Lowrance vs Humminbird

Re: Lowrance vs Humminbird

dorey76 wrote:Is the Humminbird display viewable in direct sunlight?
I've never had trouble viewing mine in direct sunlight, I'm fairly certain Lowrance would be the same.

Angry

Post by Angry »

I got a hummminbird 898 CXSI, has all the down/side scan stuff, still coming to grips with it after LCX27.

Lowrance got the shiift after GPS broke down & they basically give the the bird about fixing it .

Some times I just wish Id spent the extra $$$ on the 998 its got an inch wider screen, it gets a bit cramped on the screen with sonar, GPS , Down & Side scan all gin at once.

Same as a HDS 7 , reckon your better off goin up to a HDS8, they tell me HDS 7 wont split all the screens .

Like the Hunmnminbird shortcut buttons, gotta get used to setting the Sensativity
Angry

"I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was blaming you"

Do not argue with an idiot. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.
Sister Ed

Post by Sister Ed »

The fish symbols are part of a program to keep one interested, to make you think there are fish there. I am sure the program is sponsered by tackle stores. Arches seem more accurate but not as exciting
palaran

Post by palaran »

Humminbird all the way.
Most people I know don't know how to tune their sounder regardless of brand........
As they say "a bad tradesman blames his tools"
HB is very easy to use and provides a far better pixel count than LR so that equates to a better screen picture. The software upgrade is free and they have been in the side imaging market far longer than LR.
The tranny bracket issue is easily fixed. The unit is supposed to come with a little rubber plug and you install in the tranny bracket gap. If you didn't get it ask for it and you will recieve a whole new tranny packet (well I did when I went back to my supplier). I've not had an issue with the bracket and truth be known it's designed to pop out of the holding leg to avoid it smashing if you hit something, and I find it great to pull out when beach lauching/retrieving.

But if your undecided jump in aboat with both and view it for real. I'm in KNX which is not down the road but always welcome to jump aboard.

Personally I would not touch a LR but thats just me. If I wasn't going side/down imaging then Fuinuro all the way.
LIFE EVOLVES ON THE EDGE
smarty

Post by smarty »

Although i only have a base HB i love it as its really easy to use, plus i can see the screen in full daylight gets bit funny though when i have my polaroids on,going too upgrade too SI sounder one day an will be buying a Humminbird for sure.

Furuno for a base Sounder. HArd to beat the colour and bottom definition. Side scan I would get a HB as my Lowrance experiance hasnt been good and after a while they cr.p them selves and dont get replaced by Lowrance. Have had 2 Lowraces and both have had a lot of problems after a year of ownership.

I have had lowrance's for years with never a drama that was not fixed by them in good time (only problem so far) must be one of the lucky ones.
Simrad also do a good unit i'm told with down scan and side scan but i have no exsposer to them, my mate who is a HB fan just dumped his HB side scan unit when he used my hds8...............but each to thier own.

Buckaneer2

Post by Buckaneer2 »

Humminbird all the way.
I have had a few differant models & the backup is great.
Some have broken down but I have had no problems getting them fixed in very short time.
My current unit is a 998 with all the side & down scan gear, it is a great unit with good full sun vision.
Software upgrades are free & simple to install. They can be downloaded from the net at humminbird.com

You are welcome to jump on board & have a gander.
Smile, be happy & go fishing.

Work is getting in the way of my fishing.
My boss says fishing is getting in the way of my work.
I will soon fix both of our problems by quitting.
luke79

Post by luke79 »

Im a Lowrance fan. Had a few diff models but my current set up is a HDS8 on the console and an LMS-527C mounted up towards the bow. Have them both networked up and the set up works great. Each to their own and I wouldnt use anything else but Lowrance.
dorey76

Post by dorey76 »

Well I finally made the choice and spent my tax cheque on a Humminbird 798cxi DI SI combo, installed it last night. It's 1st test run will be this weekend down at the Vic. Can't wait to have a play with the side scan. I'll try and get some screen shots to post up, if I can work that out.

Do people remove their fishfinder on all trips?
I take mine off when I’m on rough dirt roads but other than that,I just leave it in place til I get home.
I figure that it gets more bumps and bangs while on the water than on the road.
Angry

Post by Angry »

NathanL wrote:Ive got a 798 (side imaging thing) works wonders, I would be lost without side imaging now. Amazing bit of kit for finding snags in rivers that you wouldnt normally know where there. Or even bommies out in the blue water, works amazing, just drag the curser over to the bommie/snag on the side image, mark it, troll back over mark, catch fish, that easy.

Im sure the lowrance ones probably work just aswell, I'm used to my humminbird tho so will prolly stay with them unless things change dramatically.
Ive got the model you want & its for sale its only 12 months old, its brilliant only eason I want to sell is to upgrade to a larger screen. dont listen to the issues about transducer bracket the 898 has diff one to the 700's no problems, only one transducer also., not two like Lowrance..

Cant beat it especially trhe sidescan, look in for slae got pics attached. great sounder , just gotta learn how to drive it, now settings are spot on its better than brilliant & yes you can look in sunlifght with polariods on , other good thing is making pics on SD card so you can go over it later on your PC really easy.

PM Me if you want info check out mine for sale http://fishingterritory.com/fishing-cla ... 26713.html
Angry

"I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was blaming you"

Do not argue with an idiot. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.
dorey76

Post by dorey76 »

nomad wrote:Do people remove their fishfinder on all trips?
I take mine off when I’m on rough dirt roads but other than that,I just leave it in place til I get home.
I figure that it gets more bumps and bangs while on the water than on the road.
I'll be removing mine on all trips, don't want to risk something happening to it.