Posted: Fri Feb 18, 2011 1:36 pm Post subject: Goat Island latest ....
Goat Island Lodge's Kai Hansen said the Adelaide River floodwater had almost come into the elevated rooms. "It's about a foot away," he said. "I have about .75m of water through the bar. "When I go out and put fuel in the genset I get wet b.lls (laughter). "The last six hours the river level has steadied. "I just wished they could get the telemeter gauges to work reliably so I can have up-to-date information. "At least the BOM site is close to working most of the time. "Dirty Lagoon telemeter is 25km up from here, they put one at Marrakai Crossing that is ideally located as it covers so many tributaries but it has not worked for a fortnight. "Many people on the east side of the river could use the information. "And now it is pissing down. "I am just sitting on the verandah, I have stacks of cherabin to eat. "Before the rain the fishing needed two more days before it would have settled down with some barra biting. "There were heaps of tarpon around and it was ready to fire and then the latest rain came down from Cyclone Carlos. "My pontoon has been smashed again, I am not really game to go out and look in the dinghy right now. "There's not much you can do in a little tinny. "Crocs aren't a worry though - they go out on the floodplain when the river is right up - but the snakes do visit. "I have maybe collected 1000 here over the years but rarely a very poisonous one. "The chooks have a metre of water running through their pen and can't feed but they are fat and need a bit of diet."
Highscores:25
Posted: Fri Feb 18, 2011 1:47 pm Post subject: Re: Goat Island latest ....
Hope he goes okay through all this though I'm sure he is no stranger to the river rising at this rate. Don't get washed away Kai I am yet to have your buff burgers for lunch.
Posted: Fri Feb 18, 2011 2:16 pm Post subject: Re: Goat Island latest ....
Sounds like he is picking the cherabin up off his bar floor. Good to see he still has a smile. wounder how hotdog fairs in the flood waters? Best of luck any way.
Posted: Fri Feb 18, 2011 3:20 pm Post subject: Re: Goat Island latest ....
NathanL wrote:
Kai is a funny basterd. I might even the give the adeliade another crack after it settles down again soon
yer, I too am going to adventure back down there because one day I am going to hit that place right and its going to go off its tits.
With the water levels as they have been this might just be a big year on that river. EEvery flood plain and runoff has no excuse for not pumping tannin water and plenty of bait should breed in the grass plains.
Cant wait to get my boat on the trailer. One more week and every freakin river is going to get a flogging.
Thats enough of a head start boys then look out. HA ha ha ahaaaaaaaaaa!
Posted: Fri Feb 18, 2011 11:27 pm Post subject: Re: Goat Island latest ....
Hope all goes well! What a spot to live, a beer on the porch and a rod in your hand, or handline with cherrabin attached, can't wait to get up there again after the water drops a bit, to say hello, n have a beer.
_________________ If there is water and it holds fish, then it is fun trying to fool them into eating what you offer!!
Bank:
Posted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 2:03 am Post subject: Re: Goat Island latest ....
Legend! I will take the wife and kids back up there again to here the experiences first hand, have an awesome cold beer and a few burgers to boot. Thanks for hanging in there Kai.
Posted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 11:41 am Post subject: Re: Goat Island latest ....
Hi all. all's well, water 100mm above deck, fairly steady last couple of hours, I might be crazy [YES] but it's great to see river like this,and run off looking good shortly. HOWEVER, where are you all you slack bastards,scared of a bit of water are you's,or just not up to the challenge. I believe Arnhem HWY closed opposite entrance to windows of wetlands, but proceed to high point 3/4 km further, safe, and much quicker. Cheers, Kai. Ph 89788803, PS. I've still got some cold beer.
Posted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 2:20 pm Post subject: Re: Goat Island latest ....
yeah great to hear all's ok mate, just out at windows, a couple of boats had launched on the road, hopefully you'll get a couple of visitors, hang in there, see you soon
_________________ If there is water and it holds fish, then it is fun trying to fool them into eating what you offer!!
Posted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:34 pm Post subject: Re: Goat Island latest ....
Good to hear your still able to throw some jokes around Kai, I was going to say take it easy up there but I know you don't take it any other way so keep a little dry and good luck. Cheers, Billy
_________________ "Carpe diem, quam minimum credula postero" - Seize the day, trust as little as possible in tomorrow. (Horace)
or if all else fails
"C'est la vie"-Sh*t Happens
Posted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:35 pm Post subject: Re: Goat Island latest ....
Good to hear your still able to throw some jokes around Kai, I was going to say take it easy up there but I know you don't take it any other way so keep a little dry and good luck. Cheers, Billy
_________________ "Carpe diem, quam minimum credula postero" - Seize the day, trust as little as possible in tomorrow. (Horace)
or if all else fails
"C'est la vie"-Sh*t Happens
Posted: Sun Feb 20, 2011 10:56 am Post subject: Re: Goat Island latest ....
Hi all, thank you for nice comments. Water now 50/100 mm below deck, so the cleanup has started. still past my ba..s here in Caseys bar, normally takes another 3 days before dry. Cheers, Kai, Hotdog and his furry girlfriend pippa.