Images:35 Location: Stalking some Gill Netting criminals that are killing Sawsharks in Fog Bay and Embarrising Ministers
Posted: Tue Feb 27, 2007 3:17 pm Post subject: back-cast's spot of the day
........."Miss Bess" creek this is the best spot in the Apsley strait to catch big barra but you have to get your tides right, the best day i had there my client landed 6 fish over 110cm biggest was 124cm one of which featured in a N.T. tourism brochure i only had one client that day & he got strait off the plane and 45 minutes later he was right amongst em, some guys get lucky, after the big fish we went to dudwell creek & caught around 60 barra casting snags & creek junctions, i did'nt catch a single fish, it was all my client
Images:35 Location: Stalking some Gill Netting criminals that are killing Sawsharks in Fog Bay and Embarrising Ministers
Posted: Tue Feb 27, 2007 10:28 pm Post subject:
...........this flat is awsome i would be strait here every morning if the tide / wind was right & usually the fish were there, the picture of the one i've posted was caught out of a school of 20 or so all the same size my client's could'nt see the fish in about 30cm of water so i picked up my spare rod and cast my lure in front of the school so they could see them they both cast instant duoble hookup not to be left out i caught one on my retrieve as well, i killed this one as i skulled it in the boat for pictures & released the others at the side of the boat so as try & not to damage these fragile fish
Posted: Wed Feb 28, 2007 1:15 pm Post subject:
.........Mutyle creek junction
..........the junction that is marked here was a great little spotthere is a 30ft hole in the middle of a 3 way junction the water is very tannin stained all year and popers & fizzers work really well around this junction & in the upper reaches of the creek, i would regularly encounter 15-20pound fish at this junction the lower reaches of the creek were nearly always able to catch jack's, goldies & closer to the mouth on the sandy spit that runs paralell to the channel was my favourite spot to take elderly people so they could baitfish off the beach on an incomming tide with a wide variety of fish on offer & bait plentifull
Posted: Wed Feb 28, 2007 4:16 pm Post subject:
...........Tunganapu
............this creek is one of the prettiest places on the island with crysal clear water and pearly white sandbars surounded by red ochre cliffs as a backdrop..... .....the channel at the mouth is usually a good spot to pick up a few queenfish & as you navigate around the sandbars you find snaggy bank's with dark edges against the bank this is were you will encounter the many jack's, goldies, javellin fish, small G.T.'s, ect that live in this esturary..... ......further up the back of the creek were my marker is placed is a different scene it turns into a much smaller muddy creek this is were the majority of barra live & if i had a client who wanted to get a 100cm fish this is were i would come to
you would have to comitt yourself to being stuck in this part of the creek over the low tide & as the first push of the incoming tide reaches the junction sometimes you would have some big barra become active & start boofing bait that would get washed over the sandbar in the junction
_________________ .. .. .. .. ..
Click on the images to Go to my websites.. Click the Puppy
Posted: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:19 pm Post subject:
Great posts BC - keep em coming - i dream that one day i might be able to get over and have a bit of a look around over there. mans gotta have dreams!!!!!!!!!!!
_________________ Work is what i do to pay for fishing!!
Posted: Wed Feb 28, 2007 9:05 pm Post subject: Why dream!
Why dream Shane. I am going to plan a trip over there at the end of the wet, when the weather is good. Should be able to organise fuel at Nguiu (spelling), as I know a fair few cops around the territory. Anyone else keen?
Jason
_________________ ...............Wishin' I was fishin'...............
Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 12:48 am Post subject:
..........thank's Shane & jason, i've decided to make this thread a portfolio of spot's that i've found to be productive for me & some will be just general info on Bathurst & Melville about access, hazzards ect, i hope they can be usefull & informative
...........this rockbar that i've marked is on a side creek off Euro creek, the largest creek in the Apsley Strait, over the years i spent living & working on the Island's i've explored this creek extensively & is only realy worth fishing on the spring tides as you hardly get any movement on neap tides, the water is still crystal clear on spring's
http://www.worldfishingmap.com/vbgoogle ... &mapid=480 this particular rock bar is were i end up fishing as the tide turns to come in & usually allways yeild's a few barra, jack's and of course cod, but occasionally if the condition's are right would turn on 10 or 15 fish sessions of average size barra, 50-70cm, good fun
.............the rockbar it more of a rock ledge which is undercut into the bank and fresh water is constantly pouring out of the rock, this could be a reason the barra are plentiful here, but if you fish this creek it is definately worth a look at this little rock bar
Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 12:59 am Post subject:
i have to commend you backcast as it not very often a fisherman will give out his secret spot's so publicly with such detail reading these post's i can only dream at getting the oportunity to visit such fish rich places, well done, i'll be looking forward to reading more
_________________ my friends call me Mangrove Jack %
this is my Boat.
Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 1:50 am Post subject: Re: Why dream!
jasonmcc wrote:
Why dream Shane. I am going to plan a trip over there at the end of the wet, when the weather is good. Should be able to organise fuel at Nguiu (spelling), as I know a fair few cops around the territory. Anyone else keen?
Jason
Keen as mustard Jason.....just let me know when
I have been up there before and it was great....(I even ran into back cast up there...not that he would remember what did he tell me???? "black bombers mate...that's all ya need up here a )
We sould try and get a few boats like the south trip....what do ya think?
Oh Back-cast great thread by the way..... do you do free guided tours for FFF moderators
"Life's tough......It's even tougher if you're stupid." .........
Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 9:18 am Post subject: Tiwi trip
I reckon we go somewher in the period after the monsoons and before the South easterlies start. Im sure everyone who came down to the south would be keen to come. Have to do a bit of planning, but im sure Back-cast will help
JAson
_________________ ...............Wishin' I was fishin'...............
Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 9:26 am Post subject:
Great posts back cast...if that stuff doesnt get you keen for fishing nothing will.
I would be very interested in the trip over as well, although I wouldnt take over the good ship green can....bit small for the trip...but may have a mate or two with bigger boats who are interested...
keep me in the loop guys.
_________________ Cheers
Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:22 am Post subject:
yes back cast - kama from me . can you not be so spot on . just a bit out.
_________________ Views expressed on this website are those of individuals and do not reflect the opinions of the website owner, or its operators, or other website users.
Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 1:21 pm Post subject:
..........thank's jack & everyone else for the kind word's, a trip would be great, hopefully we can arange something
..........." Rexona creek " that's what i call this spot "cause it won't let you down" i prefer to fish this little but productive creek on a neap tide & it can produce 100cm fish & XXXL salmon on a regular basis, i would drift in with the tide casting and keeping my eyes open for barra tailing amongst the mangrove roots on the edges of the creek
http://www.worldfishingmap.com/vbgoogle ... &mapid=232 after this i would troll up and down the creek using Bombers, spearheads or a simmilar lure at times you would get big schools of steelback's hitting your lure's making it very hard to hook a decent fish, these fish are like a funny looking queenfish but when they are in the creek that's when you would catch a big barra, huge salmon as well live around this creek & usually turn up in big schools, so if you get one you will probably get a few
.............if you have crab pot's to set this is one good creek for crab's as well, making this creek a definately must do if you visit on neap tides
Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 4:48 pm Post subject:
..........." Barrabase " port Hurd, my home for most of the 1990's was the ultimate fishing destination bar none, it catered for all types of anglers in air conditioned comfort, which back then was non-existant elsewhere in such a remote location, now day's with the increase in boat size, engine & fuel capacity, it makes these destination's a viable option to nip over & spend a weekend
http://www.worldfishingmap.com/vbgoogle ... &mapid=266 this is my absolute favourite places to fish, but since the fish farm has arrived the escape's have changed the natural way fish live in the esturary & i'm not sure for the better the last two years i've fished this great spot i've caught more fish than ever, last november the client's each landing on average 200 fish over three days, one morning my two clients landing 45 or so before lunch between 85 & 98cm as the fish wasn't counted unless it was over 85cm, but this was solely due to the farms existance these large numbers of farm fish have upsett the scales of ballance in this esturary with local fish population's being displaced in some area's, we can only watch & see how it affect's the natural order of thing's, meanwhile we can take advantage of the plentifull abundance of barra in this esturary
Last edited by back-cast on Tue Mar 06, 2007 2:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.