How to start spearfishing??

Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:19 pm
by jimbobbolty
I was thinking about opening my fishing horizens ( and increasing my catch) and i was wondering about spearfishng. Do you need a cetificet? Do you need training? How much does the gear cost? if anyone could answer these questons for me that would be great.

Re: How to start spearfishing??

Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:41 pm
by BarraBeast
jimbobbolty wrote:need a cetificet?
you cant scuba and spearfish, too dangerous and illegal.

The first thing you have to do is break into Crocodilious Park, swim across the lagoon then slap some of the Lions on the arse inside the cage. That will get you used to dealing with Apex predators which you will find in the ocean :idea:

If you survive that then -

call the lads at Adrenaline Spear Fishing shop in Brisbane. http://www.spearfishing.com.au/ (07) 3391 2299. They will point you in the right direction for gear.

Training - hold your breath and try to walk 150 paces! You'll most likley get to 40 or 50. But keep practicing until you get into the 100's. You can train at Palmerston pool but you will need a spotter or dive buddy to be in the water watching you. try to swim lengths under water from end to end. 50 is good, 100 is great. It takes a long time to train your body to deal with carbon dioxide build up.

there's freediving books on the net too.

1. dont dive alone.
2. stay way from mangroves
3. only load the gun in the water
4. dive to within your limits.
5. read all about shallow water blackout and the dangers involved.
5.5 get onto the spearfishing forums and put posts up there.
6. dream about nailing a jewfish for dinner

send me PM if you need to discuss.

Posted: Mon May 28, 2012 7:01 pm
by ChrisK7
im also interested, got a hand spear. Where does everyone spear up here? everyone go off thier boat or are blokes spearing off the rocks like at east point and stuff???

Posted: Mon May 28, 2012 10:21 pm
by Trier
Its pretty simple really, just sharpen a stick and jab it at a fish! :mrgreen:

Posted: Tue May 29, 2012 8:50 am
by nomad
BarraBeast wrote:You can train at Palmerston pool but you will need a spotter or dive buddy to be in the water watching you.
The reason for this is that at some stage you will pass out, and being underwater isnt the best place to pass out.

Build up slowly to the long duration breath holds. If you do too many 'dives' in a session, you will pass out.

the US Navy used to train their divers for free diving for incredible times.

Posted: Tue May 29, 2012 12:31 pm
by BarraMick
basic snokel, goggles and flippers.
can buy spear guns or hand spears at most tackle shops (BCF Prob has them here in Darwin)
then jump in.

Posted: Tue May 29, 2012 2:16 pm
ChrisK7 wrote:im also interested, got a hand spear. Where does everyone spear up here? everyone go off thier boat or are blokes spearing off the rocks like at east point and stuff???
I've heard of people spearing in the Perons but the way I look at it... One side of the Perons is the Daly, the other side is the Finniss ... BUGGER THAT. And if you spear around any of the rocks like East Point, you are placing your life in your own hands. Crocs are always sniffing around those areas.

Some people do it, and good luck to them. Not my cup of tea up here

Posted: Tue May 29, 2012 3:49 pm
Gday Chrisk7
Don,t think your allowed to spearfish at east pt, Its a Marine reserve Theres a notice board that shows the boundry,
Yet I,ve seen it done heaps :uhh:

The smart spearfishos always dive with a buddy,,but the real smart ones make sure the buddy is a slow swimmer :croc:

Posted: Tue May 29, 2012 7:49 pm
by nomad
I went spearfishing once in NSW. had a huge ray come down and wrestle with me for my catch, he won. i left
No way Id wrestle with a :croc:

Posted: Wed May 30, 2012 2:42 pm
by fish4me123
It is hard to see through water I do alright arround nightcliff and cullen bay. You will need snorkle gear and a good speargun and a float. I always keep my gun loaded while in the water. a float with a clip to put fish on is a must. The only thing to try me on was a dolphin but I didn't show any fear. I figure if something comes at me the spear will do. I saw a crock on the bottom near nightcliff I left it alone and it made no attempt to attack me.

Posted: Wed May 30, 2012 5:41 pm
by Lumborghini
I reakon a real good start (if you dont already know how) would be to learn how to swim...

Posted: Wed May 30, 2012 6:37 pm
Just a heads up - spearfishing for barra is illegal in the NT :mrgreen:

Posted: Wed May 30, 2012 6:59 pm
by nomad
Lumborghini wrote:I reakon a real good start (if you dont already know how) would be to learn how to swim...
:lolpoint: :lolpoint: :lolpoint:
Thats why you dont need to be a fast swimmer, just faster than your mate. :twisted:

Posted: Wed May 30, 2012 10:21 pm
by Sister Ed
Hey Matt, also illegal in inland waters.

Posted: Thu May 31, 2012 10:30 am
by fish4me123
Hi matt where does it tell you that.