:

There's a lesson for us all there mate!

Hope you recover quickly, good onya to your missus for a top job too!

andrew.south

Post by andrew.south »

Fukc my brown dog Hawk that is one mother of a gash... :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

Hope the healing is quick bloke :cheers: ... and top job by the missus to keep it all together...can get out of hand very easy in scary situations....:drinking1: :drinking1: :drinking1:

Wonder if the guys that helped out were AFANT members..... :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

look forward to hearing more posts with better endings... :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Southy

Very rarely when the ship misses the harbour is it the harbours fault
adam

Post by adam »

Gudday hawkeye, Id heard of your predicament from Sonya before your post and im glad your on the mend. Judging by the amount of flesh and tendons visable your lucky :captain: you didnt lose your leg. Crazy world. What do you reckon it was????????????? Id reckon sting ray and bacteria from it and the water.

Either way Lorna did a good job not going crazy as it would be hard being stuck for that long so congratulations to her :clap: :cheers: :clap: :bow:

Good luck on the recovery.

Cheers :drinking1: Adam
Hawkeye

Post by Hawkeye »

Hi Everyone

I have been out of hospital for a week now recuperating at home, getting around on crutches, and doing a bit of work from home till I can start driving in a couple of weeks. The leg still looks like a lamb shank on a hook in a butchers shop ~ grosses me out every time the bandages come off :shock: :shock: . But the docs reckon it will come good. :grin:

Thanks everyone for your thoughts

Hawk
Tom a (hawk...eye)

Fishin again...... lookin for a meterey......
adam

Post by adam »

From a nurses perspective it looks the goods buddy, keep up the healing and you'll be out fishing soon.

I'll take you out but you've got to stay in the boat :fishing:

lookingmuch better there hawkeye.... we will be jousting again in no time :grin:

Must say though I am glad the picture was not 3" higher :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

tatie

Post by tatie »

Hey Hawkeye

I recon youve scared all the fisho's out of shoal bay with your gory horror stories. Spent the day in hope inlet Yesterday at exactly the same spot we were on 11/11 which we had shared with 6 other boats. yesterday there were none!