Landbased barra tips??

Posted: Sat May 20, 2017 1:07 pm
by Scott12345
G'day, as the heading suggest I'm just after tips for landing a barra landbased around the Darwin and channel island area not to keen on leaving Darwin without ever landing a barra so any help is appreciated

Re: Landbased barra tips??

Posted: Sat May 20, 2017 10:37 pm
by Andy Grey
mate plenty of info on this forum..do a search and some research you will find heaps of info. Like here for example http://fishingterritory.com/barra-and-e ... 11957.html
good luck

Posted: Sun May 21, 2017 11:40 pm
by Territory_Tuff
Channel island is good, you need to go on a spring low of 2 or 1.5m for barra, at the start of the bridge walk under on the left hand side and walk out to the rocks, fish hour before low and hour incoming, use zerek prawns or white squidgys or livebait, don't be scared to flick in the shallow drain, they will be there.

Posted: Tue May 23, 2017 9:36 pm
by Scott12345
Palmy side of the bridge or the island side?

Posted: Wed May 24, 2017 10:41 pm
by dannett
Scott12345 wrote:Palmy side of the bridge or the island side?
Either side. Heaps of good spots to choose from around there.

Posted: Thu May 25, 2017 4:19 am
by barrabustin
Just drive out tocshady camp barrage and be done with it. 2 -4 inch plastics done deal

Posted: Thu May 25, 2017 9:54 am
by goldfish
Marrakai track was rat city a while back there would still be a few left in there as well as the odd better one about 60cm too. If you aren't chasing a monster head out that way, its a bit of a nice drive anyway.... take a 4wd. .if you intend to go through the whole track. Its full length is 50km approx of dirt with a 2 small creeks and the Adelaide and margret rivers to cross: off the Stuart hwy its 20km to the river or 30km of dirt if you come in off the Arnhem hwy.

Anything in a small 8cm hard body , natural bait fish colours lobbed into the rapids should see a few barra hits the rest is up to you...