p!ssed off

Got a bad relationship? A rash? A barramundi addiction? Ask Chloe - our expert - she gives a straight answer.
freon

p!ssed off

Post by freon »

Spent all day getting everything ready for fishing crabbing trip tomorrow
the best barra frames for crab bait new pots and floats the best fish baits
the esky is loaded.One last thing to do run the motor up to make sure no flat battery etc
well the bl..dy water pump is not working it was fine 2 weeks ago and now it wont pump
FFS it was ok 2 weeks ago i flushed it out in my drive way it only has a rubber impeller what can go wrong?
:evil: cheers

Re: p!ssed off

Blocked hose... Mud wasp nest ???

Stick some mig wire or thin wire up the pee hole and see what happens... might free it up
Mr RiverBabe

Post by Mr RiverBabe »

Yep as they said. I pulled mine off and stuck a bit of tie tire up it and she came good
bunji

Post by bunji »

l always put a bit of leccy tape over mine(tell tale) for storage
Scamper

Post by Scamper »

Similar problem after I hadn't used the boat for 4 weeks. No tell tail.
Took it in for a service,reputable place, about due and thinking the impeller broken. $600 later, full impeller kit fitted and parts given back to me. It wasn't broken.
Got the boat back from mechanic 1 day before easter. ( had planned a big weekend).
Tested it out at home before trip, tell tail looked pathetic.
Put it on the water and motor over heated over 2000 revs. Doesn't that p..s you off!

Did some home mechanic's, over Easter.
Took the thermastat out, found it to be clogged with salt grime. ( I do flush the motor after every use). Cleaned up, boiled the thermastat to make sure it worked. Did a reverse flush ( forcing water backwards threw the motor till water came out the exhaust and intake).
Connected every thing back up and all worked fine.
bl..dy mechanics admitted that they thought the tell tail was a bit week when I went back and complained.

Be doing more of my own servicing now.
freon

Post by freon »

thanks for the replies guys but its a bit more than a blockage i can blow through the pipe
So it looks like the bottom of the leg will have to come off the pump is due for replacement
anyway 50HP Honda cant be too hard can it?? Do i need to replace the t/stat as well or just check it?

freon

Post by freon »

Well changed the water pump tonite Quite an easy job
but it hasnt fixed my problem so i guess its pull out the thermostat
tomorrow nite any suggestions?

Freon.... I did a quick job on 2 honda motors yesterday arvo. Both had bad to no tell tail flow. You could blow air through the hose but no water came out. The hose was full of shell bits and under water pressure they closed up !!!

After some wire poking and hose removal and back flushing of the hose heaps of snot and grit came out.

Now both pump water from the tell tail like a garden hose....

Try starting at the end and work your way back to the block.. Pull the hose off at each join and run the o/b if no water comes out keep working back till you find it.

Them start reconnecting the hose one at a time AFTER you have back flushed each one.

Yell out if you want a hand!

bunji wrote:l always put a bit of leccy tape over mine(tell tale) for storage
A blob of grease works well

Good idea 2 Rods. I assume it just blows out?
I reckon all tell-tales should face upwards so they can be seen from anywhere on the boat
freon

Post by freon »

Well I have pulled out the thermostat cleaned out all the cr.p flushed all the plumbing and it now works a treat
the pump was due for replacement anyway
thanks for the help guys

Return to “Ask Chloe”