I SEE RED

Posted: Sun May 18, 2008 11:14 am
by CodFather
Managed to score a night fish with one of the blokes where i work in his cairns custom craft,

2.00pm saw us heading out from Yorkies into very calm seas with a destination of the outer reef. Once out there a bit of a troll around mainly looking at the bottom but a few lures out the back for justin.

Managed to find a likely spot and down went the pick with lines following shortly after. First fish onboad was a nice large mouth and then another followed by a nice healthy red emp. Quitened down after Linclon dragged in a 20pound plus chinamen and saw us move to a new area not far from where we were.

Handed over my penn 330 to linclon following a guide failure on his rod and dragged out the lightweight gear namely the jigwrex and saltiga dogfight :grin: very glad i did as no sooner did it hit bottom and almost lost it over the side as it was slammed. a fair bit of grunting and groaning saw the largest red i've ever landed scooped up in the net by Captain Peter. By 8.30pm we'd had more than enough fish onboard so upped the pick and headed home.

All in all i could get to like fishing around here :grin: :grin:

cheers boys

Posted: Sun May 18, 2008 11:51 am
by max
On ya Ray good to see you getting out and scoring some ripper fish too

Posted: Sun May 18, 2008 12:10 pm
by Dex38
Nice red Ray. :clap:

The Cairns Custom craft sure are a nice boat. What size was it. Brother in law's mate had a 9.0 m job with a counter rotating diesel stern drive. Awesome rig and great on the fuel.

Dex

Posted: Sun May 18, 2008 12:35 pm
by dodgyone
Damn nice red that one Ray. :cheers: :cheers:

My boss is over your way at the moment. Was going to pass on your number. Looks like he missed the boat. :roll: :roll:

Posted: Sun May 25, 2008 11:51 am
by 2rods
Holly dooly Ray that is a huge red... :bow: :bow:

Save a few for my next trip over that way will ya :angel:

Posted: Sun May 25, 2008 12:06 pm
by Sea Reaper
DONKEY RED!!!!!! :clap: :clap: :clap:
Nice haul!

Posted: Sun May 25, 2008 5:11 pm
by Night Stalker
Well done :clap: Excellent fish :mrgreen:

Posted: Mon May 26, 2008 6:00 pm
by CodFather
Hey Dex,

The boat is a 25footer beam don't know for sure but would be up around 10ft similar to the bertram 25 with a 2.8 mercruiser diesel 25 litres per hour at 22knots most impressive. Peter has added a flybridge and is a very nice rig for around here.

Has now convinced me to place the cod father up for sale and use the funds to put a 4.2 es 320 mercruiser in the bertram Peter's good friend has the earlier model of this engine in his and get around the same figures out of a bertram 25 with a top wot of 37knots but generally cruisers around 24 the newer technology should be better than that. Simon Carter from Sealink believes that 40 wouldn't be out of the question and thinks the best cruiser be around 28. so harmsey i believe you wish a larger boat start talking you never know :grin:

Ray

Posted: Tue May 27, 2008 12:54 pm
by harmsey
CodFather wrote: so harmsey i believe you wish a larger boat start talking you never know :grin:

Ray
pm me some details ray :wink: very keen

nice red by the way 8-)

Posted: Tue May 27, 2008 4:23 pm
by Dex38
Putting a nice diesel in is the way to go Ray. Heaps safer and better reliability, it's the up front cost that challenges you.

Mmmmm turbo disel clocking 2400 RPM running on fumes, is a better sound than spare change rattling around in your pocket after paying for the ULP to feed the hungry petrol ponies.

Posted: Tue May 27, 2008 6:21 pm
by CodFather
Harmsey PM sent forgot to mention price for you cheap :wink: your wife won't even know the funds are gone :naughty: :naughty: .

Dex your right the cost of repowering with a diesel is not cheap this will cost around $45000 to do but in the end I'll end up with a boat far better suited to the local conditions as though the Super Vee is good it's not as good as a Berty 25 and it is this which has driven the decicion as apposed to fuel use.

Ray